We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop for travelers if you want a break from fast food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gap Deli at the Parkway

The Gap Deli at the Parkway
7975 Fancy Gap Hwy, Fancy Gap, VA 24328-4006
+1 276-728-3881
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Fancy Gap
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches, Bistro, Soups
Restaurant details
north carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great stop for travelers if you want a break from fast food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Quick homemade sandwiches. Convenient stop off the highway with an outdoor patio. Try the meatloaf with homemade ketchup.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    18
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, Nc
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good solid food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Went to The Gap Deli based on other reviews and it was right at the entrance of the Blue Ridge Parkway where we were getting on. The wraps with the pickle and chips is enough for 2 people to share. The location is awesome to get something freshly made to eat after driving a while and to enjoy a picnic on the parkway. Would return.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Gem Of A Deli In Fancy Gap!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We ran across this deli, on a recent trip to the mountains. This is such a wonderful place! The surroundings are beautiful, and clean, and the food is delicious! They have the best homemade salads, and sandwiches! We ate there a couple of times, and enjoyed every bite. The staff are all so nice, and friendly. They welcome you, and make you feel at home the moment you walk in the door. It was a really nice day, so we ate outside in a beautiful garden type surrounding. This place is just the best. We can't wait to return to the area in the future, and we will definitely be eating here again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Our second visit to this deli/bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were traveling to Charleston several years ago when we stopped in for lunch. It was such a pleasant discovery. Later we couldn't remember which exit we had found this little bistro or even the name. Imagine our delight when we discovered it again on this vacation. A wonderful place to eat outdoors. Great menu!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Homemade top quality lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Ya know those times when your traveling and you wish you knew someone around the area that can tell you about that one little deli that you must visit? Well I found that deli ...The Gap Deli ! What a nice cozy little deli , it's decorated nice and very clean (bathrooms too) and the servers are very friendly and the food...wow prob one of the best sandwiches I ever had! Prices are great, So fresh and good portions can't believe they don't charge more ! There's seating outside too . My husband is a meat eater and we both had the Monte Cristo and he was satisfied and said it was very good and said "Mmm" often :) I had the pasta on the side and that was very fresh & mild tasting, I also got the garlic basil pesto on the sandwich and that was sooo good! I can't wait till we travel again cause I will somehow make my way through Fancy Gap! Its a gem nestled in the mountains! Don't miss it !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gap Deli at the Parkway also viewed

 

Been to The Gap Deli at the Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gap Deli at the Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.