We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park to your Saves list
Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3111 Fairview Park Drive, Falls Church, VA 22042   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Falls Church
Westerville, OH
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was a great hotel. It's a little far from D.C., but it was very beautiful and enclosed with trees. The hotel has a connected indoor/outdoor pool, huge gym, and was overall very nice. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We asked them for a few items and they ran it up within 10 minutes. There is a shuttle that leaves every hour from 6:30 a.m. to 8:30 p.m. We got on at 7:30, got to the station by 7:40 and we were at the Smithsonian stop in D.C. by 8:20. There is a Starbucks really close by, so we got coffee before hopping on the shuttle. We got back to the metro station at Dunn Loring by 11:40 and the the shuttle took us back to the hotel. The hotel has a few nice touches such as offering fruit flavored water in the lobby and free wi-fi in the lobby. We got the breakfast buffet on Sunday morning for $14.99 and it came with Belgian waffles, omelets and lots of other items... very good. We were very pleased. The hotel was very inexpensive considering how great a place it was, and how easy it was to get to D.C. We paid $90 a night, and booked with Booking.com.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    123
    39
    18
    4
See reviews for
95
70
22
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Great location. Excellent layout. For me it was hit and miss in terms of service and room cleanliness. While restaurant/bar service was friendly and efficient, other areas of service such as front desk lacked that personal touch. Room was generally clean and we'll appointed but bathroom showed lack of cleanliness and A/C unit kept on making a whistling noise every time it came on. Kudos to the chef for excellent food.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FVPM, Manager at Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your Food and Beverage experience and I will certainly pass along your compliments to the team. We will certainly address those areas that you've pointed out for improvement and I appreciate your giving us that opportunity to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Bragg
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I had an excellent weekend stay at the Falls Church Marriott. The associates when above and beyond to ensure my stay was spectacular. Chris (front desk associate) when out of his way to meet all of my needs and exceeded my expectations during this visit. This is an excellent Marriott property, well maintained, great Northern Virginia location, excellent associates.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I stayed at this Marriott for a couple of weeks this year...and the more time I spend there - the less I like it. There are so many little things which don't make any sense and which tells me that they don't understand the needs of frequent travellers ..

- they advertise the bar/restaurant is open until midnight; if there is no crowd they sometimes close it at 11 PM. When you come back form dinner and there is still staff around, they give you "the option" to order room service in the bar area - "room service charge" included ( meaning they add 20% etc..)...

- the computer for boarding pass print was repeatedly broken and it is just frustrating waiting in line for a broken computer until the guests have finally figured out that it doesn't work

- the restaurant is pricey - especially for the quality of food

- breakfast is pretty standard...meaning below courtyard level...no omelette station..the rest is average or below average...I guess you can order from the staff/menu - but that is always a hassle

- this place is poorly managed, the staff not motivated; for example ..there are actually ladies roaming the place all night and "dusting" something....therefore the title "house of the walking dead"

- the few supervisors I talked to don't really have a clue about travellers' needs and expectations

- rooms need update'; the rooms smell...all looks worn and bad taste.

- small things like toothpaste..they are still living before 9/11 in the nineties...if I ask for toothpaste, please give me enough for my stay..make it available for purchase...dont give me the little squeeze out things; reason I dont have any is not that I am cheating - I cant get it through security in a carry on !

- same with shaver...if I ask for one , I probably forgot one...make it available for purchase and dont give me the cheapy ones that dont even last for one shave
.
- how about just stocking the little marketplace next to the front desk properly and keeping it stocked ?

- there is something seriously wrong with the whole breakfast process...it starts with the interior...they have some nasty and filthy white curtains hanging down...some greek style cheesy pillars....goes together with the typical Marriott corporate property upgrades...they started traditional in the 80ies and gave it a contemporary "lift" a few years back...a few bucks short of a consistent design..then there is so much staff roaming around...dont know what is going on there...it is never busy on top..

- if you ever need to talk to their accounting department ( billing questions / itemized receipts ) - forget about it ! They never call back, never respond etc...( actually ..I did get a response around 2 weeks later )

The only person in that place who provides consistently excellent service is the Cambodian lounge lady in the VIP room...may be she needs to take over the management of that place..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FVPM, Manager at Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your observations regarding our hotel. While it is disappointing to see that we could have done a better job of meeting your expectations, I am glad that you've given us a chance to work on those items. We will certainly work on the items that you've highlighted. We are happy to give away complimentary personal items when you need them, and we will also be happy to provide them in our shop as well. I'm sorry for the confusion about the restaurant--we should have done a better job of clarifying that we offer the option of ordering off of the restaurant menu in our lounge area if desired, with no additional service charge. And we love to make omelettes to order every day of the week. I appreciate the opportunity to improve and hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

This full-service hotel is what you expect from Marriott and offers a weekend package with breakfast and free wifi that is hard to beat. The staff is attentive and professional and went the "extra mile" more than once without being asked. The shuttle van provides easy access to the DC metro, and freeway access to DC is only a minute or two away. Will definitely consider staying again when back in DC.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I didn't know what to think after reading some of the reviews. I thought I had picked the wrong hotel.

