We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all the Southern charm you desire!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Longwood University Bed and Breakfast

Longwood University Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Farmville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Longwood University Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Longwood University Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
608 High Street, Farmville, VA 23901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Farmville B&B and Inns
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“all the Southern charm you desire!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This was my second fabulous stay in this charming inn. The rooms are clean, comfortable and luxurious all at once. The quaint sitting rooms are perfect for relaxing, reading or having a cup of tea. Harlan prepared mouth watering concoctions for breakfast. The delightful innkeeper Lorrie offers the best in Southern hospitality as well as providing the assistance needed from an experienced concierge. Already looking forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    4
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
10
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Lovely B&B in Farmville....great location, beautiful historic house, updated amenities. Don't miss the delicious breakfasts (and cookies strategically placed by the front door)! Everyone was extremely gracious and helpful - especially Lorrie, the innkeeper. She is a gold mine of information on nearby delicious bakery, restaurants - and most importantly, shopping! Perfect spot for a romatic getaway or a weekend shopping trip with girlfriends!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I stayed at Longwood Univ. Bed & Breakfast recently for a "girls' weekend." The rooms are spacious, lovely and very comfortable, the bathrooms updated and very nice, and the breakfasts are gourmet---one day you may have an egg strada with garlic grits and bacon, the next you may have from-scratch flax pancakes with warm blueberry compote and sausage. Delicious! Lorrie is a wonderful resource for all things Farmville-related, and the town offers many charming restaurants and great shopping. Highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

A fantastic place to stay in Farmville, Virginia ... Gracious and comfortable ... Authentic and historic yet with modern, comfortable conveniences ... The Sunday morning breakfast prepared by Harlan was amazing ...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

What a great place to stay while in Farmville!! Easy to find, ample parking, and within walking distance of just about everything in Farmville (I realize Farmville is not that big!!). The rooms were immaculate, the service top-notch, the breakfast both mornings we were there was unbelievable and Laurie was great to work with!! I would highly recommend to anyone staying in Farmville!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We were very pleasantly surprised how spacious and beautiful our room was. Updated shower also extra nice. Another surprise was the delicious breakfast prepared by Harland a local Attorney who likes to cook and prepares the breakfasts at the Inn. This was not just breakfast but a gourmet's delight. Berries (strawberries and balckberries) with fresh made whipped cream and a balsamic vinegar dressing (tastes wonderful). Fresh made French Toast with lavender butter and real warm maple syrup, yum. Harland prides himself in finding recipes to satisfy the most discerning palate. The Inn is very clean and the staff makes you feel right at home. We plan to make a return visit next year. Farmville has a great trail for those who like to hike and see nature.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, Ok
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

The room was beautifully decorated and very ornate. We made our reservations 7 months in advance. We had a difficult time making the reservations due to the fact that we could not get a hold of the manager. I have two small children, and so I asked if they were child friendly. I was told that due to the fact that the party that I was staying with would have a majority of the house rented this would not be a problem. Upon arrival, we were asked that if our one year old started crying that we take him downstairs or they also suggested that we could take him outside. The bed was not comfortable. There was a hard piece right in the middle of it so my husband and I had to sleep on opposite sides of the bed or squashed into a space the size of a twin bed. For $145 I expected a better bed then this. The room was supposed to be $105 plus $20 for the roll a way for my son. Which I felt was a little bit steep. I still have not figured what the rest of the charges were, and I cannot get a hold of anyone to speak to them.

Room Tip: Not for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Longwood University Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longwood University Bed and Breakfast

Address: 608 High Street, Farmville, VA 23901
Location: United States > Virginia > Farmville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Farmville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Longwood Bed & Breakfast located in a beautiful residential neighborhood just steps away from our historic downtown. It is the perfect place to stay if you are shopping at Green Front for furniture, coming to visit your child at Longwood University or Hampden-Sydney College or just visiting the area. Sailor's Creek Battlefield is 15 minutes away and Appomattox is just 30 minutes away for all of the Civil War history buffs. You can sleep on the bed that General Grant slept in on his way through Farmville! Our Rails to Trails gravel path is perfect for walking, biking, running, horseback riding or just exploring and is just a few blocks away. Come join us for a delicious full breakfast on the weekends or a continental breakfast during the week. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longwood University Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.