We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1932-OMG!!! Off the beating trail most definitely!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tuggles Gap Motel

Tuggles Gap Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Floyd
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Tuggles Gap Motel
Save Saved
You added Tuggles Gap Motel to your Saves list
3351 Parkway Lane S., Floyd, VA 24091   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Floyd
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“1932-OMG!!! Off the beating trail most definitely!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

If you are into adventure, a fall back in time, then you have found it...smile! The wind must have been blowing 40-50 miles per hour and it was interesting that it was as cold inside the room as it was outside! The curtains moved with each roar or air, the room was clean, no curtains in bathroom or over the outside vanity for privacy! It took for ever to get hot water to filter in, the shower was left over from I believe 1932. No closet, but 2 coat hooks. 2 double beds with flat pillows and only one blanket to share that had every cigarette burn on it I believe since 1932. The television was connected to cable service, but the reception was poor and you could only get a few channels. No cell phone or computer usage! After our laughter and settling down about midnight we were up at sunrise and we discovered the 'horse hitching post!" right outback of our bedroom! The bitter cold winds were still whistling and howling as they did through out night and/or early morning hours. There has been some renovations, but a lot more could be done without loosing the 1932 nostalgia effects. Very clean rooms and room service. Great for a one night adventure

Room Tip: This was perfect for a quick get away, clean rooms and a time to revisit a bit of nostalgia that sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
3
8
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Ditto to all negative comments. The location was wonderful, the food was good, but the rooms need updating, and for late fall visitors, the space heater, (seriously!), is not enough.
Great people, barely adequate rooms.

Room Tip: Ditto to all reviews- good food, great location, but sad rooms in need of updating and for late fall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The owners are friendly and seem to want to please, but the rooms are in need of major restoration. The phonebooth size bathrooms have been redone, but there is so much iron in the water that the toilet and shower are already stained. There were no towel bars or toilet paper holder in the bathroom! The old casement windows are missing the cranks so had to go outside to open and close the windows. There was dust on the lampshade and under the table, and dead gnats on the walls in the bathroom. I think this place is operating on a shoestring. The location is beautiful, just yards off the Blue Ridge Parkway. I love the setting, but will not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

After this year's Floydfest my boyfriend and I were in need of belly filling food and a warm happy environment. Tuggles Gap provided just that!!! My boyfriend had some of the most amazing homemade tomato soup I have ever tasted and my breakfast burrito was absolutely delicious. Our waitress told us everything on the menu is homemade, which was obvious, and the whole place was filled with friendly locals and happy people. Nothing fancy, but a must go if you're in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

One would assume in this day and time that hotels have air conditioning. Don't assume. This hotel has no air conditioning and the water has a strong iron/sulpher smell and taste. Our room had a musty smell, the windows wouldn't open and there wasn't even a ceiling fan. The bed was awful - hard and very squeaky. The sheets were clean but the towels are small and scratchy. We will not stay here again. If you do stay here, take bottled water to drink and to brush your teeth. This hotel has a nice location but needs major updates.

Room Tip: Go the extra 8 miles into Floyd for a place to stay off the Blue Ridge Parkway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Empty beer bottles on the table outside my room. No Internet. Electrical outlets don't accept a ground plug. Don''t know what was in the toilet. Water was sulphinated so after I took a shower, I smelled like a burnt match all day. Didn't know they could make mattresses that thin. Other than that, a wonderful experience for $56.10 a night.

Room Tip: Stay in Blacksburg
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I along with another couple did an "end to end" of the Blue Ridge Parkway. Tuggles Gap was a stop for breakfast one morning south bound. The food and service was so awesome and the motel from outside looks "quaint" so the woman decided they wanted to stay here on the way back north.

I've never seen room like the two rooms we rented ... never! The showers in both rooms were so gross, they had huge amounts of mold on walls, shower foor and bathroom floor. On top of the mold everything was redish brown color from ????? We tried to see about getting another room but everything was booked for the weekend (lots of activities going on in the area). We were stuck staying here because we were on motorcycles and it was dark nothing avail within an hour! Had we been traveling by car/truck I would have left. Nobody took a shower in the morning and I even skipped brushing my teeth because of the smell in the water.

I would stop again at the diner but would never plan to stay in the rooms ...

Room Tip: I was told they are doing upgrades, ask to see your room before you pay or check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tuggles Gap Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuggles Gap Motel

Address: 3351 Parkway Lane S., Floyd, VA 24091
Location: United States > Virginia > Floyd
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Floyd

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuggles Gap Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;