We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel is Tired and Worn; Read TripAdvisor reviews carefully” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Governor House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Governor House Inn to your Saves list
Governor House Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6650 Arlington Blvd., Falls Church, VA 22042 (Formerly Quality Inn Governor)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Home 4 the Holidays Rate
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Falls Church
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Motel is Tired and Worn; Read TripAdvisor reviews carefully”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm not sure how this faded old motel does so well on TripAdvisor. Travelers must have a very tolerant standard for what deserves a 4 or 5 rating. I disagree with the average.

Quite simply, the room I stayed at in this motel was worn out and tired. It had mildew on the ceiling of the shower, rust on the bath vent, a bath heater that looked dangerously out of date, a dirty ceiling near the grate of the heat vent, a door latch that was missing a screw, and an ever present faint smell of cigarettes that probably has been embedded since 1986, complete with vintage orange cigarette burn marks permanently stained into the bath sink area. The walls were thin. The lampshade was cracked and drooped from its lamp. The clothes iron was missing its spray nozzle. This room was the equivalent of a worn out car on a used lot for $999.

I won't be totally negative. The linens were clean.

The staff is quite friendly, I agree with other reviewers about that. However the friendliness of the staff could never outweigh the low quality of the room. I don't understand the 4-circle average rating. Perhaps there are better rooms than the one I received. Perhaps others paid much less. Buyer beware and be sure to read reviews carefully.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the highway for less road noise. Traffic is heavy in front of the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    31
    10
    10
    4
See reviews for
40
16
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

We stayed in this lovely quaint older style hotel back in July. The staff were super friendly and our room was perfect for staying 2 nights, visiting with family in the area and site seeing during the day. We found it to be fairly easy access to many different DC areas, and the price is way better than staying any closer. Super quiet too, especially if you get a room towards the back like we did.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Catlohr,
We're glad you found us!!!

We are really dependent on word of mouth and sites like this with not having some Corpity marketing team to assign folks numbers and spam them here for us........so when we see folks make it here from the other side of the country it's really great!

The team really enjoys these reviews as were blessed to have found folks who truly like people. Yes It may be like grandma's - little old style on the décor and feel....and yes you even get cookies if you come in on time...but it certainly is fun thanks to all those that do find us.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and Hopefully we'll see you next summer!

Happy Holidays to you and Yours!
Dave and the entire Governor team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014 via mobile

I had to find alternate accommodations between lease terms in the metro-DC area. This property offers shuttle service to and from the EFC Metro. They offer breakfast every morning and the staff could not have been more attentive, accommodating and helpful!!! Great job, Gabby! Governor House exceeded my expectations!!! Thank you!!!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
DCMark,
Thank you for staying with us and especially for talking the time to share the experience!

I sincerely appreciate your taking the time to mention Gaby's Hard work and the breakfast staff's improvements she has really been working with that these last few weeks...with an older Inn it really takes the people to be responsive. Thankfully though it's getting easier last year went so well that now we have the roof the windows the lot and all the exterior caught up. if Our second full year goes as well we can get to the bath rooms next.
WE Can't Thank all our guests enough for the support.......we truly love what we do!

Happy Holidays to you and Yours!
Dave and the entire Governor team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Friendly, helpful staff. Clean room. A pleasant, affordable stay. Folks at the front desk were eager to help us plan our visit to D.C. and, given the insanity of driving in the D.C. area, the shuttle to the Metro is a tremendous value. The crew serving breakfast was incredibly friendly and eager to please.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Nick,
Thank you for staying with and especially for taking the time to share!

The reviews really help us out here as an independent without some big franchise to market us- all word of mouth so every review seriously helps us! Also was very glad to hear about the breakfast staff - this had been a concern and it's great to see our guests taking such an active part in our success - letting us know what to work on and same time commenting when it's done right!
It's refreshing being able to just host and enjoy folks from all over-the way it's meant to be and to be able to say thank you here vs depending on some "managerat(insertbrandnamehere) to give a corpity approved response.

Regards and wishing Happy Holidays to you and yours!

