We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, super bed, but bring your wallet for more amenities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Tysons Corner

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Tysons Corner to your Saves list
The Westin Tysons Corner
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7801 Leesburg Pike, Falls Church, VA 22043-2497   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Falls Church
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great staff, super bed, but bring your wallet for more amenities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Pros:
+staff was very professional and friendly
+the room was clean and comfortable
+The clear, clean indoor swimming pool and hot tub had a lifeguard, a locker room and plenty of thick towels.
+++The "heavenly bed" lived up to its name and was super - this is important in any hotel room!
+ +the pillows were perfection
+In room coffee with Starbucks
+In room safe, iron and board
+Full length mirrors
+well lit room
+additional outlets that are at desk level
+quiet halls
+ Bellman/porters are very efficient
+ the room colors were easy on the eyes

The cons:
-Pay for wify in rooms except for weekends when it is free
-A cooling box instead of a refrigerator. If you need a refrigerator, one will be brought to your room for $35.
- No microwave
-The door to our room would not accept the entry cards because the door key reading device needed batteries changed. This was a delay for us. Batteries do need changing, it happens and is hardly a headache, but it is inconvenient. On the plus side, the exceptionally good staff members, without even hearing a complaint from us, apologized for the inconvenience.
- Breakfast and room service available but for high fees. We passed.
- At least one elevator was not engaged. The remaining elevators were slow and full. We waited 30 minutes for one during a busy time- gave up and walked down stairs where we arranged for a Bellman to pick up our luggage at the room. Apparently the Service elevator had no delays. I understand a full house means busy elevators, but not having all elevators operational caused additional delays during our holiday.
-The toilet paper holder is behind the commode. Customers/guests should be physically agile, or take the amount of paper needed first, then use the commode.- Poor design
- No in-room information packet that gives whole hotel information, nor is it available via television. There is a packet on room service and in another spot, there was a folder explaining the cooling box. There is a sign on the bathroom mirror informing folks about an option to rent work out clothes for $5.00, but an overall hotel information packet was not to be found, so guests are left to guess. We asked one staff member about swimming pool hours and were told 9 a.m.-9 p.m. but that was only partially accurate. Those hours are weekend hours. During the week the hours are 6-10 a.m. and 5-9 p.m. We found out when we had to ask another staff member where we could locate the swimming pool. These hours were also posted at the swimming pool door. Getting information should not include a hunt.

Overall: A good hotel with an excellent staff, wonderful beds and clean rooms, but failure to have all doors and elevators working causes delays for guests. How is that caring for the guests? Overcharging for amenities does not make a hotel more endearing or a class act - why pay more for less? There are more competitive hotels in the immediate area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, General Manager at The Westin Tysons Corner, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear mjm0508,
Thank you for staying with us this past weekend. We wanted to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. We do in fact have a guest directory in all our rooms and it causes us to review where we place it going forward. I will say that this past weekend we had many more families and the hotel was at maximum capacity. That undoubtedly caused slow moving elevators and eventually one of the elevators was turned off for maintenance. We will review our pool hours with the staff and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. The cost of the refrigerator should have been $25 and not $35 though. We thank you for highlighting the other good experiences from the comfort level, cleanliness and the hospitality of the staff and we do hope that we might have an opportunity to be of service to you and your family again and welcome you to reach out to us directly so we can look after your accommodations. We are anxious to show you that this experience was the exception and not the rule.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    155
    76
    31
    8
See reviews for
73
93
48
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Room were clean and very comfortable. Staff was unbelievably friendly and helpful! I would staff again and would recommend it. Only negative would be the very high prices in the Resturant especially for breakfast! But I did love this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, General Manager at The Westin Tysons Corner, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Kelli M,
Thank you very much for your recent stay and for your great comments. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially the warm hospitality that you received from our staff. We have also shared your comments with our Food and Beverage department for the price evaluation, however; we just wanted to make sure that you know that besides the breakfast buffet there are itemized menu items with different prices. Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I was quite disappointed in the hotel. I stayed there before a few years ago and found it went downhill since then.

The staff was fabulous, warm and attentive but the room left a lot to be desired. There were dents in the walls. The safe in the closet didn't work most of the time and, too often took over 20 tries to re-open so I couldn't use it. The bathroom faucet constantly leaked and when it was fixed, they left the replaced pipes in the room.

