We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Stop on the Blue Ridge Parkway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Morrisette Winery Inc.

Chateau Morrisette Winery Inc.
291 Winery Rd, Floyd, VA 24091
540-593-2865
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 Attractions in Floyd
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chateau Morrisette Winery is known for its quality Virginia wines, its scenic location along the Blue Ridge Parkway, its Black Dog Music Festivals and other special events, as well as its top-notch fine dining restaurant. The winery is open 7-days a week and offers wine tastings for $8 per person. The tasting includes a souvenir wine glass and a tour of our winery. The Chateau Restaurant is open Wed-Thu 11-2, Fri - Sat 11-8, and Sun 11-3. Open for lunch everyday in October. Guests may purchase wine by the bottle or glass and spend time relaxing in our courtyard, in a private gazebo, or from our terrace overlooking the scenic New River Valley. Live entertainment is offered every Sunday afternoon, June through October and we invite guests to check our website for the many special events we produce throughout the year.
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Stop on the Blue Ridge Parkway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Turning off the Parkway, you think another winding road until yo see the restaurant and winery. Set on a hill looking across the valley, you know you made the right choice to stop here. The restaurant offers a wide variety of delicious items (shrimp and grits) either indoors or on the patio. Delicious!

While waiting to be seated, look at the coffee table book that shows the construction of the winery and when you see the massive wood works assembled, you will realize the craftsmanship. That craftsmanship is carried over into their wine making. Wonderfully warm staff will help with your wine tasting and selection. We were surprised at the quality of their wines as they were the best we tasted on our entire trip. Best of all the ship.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    47
    16
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but worth the effort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was a beautiful setting for a winery, and the tour was really neat. Following that, was an informative tasting, so time well-spent. The wines were wonderful, and very hard to not to pack the trunk full of their wines!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Scenic views, excellent food and wine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We wanted to see one of the wineries in the area and this one is not to be missed. Once you've tasted the excellent wines, head over to the restaurant for some delicious food! You will not be disappointed!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful Winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The views are stunning and the location is so near to both Floyd and the Blue Ridge Parkway. Their gift shop has some very interesting and unique items. The restaurant has a variety of delicious entrees. Great side trip.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurDogBlue, Manager at Chateau Morrisette Winery Inc., responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thanks for the kind words. We're glad you enjoyed your experience and hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familylovestotravel
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

I have never been to a winery before so I don't have anything to compare this experience to but I did enjoy it. You must go to the cash register to purchase a ticket for the wine tasting. We had to figure this out on our own, would have been nice to have had this explained to us somehow. It was a little confusing until we figured it out. We did purchase several wines but later realized that some of the wines can be bought cheaper at the Galax Walmart. The area is nice, the views are good, they have lots of outdoor space. There was a wedding going on while we were there, the guests all came down into the tasting room which made it really crowded, not sure why...They just stood around for a while and then went back upstairs. I would return here again.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau Morrisette Winery Inc. also viewed

 

Been to Chateau Morrisette Winery Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Morrisette Winery Inc., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.