We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME EXPERIENCE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flint Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn
675 Zachary Taylor Highway, Flint Hill, VA 22627   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Flint Hill B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Amissville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“AWESOME EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We tried the newly owned Flint Hill Public House & Counrty Inn for the first time last night and it was a great experience. Great Food, Fast, friendly service, amazing food and the new decor is fab. The pub/ bar area... we are pleasantly surprised to find Evette who gives great customer service and drinks. Rooms are just amazing ..very relaxing ...over all experience is a 10. A wonderful additional to the area.
We will be back very soon,
Vicki & Mike Spangler

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    6
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
35
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amissville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

The Public House building is an old converted school house, and the new owners did a marvelous job in recreating this old building that sat empty for a number of years. Energy efficient, conservation minded, and well laid out, the new restaurant is very easy on the eyes, comfortable and quiet, and a nice place to spend an evening. The bar is a fantastic place for a pre- or post-dinner cocktail, or even to sit and eat there. Both the dinner menu and pub menu have excellent choices, and their Chef Marvin is a genius in the kitchen. Whether it is a fine steak, a brisket, grilled salmon, or just a plain burger, the food is awesome.

And if you are Gluten-Free, no worries! Marvin comes to your table, discusses your likes and dislikes, food tolerances, and makes suggestions of dishes he can alter to your liking. And all is DELICIOUS!

Service is great. Friendly, very efficient, and you never wait long if you are in need of something.

Since they opened last month, I sat through four dinners and a lunch. All great experiences and wonderful food. Price is fair, and although the wine list is thin I understand they are working to add more wines across the price scale. That will be a welcome addition.

Go for a dinner or lunch, you can't miss!!

Oh yeah, if you are a dessert fan, try the white chocolate key lime pie. My daughter cannot get enough of that dish!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed at Flint Hill on a Saturday night in February and had a wonderful experience. The rooms are modern yet comfortable, large, with fantastic beds and big windows that look out onto the lawn. For what it's worth, the rooms also feature something I've never seen before -- a television that swivels 360 degrees in the center of the room, so you can watch either from bed or from the ample sitting area. We had dinner in the restaurant downstairs and loved the peanut soup, steak, and other items we tried.

The Inn is well situated for visiting wineries in the area. We spent the day going to 3 or so wineries, and then came back to the inn for the evening. I highly recommend you do the same.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We tried Flint Hill for an early Valentines weekend, and couldn't have been happier. The rooms are both tasteful and comfortable. The dining room last night for dinner and today for brunch was relaxing, and the food is very good. The servers are still learning their routine, but they make up with eagerness what they lack in polish. The chef, Marvin, tours the dining room chatting with diners. And the manager John is everywhere, eager to make everyone comfortable. We finished off a nice dinner with a drink in the pub, and watched the storm howl outside while we enjoyed a comfortable sophisticated space. We'll be back in the Spring with friends in tow, for a great weekend exploring the wineries and antique stores.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint Hill
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Opened less than a month after a change in ownership, complete renovation, and all new staff, the newly reborn Flint Hill Public House is a great addition to the area. We've had several lunches and dinners ordering something different every time and have never been disappointed. Prices are very reasonable, the food is all made from scratch and the service is very professional.
The Oyster's Public House were incredible. A grilled crostini topped with a perfectly fried oyster draped with shredded pork and drizzled with a horseradish cream sauce...Dear Lord.
Atmosphere is modern on the inside with while maintaining the historic beauty of the building on the outside.
Great Find,
Brady

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I stayed at the newly reopened Flint Hill Public House and was blown away by the experience.

First off, the design of the interior is strikingly elegant and modern – a pleasant surprise in Virginia wine country décor -- yet inviting and cozy. The place was recently gutted and rebuilt inside, and it shows that no expense was spared or detail overlooked. Contemporary art is found throughout.

The guest suites are huge, bright and comfortable. We were so pleased with ours that we invited our friends up to it before dinner and ordered a room service for a little cocktail hour. Our bed was divine, and the bathroom also clean, brand new, and beautiful.

The restaurant at Flint Hill is also a culinary star. I still dream of the fried pickles appetizer and hope they still have it on the menu when I return. And I sampled entrees of everyone at the table – all were so tasty.

Finally, Flint Hill’s bar is a fantastic destination unto itself. It has dark wood, a huge light cool modern fixture, neat art, a flat screen TV, and plenty of comfortable seating. It overlooks the building’s deck and vast grounds. If I lived nearby, this would be where I’d kick back for a drink after a day of work.

All to say, the new Flint Hill should not be missed, and I cannot wait to return soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I drove out to Flint Hill, by way of several wineries, with 5 friends for a weekend stay at Flint Hill. Not only was I surprised to find this contemporary gem in the middle of rural Virginia, I was treated like a king!

The suites upstairs are fantastic, with every amenity you could ask for. Think New York City hotel room, not Rappahannock County Bed and Breakfast. The walls are adorned with gorgeous artwork and the beds lull you to sleep.

We had dinner downstairs and were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the food. If you're looking for fussy, experimental food, or molecular gastronomy, head to the Inn at Little Washington. If what you want is a great meal with ingredients you recognize, Flint Hill is your place. Our table had a wide range of dishes from peanut soup to filet mignon, perfectly prepared and perfectly seasoned. And for dessert, don't get me started on the homemade ice cream! I am looking forward to the summer heat when I will have an excuse to stop in and just ask for the ice cream!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn

Address: 675 Zachary Taylor Highway, Flint Hill, VA 22627
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Flint Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Flint Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than 100 years of history..Perched on a hill above the namesake village it overlooks, Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn is a large white house that is hard to miss. The building is a former schoolhouse that has been a fixture in the area for more than 100 years. In the early 1900s, a one-room schoolhouse was moved from the premises to make room for a new school called the Flint Hill School. Built in 1906, the new school was instrumental in educating Rappahannock County children until 1960, when the property was sold and became a private residence. In 1986, the schoolhouse/residence was sold and renovated and opened as The School House Restaurant. In 1992, the restaurant operation was leased as The Flint Hill Public House until it closed in 2008. In June 2011, new owners purchased the property and undertook an extensive renovation and redesign, hiring noted Washington, DC, architect Ernesto Santalla. The complete renovation took the building down to the bare walls and included moving an interior stairwell to the outside to accommodate four luxury suites on the expansive second floor. The new Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn opened in early 2012 – ready for another 100 years as a local landmark and gathering place. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flint Hill Public House Hotel Flint Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Flint Hill Public House & Country Inn to your Saves list