We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip back in time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambrosia Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Floyd
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ambrosia Farm
Save
You added Ambrosia Farm to your Saves list
271 Cox Store Rd., Floyd, VA 24091   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Floyd B&B and Inns
Hoschton, Georgia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A trip back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed just one night in the 200+ year-old log cabin. We had the Master Bedroom with King bed. The room was spacious and quaint and the bed was just a little on the soft side but comfortable. You step just outside the bedroom to the bathroom. There is a curtain to give you privacy from the dining area when moving between the bedroom and bath. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast on the porch before we left and watched a hummingbird flitting around. Caroline was the best hostess and we enjoyed conversation with her. We were the only guests in the cabin that night so we could "poke around" a little and enjoyed seeing all the history in the cabin. My only negative comment is that the towels were a bit sour.

Room Tip: The Master Bedroom is on the main level of the cabin and is the only room with a king-size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reidsville, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Ambrosia Farm it is one of a kind !!!
It was a good, fun, experience !
We sat on the front porch and just enjoyed the view.
Took a ride on the Blue Ridge Parkway.
Went to the Friday night bluegrass jamboree at the Floyd Country Store.
The owners Caroline & Craig were the Best !
The Breakfast was superb !
We hope to do this again.

Norman & Peggy
Reidsville NC

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Ambrosia Farm. We stayed in the log cabin and slept well -- Best sleep I had gotten in over a month. It is so peaceful and quiet. There is no light pollution and we could see the Milky Way at night. The flowers growing there are gorgeous... huge echinacea and black-eyed susans, and there is a veggie garden. Caroline and Craig are kind and welcoming and Caroline fixed us an awesome breakfast...a fried egg on cornbread with tomatillo sauce (tomatillos from their garden), fruit, and a whole grain blueberry muffin... We weren't expecting breakfast and it was a very nice way to start the day and get energy for hiking. We also enjoyed meeting and talking with the other guests. A very relaxing experience. Also, economical. And the water is good (We currently live in a place with hard water; bathing with the water there and being able to wash hair with water that is not hard was a real luxury :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

What a great place. The owners were great, warm people... We arrived and were offered a glass of wine from the winery down the road. We sat on the front porch and talked for a while. For dinner the owners recommended a great restaurant in town, which turned out to be some of the best Italian I've ever had.

We stayed in the cabin, which is fairly inexpensive. It has a nice porch where you can look out on the blooming flowers, and the owners' vegetable garden, which they use in the food they prepare for breakfast. The sky outside the cabin at night was spectacular. It was the first time I've seen the Milky Way in a long time.

I overheard a couple who were also staying at Ambrosia say that they'd stayed at a few other bed and breakfasts on their trip, but this one was the best. You can tell they really enjoy what they're doing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I wanted a romantic B&B near the Blue Ridge Parkway so we could enjoy wine tasting and scenic views. I was not disappointed! Ambrosia Farm is on a quiet road just 15 minutes from Chateau Morrisette and Villa Appalaccia Winery. The B&B is an old farmhouse, with a porch used for meals, wood paneling and antiques throughout, and plenty of comfortable chairs and quiet nooks. Ambrosia Farm also had free WiFi and a complementary bottle of chilled white wine for guests to share. We stayed in the Mountain Craft room upstairs, which had a very comfortable queen-size bed, in room a/c, and bathroom with sliding pocket door. In the morning, Caroline made a delicious breakfast of homemade zucchini and spinach quiche, home fries with sea salt, sliced watermelon and biscuits with local apple butter. It was so special to sit on the back porch, drinking coffee, while hummingbirds flitted about the blooming bushes. It was so refreshing to stay somewhere more personal than a large hotel chain! We will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha Wisconsin
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at Ambrosia Farm for a night and thoroughly enjoyed our time. Situated outside of Floyd on a quiet country road just off the Blue Ridge, Ambrosia offers a pleasant place to rest. The pre-Civil War farm house maintains a quaint charm. As the hosts were out of town, their friend Sally was a most delightful caretaker. The breakfast was excellent. The room was spacious and nicely appointed. As we had the house to ourselves (the owners have a house fifty feet up the hill), we felt very much at home. Each room has a bath (there are three in the house and two in nearby cabins). I would very much encourage you to stay here if traveling through the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent three nights inside the main house at the start of Memorial Day weekend. The hosts were gracious, friendly and helpful. Prior to arrival Caroline had helped with suggestions for massages and dinner plans. ALL of her recommendations were excellent.

Our room was comfy and cozy. The only recommendation might be adding some drawers for a little more room to "unpack" a bit as we sort of had to work out of our suitcases. No big deal.

The location is rural and great for walks on the mountain roads. However, it wasn't so rural that we had trouble finding it or felt too isolated. We were ten minutes from downtown Floyd and went there often when we wanted to explore.

Breakfast each day was different and delicious. They use fresh ingredients from their garden when possible and each day also seemed to be vegetarian so that could be appealing to some.

We plan on returning and staying again as there is more to see in the area and we have relatives nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambrosia Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosia Farm

Address: 271 Cox Store Rd., Floyd, VA 24091
Location: United States > Virginia > Floyd
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Floyd
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambrosia Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.