Upon arriving, I was pleasantly surprised. If you time the traffic right, the drive into Washington or Arlington isn't bad at all. The hotel itself is in a quiet suburban office park. The lobby was very nice. The fruit infused water was nice -- especially since many Marriott hotels skimp on this, even though I believe it's required.

I didn't receive any special recognition at the front desk for being an elite member. I didn't even get addressed as "Mr. XXX" or shown to where the elevator was located. I was told it was around the corner, even though there were several corners. I didn't have much baggage, but would have been disappointed if I had because there was no bellman. I also wasn't given a room upgrade or a room on the concierge lounge floor, though my elite status at least gave me access to it.

The room was standard Marriott, but mostly clean and refreshed. It wasn't contemporary but hardly outdated. The TV was a flat-screen, but the picture quality could have been better. The wireless internet was fine for YouTube videos, Facebook and corporate e-mail systems.. Unlike other Marriott hotels, there was no bathrobe or slippers in the room. Also, there was no mouthwash or grooming kit -- two things that, in my experience, are typically found in the better rooms that elite level members often get.

The fitness room was very large, although it was located in the pool area. This might be a problem if you wanted to workout outside pool hours. The indoor/outdoor pool was nice and kid-free. The outside area was a little dirty and the poolside furniture seemed a bit cheap and dated.

While this Marriott was better than I expected, it failed where it counted: Bathroom cleanliness. When I went to shower in the morning, I found a large and thick piece of hair -- at least six inches long -- hanging out from the shower head. Needless to say, I wasn't happy. I didn't shower and complained to the front desk. They didn't offer anything, except a "Sorry." I thought they might at least offer to clean the room or give me another room so I could shower before leaving for a day of work.

Because of this, I cannot recommend this hotel. This wasn't a small piece of hair. This was a big piece that was clearly visible. Sure, I should have checked the shower the night before when I arrived, but you expect -- and deserve -- a clean room, especially at a Marriott. You shouldn't have to play housekeeper.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FVPM, Manager at Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for your thoughts regarding your stay with us. I am glad to see that you liked the infused water in our lobby. However, it was disappointing to see that our bellman was not available when you arrived and that we could have done a better job of recognizing you. I am sorry about that. But it is certainly unacceptable for your room to be anything less than perfect and I am sorry that it's cleanliness was not up to either of our standards. We will strive to correct these things, and I appreciate your bringing them to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights recently and the hotel was clean, the room was nice. The parking in front of the hotel is very limited, but there was plenty of parking for free in the garage, which was nice. I did miss having valet parking and a bellman help me with my bags. That would have been nice.

The bar area was huge and had plenty of room for dining and hanging out. The food was good.

The dining room was good. We ate breakfast and dinner there. The server was attentive and super honest. He had added a 20% gratuity on the bill because of the large party. My husband didn't hear him say that and tipped him an additional 20%. He came back and asked my husband if he meant to do that - and we didn't. We gave him some additional cash to reward his honesty.

The room setup was a little odd - the front door looked directly into the bathroom and the side of the bed. It made me a little nervous thinking that someone could look through the peep hole and see both the bathroom and the bed. I just put a band aid over the peephole. The shower looked clean but there were 7 hairs on the walls (not mine) and shower curtain that I saw after I got in. I wasn't happy at all. I called and requested that they clean the room again. They got most of them, but there were still a few hairs on the walls. I was deeply disappointed. I've never experienced an issue like this at a Marriott. The downside was that it made me question the cleanliness of the entire hotel.

Overall, it was a nice hotel with nice staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FVPM, Manager at Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your observations of our hotel. While I appreciate the kind words, I am disappointed to see that your room was anything less than perfect. I apologize for this as it never should have happened. We will certainly work to correct this and I appreciate your bringing it to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park

Address: 3111 Fairview Park Drive, Falls Church, VA 22042
Location: United States > Virginia > Falls Church
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Falls Church
#3 Family Hotel in Falls Church
#3 Business Hotel in Falls Church
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a sophisticated haven with an ideal location in Falls Church, Virginia. The Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park offers the complete Northern Virginia hotel lodging experience with numerous amenities and easy access to everything the area has to offer. Guests of our Falls Church hotel can make it a day of shopping at the nearby Tysons Corner Center and Tysons Galleria, exploring the new and exciting Mosaic District, or sightseeing, with an easy trip to downtown Washington D.C. With a relaxing and open lobby, upgraded guestrooms, 24-hour fitness center, an indoor/outdoor swimming pool, high-tech conveniences, and Ellipse, an innovative restaurant and lounge, you may decide to not leave the hotel. It couldn't be easier for those visiting the area on business or for leisure with our Falls Church hotel being close to two D.C. Airports, Fairfax County's major highways and offering complimentary shuttle service to the Dunn Loring Metro station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Park Marriott Hotel Falls Church
Marriott Fairview Park
Marriott Falls Church
Falls Church Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.