We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volunteer Gap Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fancy Gap
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Volunteer Gap Inn
Save
You added Volunteer Gap Inn to your Saves list
579 Volunteer Road, Fancy Gap, VA 24343   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Fancy Gap B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We've stayed here several times as a couple. The last time we went I took my parents and grandparents. The inn was perfect for my grandparents as there were no steps to climb. My parents loved their cabin. It's a great place to escape the pressures of daily life. I love having my morning cup of coffee on the front porch while looking at the mountains and ponds.

It is right off the Blue Ridge Parkway and only a short drive to Mabry Mill for a delicious breakfast! There's a lot to see and do in the area, if you can force yourself to leave the property. I recommend driving the parkway and going to Villa Appalachia if you enjoy wine.

The innkeepers are terrific and strive to make your stay special. Each cabin and room is very nicely decorated and I notice something different with each stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

Clean, comfortable, spacious, tasteful decor, roomy. While not a B&B, we did have a coffee maker in our rooms, microwave and fridge. There is a single tub jacuzzi in each room.

The view off the back porch is beautiful of the mountains and land.

A simply delighttul place to stay at an incredible price!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campobello, SC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

Very nice room at a great price. The property looked nice but because of bad weather we didn't get to see much of it. The room was clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy but it has a nice sized bathroom and a comfortable bed. We loved the way the room and the entire property were decorated with an antique motif. The owner was exceptionally nice and helped us out a lot when we got hit with an unexpected snow storm. She volunteered us some food since we couldn't get to the store and let us stay late. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baton rouge la
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

This is our 2nd time staying here and it was even better than the first. We even changed our vacation plans up to be able to stay an extra day here.The owner is such an incredible pet friendly person who made us feel like old friends. Rooms were clean and very comfortable and it is so pretty there, and so close to the Blue Ridge Parkway. And the price is unheard of cheap. I was shocked at how nice the place was. It is such a joy to discover these hidden gems while traveling, this one was the best

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

We just spent the weekend with a group and used the meeting facilities in the converted Barn. The whole experience was great. Deena and Ron managed a full Inn without a hitch and offered personal attention without hesitation. A beautiful place, super nice folks.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Best place I stayed lately... Friendly welcome, free wifi, very clean and best of all sooooo quiet that you feel like a newly born

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

Stayed at the Volunteer gap inn in October 2009 while touring the blue ridge parkway and chasing the fall colors. This is a great place to stay, and i loved the simplicity, peace and quiet. The innkeepers - Deena and co - are great people. They were very polite and understanding even before we got here, especially during the reservation process. The check in and billing is handled very well.

We stayed in Cabin 1, which we really liked. All the cabins overlook a small 'lake' and are very quiet and private. There is a small kitchen, comes in handy since options for eating places are limited here. I didnt see the rooms in the main house, I just got to the office during check in and check out. The property is right off the parkway around milepost 190, and a short distance from Fancy gap. Fancy gap is a great place to hang out, there is nice deli and a wonderful antique store. A short drive north of the Inn and off the parkway is a small town called Floyd, very nice place to stop by.

Overall, I loved Volunteer gap inn and would certainly return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Volunteer Gap Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volunteer Gap Inn

Address: 579 Volunteer Road, Fancy Gap, VA 24343
Location: United States > Virginia > Fancy Gap
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fancy Gap
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volunteer Gap Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.