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

As everyone mentioned this is budget hotel but at the same time not some sleazy motel. Families, business and tourists can sure stay here.
Pros:
- For East Falls Church/Arlington area the price is reasonable for this type of hotel.
- Rooms and bed are clean (though rooms are compact though)
- You can sit outside your room and relax if the weather is nice.
- Location is convenient if you want to go to D.C. or Tysons or Airport etc.,
- Most of the staff (except one) are friendly and help you the best. Shuttle driver, Bolivian girl, manager and house keeping staff. (One staff talks loud and has fake smile but when it comes for assistance don't have much intention of helping. It was all talk. I didn't want to identify the staff but hope the staff realizes and changes).

Cons
- Air conditioner a bit noisy.
- Bathrooms are tight but then again this is old hotel so it was expected.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
James,
Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to share..........I sincerely appreciate you giving us the four rating as those help the most and you summed it up perfectly. A fifties style independent that is good for folks and families on a budget or seeking that home style feel from decades past.

The staff generally gets to these faster than I so your tips were both appreciated and shared -

Hopefully we'll see you again soon -
Wishing you and yours a happy and safe holiday Season!

Regards,
Dave & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kodak, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

The Governor House Inn was like visiting an old friend; rooms were clean, friendly personnel took care of everything. The breakfast they offered was mediocre but you can go across the street to an IHOP! The location was convenient. Transportation was offered to the trains. We would stay there again. The goal was to tour Washington D.C. and didn't need plush.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Juneilm,

Thank ya'll for the post and the time spent with us! I sincerely appreciate the title as I've been working off this same 1957 postcard on putting her back together slowly and surely.....

Seeing that title really made our day -one of our ladies at the desk noticed it and called me excited! We had a very good first year thanks to so many folks like yourself and we've almost got her right in the main lodge so she looks like the postcard.

We Really appreciate these reviews......the team an I try very hard with our rehab project here....seeing these responses just makes it so worth it!

Regards,
Dave & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night. Prior to our stay I called the Inn several times asking questions about getting to DC. Each time staff was extremely helpful and and eager to assist. Originally our room was facing the highway. I requested a quiet room and was placed in the back where it was very quiet. The room faced trees and there were benches outside the room making for a very pleasant evening sitting outside. The Inn shuttle took us to the metro in the evening and we took a cab back at night. The cab fare was $7 plus tip. If visiting DC area again would definitely stay again. Rooms were outdated but clean. Only downside was the breakfast.

Room Tip: Room in back of main building very quiet. Stayed in 142
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Innkeeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Anne,
Thank you for staying with us and the time taken to post the review. You sound like my own family which always prefer those 140 rooms on the back with the bench's and trees.

I've noticed a trend on the breakfast with the great one day - ehh not so much the next and what breakfast the day after..........were obviously botching it. Thanks for sharing, I've asked Gabby to make it a point to check it daily moving forward till we get it more consistent.

Wishing You and Yours a happy Holiday season!

Dave & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Governor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor House Inn

Address: 6650 Arlington Blvd., Falls Church, VA 22042 (Formerly Quality Inn Governor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Falls Church
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Falls Church
#1 Best Value Hotel in Falls Church
#4 Family Hotel in Falls Church
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Governor House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Traditional Style 1959 American Inn located in the shadow of Our Nation’s Capital located just minutes from D.C. in Falls Church, Va. inside the Capital Beltway. Full Service Inn with three buildings and exterior corridors featuring Seasonal pool, Free Wi-Fi, Complimentary Breakfast, in addition to Bentley's Falls Church Diner - a 30 year old local tradition! Our property offers a great location and value with the service you can expect from a locally owned and independently operated business. We wish to stress, we aren't Fancy, justa simple little Inn where our amenities are Value, Location, Service and a smile.Shuttle Service to East Falls Church Metro now available - Mon-Fri 7am to 11am, Sat/Sun 8am to noon. Evenings 5pm to 9pm -we run by on the hour in the evenings but please call upon arrival, Mornings are first come first serve. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Governor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor House Hotel Falls Church
Quality Inn Falls Church

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governor House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.