We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not only awful, but not cheap by comparison either” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Top Motel

Save Saved
You added Mountain Top Motel to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mountain Top Motel
7791 Fancy Gap Highway, Fancy Gap, VA 24328   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Fancy Gap B&B and Inns
BELLINGHAM
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not only awful, but not cheap by comparison either”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our room was moldy - you could smell it, and it caused my husband's allergies to come on strong. The windows were duct taped closed on all seams - is that even legal? Bedding was threadbare, and the lights in the front made it so you could read in your room at night with all the lights out.

We didn't shower, it was so gross looking.

Owner is very nice, doesn't make it a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    0
    0
    5
See reviews for
1
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I see a few reviews that must have been expecting more than reasonable. It is an inexpensive old style motel, but it is right on the parkway, our AC worked great, the bed was reasonable, the bathroom clean. The owner Peter took my reservation without a credit card. He let us leave our car at the motel when we were out at 6:00 am to ride on the parkway. We ran into some torrential rain storms for about an hour on the way back, so we asked if we could get into a room to shower, he opened up a room he had just cleaned and would not take money, but we insisted. We will be back on a regular basis.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I have stayed in some dumps over the years, kinda like 'em, really . But this one was below my lamentably low standards. The outside lighting was bright enough to read a newspaper inside the room at 3am; trim pieces were ripped off the wall; the towels would make a Kleenex seem large and luxurious; the electrical outlets were so worn that plugs would fall out on the floor; the bathroom fixtures (tub, commode, basin) had stains that I've not seen north of Tijuana; the TV has been around since the Ed Sullivan show; the internet access did not work; the airconditioner's bark was louder than its bite; the bathroom floow was sticky (I was afraid to imagine why) and the sheets and pillow cases were paper thin.

The appearance of the clientel made me tangle a chair into the door to at least give me time to kill myself on my own terms rather than deal with an intruder.

LOL, all of this for $25 less than the splendid and new Day's Inn less than two miles away.

Too bad trip advisor doesn't offer 'putrid' as an overall rating!

Room Tip: Hahahahaha! Pool and Fitness center? GIMMIE A BREAK!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

This motel was just what we needed for the price we wanted to pay. The owner was on site and very friendly. More than friendly...he kept us entertained in the evening with great stories as we sat out front to visit. He will inform you of what he is offering, show you the room, and if you don't like it then don't stay there. His recommendation for the restaurant across the street was appreciated. Where else could you get a great tasting fish dinner under $10? Trout, catfish, etc...with a couple sides. Breakfast was just as good. If you need a name brand hotel with all the features then don't stay here. If you need a safe, basic place to get some rest this is the place. We enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

A group of us landed here on a motorcycle trip from ny to Nashville,the owner Pete invited us into his home and treated us to bottles of wine after bottles,his hospitality was only surpassed by his life knowalge.he calls us time to time to say hello,we are now friends for life and I am a better man for meeting him.the motel is just that ,a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Tell Pete mouse sent ya.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

My three friends and I have been staying at this motel, annually, since 1993 on our way to Bridge Day in WV. It has always been neat but never as clean and accomadating as it is now. The new management has done a great job. The rooms we stayed in had a coffee pot, with coffee available, microwave new linens, blankets, remodeled bathrooms, directTV and the WiFi internet connection was great. Management was also very friendly and made us feel right at home. We will definetly be staying there again. And for some of the best food and desserts around the little restaurant across the street is really convienient.

Room Tip: If there are 3 - 4 people ask for the room(s) with 3 large beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

This ranks as the worst motel my husband and i have ever stayed in. Don't be fooled by the website or free internet access. The room was very basic, which was not the problem. The problems were this: coffee maker, but no coffee provided and the outlets in the room were not the correct ones for the maker; no toilet paper and no staff on duty to provide anymore--a phone number to contact the manager was left at the office, but there was no answer and he was asleep on the office sofa the next morning when we checked out at 10am; restaurant recommended by motel manager was awful (tho staff were friendly)--my husband was ill later that night; taps not correct for hot/cold water in shower; bathroom sink dilapidated; towels provided were more like hand towels rather than bath towels.

My husband and I are not very picky people, any one of these issues may not have been such a big deal, however, overall and particularly the lack of staff on duty to address any issues made the experience awful. If you're driving down the blue ridge, keep driving to the next town.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Top Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Top Motel

Address: 7791 Fancy Gap Highway, Fancy Gap, VA 24328
Location: United States > Virginia > Fancy Gap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fancy Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mountain Top Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Top Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.