We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Great Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Tysons Corner

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Tysons Corner to your Saves list
The Westin Tysons Corner
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7801 Leesburg Pike, Falls Church, VA 22043-2497   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Falls Church
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
1 review
“Great Location and Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

We had a fantastic holiday weekend. The hotel was perfectly situated close to Metro and great shopping. The hotel offered a free shuttle to both,which was nice and convenient. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the hotel was clean. As for the rooms, they offer the Heavenly Bed and Shower head which was a heavenly way to end and wake up each day. Overall a geat time.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    183
    92
    35
    9
See reviews for
85
108
52
178
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

I stayed here for a week while attending a class for work.

The location is poor, nothing is withing walking distance and the views are only of the freeway.

Their "convenient" shuttle service will only take specific places at certain times of the day and won't pick you up even if they say they will when you leave.

Rooms are run down and the staff is inattentive and unfriendly. I usually enjoy staying at Westin hotels, but there is a reason this one is very cheap, it is a very poor hotel. Westin should close this one down.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biznistraveller
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

It's amazing how Starwood can take an esteemed brand like Westin and denegrate it to the level exhibited by the Westin Tysons Corner.

The hotel does not even have a full service restaurant open all day. Instead is a pathetic coffee shop that opens for lunch and briefly for dinner. It's menu offering resembles something you would find in a high school cafeteria rather than an upscale hotel. Additionally, the Starbucks branded cafe in the lobby is only open briefly in the mornings. This means that the only dining options for large art of the day is the limited menu lounge area located adjacent to the lobby.

The hotel simply cannot compete with other properties in the Tysons area, due to the poor location (compared to the Courtyard and Crowne Plaza -- which are right across from the Galleria) and lack of F&B and leisure facilities.

Because the owner has attempted to cut costs by simply upgrading interiors rather than conducting a full renovation, the lobby area and much of the property resembles the Doubletree hotel that existed before the Westin reflagging.

The hotel has been performing poorly and is not popular with business travelers who travel to the area. Therefore, the desperate management has been giving discounted rate to HIGH SCHOOL GROUPS. During my stay there, three floors of the hotel were entirely occupied by these groups, which the front desk attendant telling me that four kids shared each room. The noise levels in the public area of the hotel and general inconvenience to other guests (the place resembled a school yard) was enough for me to never stay at this property again. Additoinally, the property can frequently be found on hotwire (4-star property in Falls Church) with rates of approximately $70).

Starwood needs to seriously look at underperforming properties like this if it is to improve its financial standing. It's no surprise that its stock price is sinking and performance far lags behind competitors such as Marriott.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

This hotel was a great find. We went to a concert in Virginia, and foubd this Westin. We were travelling with our puppy, and she was welcomed with open arms. The room was spaciaous, clean, and stylish. The hotel was close to the Metro- which brought us right into the D.C. area. It was great for sightseeing.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

We stayed here the weekend of Jun 5-7 for a trip to the DC area. We were able to get a great rate of $75 / night -- for a Westin! The quality of the room was top notch as you'd expect at a Westin (clean and comfy). Though you can tell the place is beginning to show its age. Carpet is a bit worn, parts of the tub and the bathroom ceiling were "beginning" to peel away (but the heavenly shower rectified that). The only other downside was the noise from the capital beltway outside. The hotel overlooks it, so you hear constant traffic all day and night. Otherwise for what we paid, we were quite happy with our room.

This hotel has practically every amenity you could want. Service was great as expected, they came within minutes of requesting some extra towels, ample free parking, it's also quite close to the Tysons Corner shopping mall and a quick 20 min drive to DC.

Overall we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2009

I am used to dealing wit Holliday Inn kind of hotels. But this time the conference was held at the Westin, so I stayed here. The hotel is fine, but the food they prepared during lunch was mediocre. here the pluses and the minuses of the hotel:
+ stylish rooms and public spaces
+ above average gym
+ swimming pool
+ free internet in public places
+ large bathrooms
+ near Tysons corner shopping mall (not accessable by foot!)
+ business centre (incl. free (yes this was free!) printer and copier)

Minuses:
- expensive internet in room
- located in a pedestrian unfriendly erea
- no good jogging route available

Would probably not stay here again (too expensive for me)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

We stayed over one night for the Cherry Blossom festival in D.C. The room was nicely decorated and clean. Everything was good except the bathtub liner was peeling and the toilet flush mechanism was not working properly. The Heavenly Bed and Bath amenities were a nice touch. We especially enjoyed the dual shower head. Front desk reception was just okay, not particularly welcoming or friendly, but not mean either, just... detached. Overall okay for a short stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falls Church
1.3 mi away
Hilton McLean Tysons Corner
Hilton McLean Tysons Corner
#1 of 15 in Tysons Corner
4.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by HIlton Tysons Corner
2.5 mi away
Hyatt House Falls Church
Hyatt House Falls Church
#1 of 17 in Falls Church
4.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Falls Church
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Falls Church
Hilton Garden Inn Falls Church
#3 of 17 in Falls Church
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tysons Corner Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Tysons Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Tysons Corner

Address: 7801 Leesburg Pike, Falls Church, VA 22043-2497
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Falls Church
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Falls Church
#6 Business Hotel in Falls Church
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Tysons Corner 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil oasis residing beside our nation's capital, The Westin Tysons Corner is close to many Fortune 500 companies as well as fine shopping, dining, museums, Jiffy Lube Arena and Wolf Trap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Starwood, Booking.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Tysons Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tyson`s Corner Hotel Falls Church
Westin Hotel Tysons Corner
Westin Falls Church
Falls Church Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Tysons Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.