We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast Place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of blue ridge restaurant

blue ridge restaurant
113 E Main St, Floyd, VA 24091-2129
540-745-2147
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 21 Restaurants in Floyd
Restaurant details
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Breakfast Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Blue Ridge restaurant is nothing fancy and I would have rated it higher except that I am vegan and I couldn't get oatmeal that didn't have butter in it. Most restaurants let the customer add ingredients like butter, sugar, milk, nuts etc. However this eatery cooks oatmeal with butter (it was listed on the menu as Oatmeal with butter) and although I requested it sans butter, it definitely had butter in it.

My husband ate eggs, sausage with a hash brown (like the ones in the freezer section of any grocery store) and toast. Except for the hash brown, he enjoyed his meal.

I've heard from other locals that the Blue Ridge is a favorite breakfast spot but you might think twice if you want lunch or dinner there.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    25
    26
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Plain food, no atmosphere but friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is a plain, country place that serves iceberg lettuce and nearly tasteless fare. However, the Blue Ridge, on a busy corner downtown, is where many Floyd natives like to go. It's the only Floyd restaurant that serves breakfast, mediocre though it is and the waitresses are generally friendly. For food and atmosphere at lunch and dinner in Floyd, I'd recommend Oddfellas, Mickey G's, El Charro, Dog Town Pizza or the Floyd Country Store, instead. Oddfellas serves brunch on Sundays. We've eaten three times at the Blue Ridge and avoid it, when possible.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Small Town Diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

This is a pretty typical small town diner. Home cooking and no fluff. Accept it for what it is and you will find that their food is enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Small town restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Lots of locals at this old fashioned storefront diner! Hearty breakfast.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sunday trip”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

My wife and family were making the rounds at the local wineries when we stopped in Floyd, Va at The Blue Ridge restaurant for lunch. Probably the worse decision that day. My pork BBQ sandwich was dry and tasteless. The dish came with chips which were in small pieces, not a whole one to be had. They replaced the chips at my request, with some comment from the server about the bottom of the bag. My family's experiences were similar. We won't be going back!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed blue ridge restaurant also viewed

 

Been to blue ridge restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage blue ridge restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.