We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place just off the parkway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volunteer Gap Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fancy Gap
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Volunteer Gap Inn
Save Saved
You added Volunteer Gap Inn to your Saves list
579 Volunteer Road, Fancy Gap, VA 24343   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Fancy Gap B&B and Inns
Britain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely place just off the parkway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is exactly the kind of place my partner and I imagined staying when we were planning our trip along the Blueridge Parkway. The location is fantastic - so peaceful, with a beautiful porch and far reaching views. The hostess was very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The room was very clean and had everything we needed. This is absolutely the place to stay if you are passing through Fancy Gap!

Also, Mabry Mill is just 20 mins away and serves a fantastic all day breakfast menu!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, VA
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at the Volunteer Gap Inn and Cabins while in Fancy Gap for a family reunion. This place is great! The owners are very friendly. The location is right on the Parkway just north of Fancy Gap. We were in room seven of the Inn. This place is clean and comfortable. Motorcycle and dog friendly. We will be going back in the Fall for a longer stay.

Room Tip: If you can, stay in a cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed in the inn rooms for one night on a trip up the Blue Ridge Parkway. The cabins are visible from the Parkway, making for easy access. There is a broad front porch with lots of chairs and we had a delightful evening relaxing and chatting with the other guests. There is a bass pond, full of big fish, and it we enjoyed watching the swallows diving over it in the evening. the rooms were large enough, and very clean, with a kitchenette (sink, small fridge and microwave). As someone observed in another review, there is not much around in the way of shopping, so if you choose to eat-in, better stock up beforehand. Excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My two boys and I stopped over for a one night stay as we returned from a beach vacation. The Cabins were easy to find and large enough to accommodate our needs. The weather prohibited us from spending any time outside and actually made for a difficult trip home since the parkway route in was closed overnight due to snow/ice.

A couple of things to note.

I've stayed in cabins before at $100 a night, I thought these were reasonably priced. That said, the kitchen is very limited, as in only a microwave and small fridge. You aren't close to anything in terms of dining options or grocery so you have to bring in what you need and basically cooking is limited to sandwiches or "heat and eat" canned foods. The freezer wouldn't even be big enough to keep a couple of frozen entrees.

The location was beautiful, and given the right time of year, it would have been possible to spend some time outside and even grill dinner.

Definitely a good one or two night spot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The cabins are run by Deena and family, and is very clean and well run. The location is 6.5 miles from the intersection of Hwy 52 and the Blue Ridge Parkway, and central to virtually every Parkway attraction in SW VA....great area and totally unlike the Waynesville/Asheville "mess".
We like it so much we are looking for a cabin to buy up there as it is only 2.5 hours from SC.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

A lovely setting for these rooms and cabins, set in a peaceful location, just off the Parkway. A kitchenette stocked with a your requirements, and a delightful bedroom with a big ceiling fan, lovely! A stroll down to the fish ponds makes a perfect evening, or just sit on the porch in a rocking chair

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We've hosted two family reunions, each at a different property, through Volunteer Cabin Rentals.

They offer

A variety of accommodations

PROFESSIONAL, HELPFUL front line people

Incredible settings
-ground level
-wooded
-mountain view

VERY clean

variety of sizes to accommodate a couple for a honeymoon/anniversary up to a full family reunion up to 30+ people

Excellent pricing structure

These cabins are incredible. If you're interested in pictures of the properties we've used, please feel free to email me that request and I'll send you a link to my online albums. PLEASE ASK if you have any questions at all. I love to help fellow travelers!

-Stephanie

Room Tip: Magnificent 7 is great for a group of medium size...plenty of room and even video machines downstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Volunteer Gap Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volunteer Gap Inn

Address: 579 Volunteer Road, Fancy Gap, VA 24343
Location: United States > Virginia > Fancy Gap
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fancy Gap
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volunteer Gap Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.