The facilities need updating and renovations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, General Manager at The Westin Tysons Corner, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear abetter1,
We’re sorry that you had this experience and appreciate you reaching out so that we can amend it. We strive to treat each and every guest as a unique individual and every room is tested and inspected for complete comfort and problem free. We are sorry that the safe in your room was not as user friendly as you had expected but it is very kind of you to point out all of the nice qualities about the staff of the hotel. We hope that you will stay with us again so please reach out to us at Admin@westintysonscorner.com next time you are traveling to the city so that we can make your stay special.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a great Hotel right outside of Washington D.C. They offer a free shuttle service to the Metro so you do not have to worry about trying to find parking in D.C. The hotel was immaculate and well staffed. The beds were comfortable and not too soft or hard. The bathroom was large enough to easily shower and dress in. The single serve coffee pots use Starbucks coffee which was much needed on this trip.
The hotel is off of several major thoroughfares which makes it easily accessible. The last time we travelled to DC we stayed at another hotel in downtown DC. We paid a much higher price for a lesser quality room. We booked this hotel because we were only staying one night and we were on a budget. What a great surprise. The Westin is the way we will go from now on.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, General Manager at The Westin Tysons Corner, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear WhereTheBeach_26,
Thank you for the detailed review! It’s so important that travelers are able to hear what other guests experienced and we are grateful that you took the time to share your experience. Welcome to Westin!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 1 night after visiting Annapolis. Friendly check-in, nice breakfast and really wonderful upgrade (special thanks to Arch for really going above and beyond!). We have stayed at this property before and will continue to make it our go-to place when visiting the area!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, General Manager at The Westin Tysons Corner, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear DC4NJ,
We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay and share the experience with potential guests. We’re glad you had such a pleasant experience and we will pass the credit to Arch! We look forward to seeing you next time.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Every time company have a Business trip in Tyson's Corner VA the company always choose the Westin Tysons Corner. Great location! Very convenient with everything! Few minutes away from the mall and Westin Tysons Corner VA offering an upscale breakfast! Great breakfast for reasonable price! This is only hotel that I stayed that I enjoyed the breakfast buffet. They serving upscale breakfast. Try it and you will be delighted. I think the most important good points about Westin Tysons Corner they offered and giving highest standard of customers care or quality service guests care! The People are really nice! The manager and the receptiopnist. Truely a Great And Highly Quality service to their Guests. No wonder why because Seth the manager is People Person! Seth is a Great Manager! He is type of Manager that trying to make sure that there guests are well okay and well treated correctly with highly Quality customer or guests care! I am really surprised The first time I visited the Westin Tysons Corner they treated guests as family. I remembered Stella a great receptionist she remembered guests name and I dunno how she did that! Amazing people! I wanted to take a chance and oppurtunity to say Thank YOU so much SETH and Thank you Stella! You are not only giving a highest customer care but you also make sure that all guests have completely treated as Part of Family! Seth being a Great Manager is takes courage to be consistently giving a highest customer care but you did guys! thank YOU so much! You are the best and I think Westin tyson corner VA is a Number 1 hotel in Tysons Corner area! To all travellers Westin Tysons Corner VA is Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, General Manager at The Westin Tysons Corner, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear MsRuffle,
Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your experience! We love reading our guests reviews and we are thrilled to see you have had great stays every time you stay at the Westin Tysons Corner. You can be assured that we will pass the credit to Seth and Estella and we look forward to your next visit sometimes soon!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were looking for a hotel in Washington and I asked for some quotes. We were supposed to pay 100 Dollars for either old or shabby hotels/motels. When checking on the internet I found the Westin for a very good price (in fact 90 Dollars).
As we had a car we drove there, I told the staff what price I found on the internet and I got a room for the price immediately.
The rooms were great and very clean. As it is just 10 miles from Washington Downtown this was perfect for us as we had a car with us. I believe you even have the possibility to go to Downtown Washington by public transportation.
I would stay there again, that is for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, General Manager at The Westin Tysons Corner, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Jessica G
We are glad that you took advantage of our special rate during your last visit to our hotel. The Westin Tysons Corner is perfectly situated on the intersection of our Nation’s Capital beltway and the famous Leesburg Pike where many business offices and two major shopping malls are located. It also offers our guests easy access to the surrounding Washington, DC area. We’re thrilled that our location and accommodations made your Leisure trip so enjoyable. We do appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you for your review.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Tysons Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Tysons Corner

Address: 7801 Leesburg Pike, Falls Church, VA 22043-2497
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Falls Church
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Falls Church
#3 Business Hotel in Falls Church
#4 Family Hotel in Falls Church
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Tysons Corner 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil oasis residing beside our nation's capital, The Westin Tysons Corner is close to many Fortune 500 companies as well as fine shopping, dining, museums, Jiffy Lube Arena and Wolf Trap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Starwood, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Tysons Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tyson`s Corner Hotel Falls Church
Westin Hotel Tysons Corner
Westin Falls Church
Falls Church Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Tysons Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.