We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy hot & cold sandwiches” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bakery

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Bakery
Main Street, Farmville, VA
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 38 Restaurants in Farmville
Cuisines: French
Description: A French/Belgian style bakery and sandwich shop that makes fresh bread and pastries daily. Also sells wine, cheese, and other items. Phone 434-395-1011
Restaurant details
Description: A French/Belgian style bakery and sandwich shop that makes fresh bread and pastries daily. Also sells wine, cheese, and other items. Phone 434-395-1011
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yummy hot & cold sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Cute cafe with lots of veggie options. Good quality ingredients. Close to High Bridge trail. Your only other sandwich options in this town are grocery stores, Wal*Mart, or Sheetz. Support this local gem instead.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rude staff and super long wait time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

My mother and I stopped by the bakery on our way home. She ordered a simple mozerlla and tomato basil sandwich which requires no cooking whatsoever. The sandwich took 40 minute to be brought out to us, and upon inquiring for the 3rd time if it would be out soon, one of the women from the back came out just to tell me that I had not been waiting that long and to calm down because the sandwich would be out eventually. Two other couples who had arrived 10 minutes after us had both recieved their meals before we did as well. We will not be coming back to this place. The food is not worth the wait and being given attitude by the staff. We expect to wait for our food, but 40 minutes for a sandwich is ridiculous.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Food & SLOW Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a true French bakery. The bread, coffee, and pastries are excellent. The food is very good, but don't be in a hurry. When it's crowded, it could take you 10 minutes to get a cup of coffee.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Baguettes and Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

One of Farmville's best gems. Best croissants I've ever eaten outside of France. Magnificent selection of cheeses. And oh, the beers: American craft brews and plenty of Belgium's finest offerings. A wall full of wine as well (but I'm no connoisseur to be talking about them). Don't be put off by crowds in the small, main room; there's a whole upstairs to use as well. And free WiFi.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great selection of wines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great selection of wines. Nice atmosphere. Like the white bags with The Bakery stamped on them. Nice touch.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bakery also viewed

 

Been to The Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.