We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read the hotel overview first” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Governor House Inn

Save Saved
You added Governor House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Governor House Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6650 Arlington Blvd., Falls Church, VA 22042 (Formerly Quality Inn Governor)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 hotels in Falls Church
Lowell
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Read the hotel overview first”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights and loved it.......it's exactly as the hotel-provided overview reads.
We found it to be a clean, comfortable, well-ventilated room....and 3x the size of the previous night's stay at Motel 6. If you are looking for just that along with a great shower and breakfast included all so you can get out to see the D.C. sights, it's perfect!!!! The life guard-manned pool was a bonus.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    26
    7
    7
    4
See reviews for
37
12
6
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This place is only good if you're just passing by to sleep. It's a little towns motel type. They leave the door open until you get in the room. It was July when we came and it was super HOT.
So, the AC was not ON when we get in our room. We had to turn it ON. The room smells. Definitely need some major renovations. Staff are friendly though.
Breakfast was not that great.

Room Tip: FREE WIFI but its very poor connection from the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Two of us stayed for four nights and took the Metro into DC each day in mid-May. I was apprehensive about staying at GHI after reading some of the reviews, but decided to gamble for the great 24-hour sale price. I was always pleased with the helpfulness of the staff. The room was quiet, clean, and in pretty good shape. Some things were a little outdated, but tolerable. Overall things were great.

Issues we had included:
• When we checked in, we did not have the refrigerator we were supposed to have. We had one in our room by the end of the day.
• We did have weird issues with the safe (battery and door hinge failed), which prevented us from getting into the safe that night. There was no one on-site who could troubleshoot the safe problem. It was dealt with the next morning, but we missed our scheduled morning tour due to the delay.

I could not believe all we got for the price. GHI provides multiple amenities including:
• free parking (right next to our room)
• free shuttle to the Metro
• free wi-fi (was slow and sometimes had trouble getting it to work at all)
• free continental breakfast (was much better than we expected with a couple of hot items each morning) A waffle-maker would have made it perfect!
• swimming pool (we did not use it)
• free safe, and
• free refrigerator.

The shuttle service could use an organizational overhaul. There was a time we saw it leave out of the Metro parking lot, but had no way to catch it. If there was a means of communication among the staff, they could have easily pulled back in to get us. So we had an hour wait for them to return. Another time the clerk forgot to tell the driver we were waiting, so we had another long wait. Maybe having guests call when they get on the Metro (with their entry location) would have helped for the hotel to plan pickups better. A schedule and/or better communication among the staff would help this run much more efficiently.

Other observations/suggestions:
• We would have liked an exercise room, which GHI does not have.
• There were many times when the wait at the front desk was lengthy as there was usually just one staff person there.
• The front desk staff talked very loud so everyone in the lobby could hear everyone’s situation. More discreet conversations on the phone and at the front desk by staff would be good. I knew everyone’s problems checking in and everyone knew mine, which is not really good for business. However, if you are a people-watcher, it does provide entertainment.
• The water fountain off of the lobby did not work.
• I used their business center to print a ticket from the computer, which worked well.
• Jesse was very helpful and knew the Metro routes to best advise where we needed to get off.
• The bricks in the steps outside of our room and going to breakfast were dangerously loose in multiple places. Those need to be fixed before someone is seriously hurt.

We would definitely return if ever back in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was very clean. The staff was very friendly and courteous.Shuttle service was great, very close to metro.Pool was very nice with a lifeguard on duty. If your looking for a motel thats clean,family friendly, affordable, this one can't be beat with all that it offers for the price. We want to go back to D.C. in the near future. This is the motel we will go back to.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantu, Italy
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's a good motel in a good location in order to visit the Capital!
Close to the Hotel there are different kind of restaurant or fast food helping to enjoy the experience of eating the real american taste!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everybody at Governor House Inn was exceptional at giving hospitality and friendliness. On the very first morning, Jesse gave us very good advice on which stop to get off of the metro to see what we were interested in seeing in DC. Steve, the shuttle driver was courteous and a very safe driver. Astha (at the front desk) impressed me the very last night of our stay - she addressed me by name (I've never had that happen at any other place we stayed.). The breakfast was very good each day and the attendant during breakfast was top notch! We enjoyed watching soccer with Gabriella in the lobby. All in all, everybody here made this stay pleasant and I would highly recommend. The hotel is an older hotel but rooms were CLEAN and all the staff went out of their way. GREAT PLACE FOR THE VALUE!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms were clean, and the staff was very courteous and helpful. The location is fantastic based on the short drive to the Metro station. They offer a shuttle but metro is only 1 mile away. There are several nice restaurants within a mile radius, but very few fast food restaurants are available. There is a Baskin Robbins a short walk away, and that was a great way to end a long day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Governor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor House Inn

Address: 6650 Arlington Blvd., Falls Church, VA 22042 (Formerly Quality Inn Governor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Falls Church
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Falls Church
#3 Family Hotel in Falls Church
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Governor House Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Traditional Style 1959 American Inn located in the shadow of Our Nation’s Capital located just minutes from D.C. in Falls Church, Va. inside the Capital Beltway. Full Service Inn with three buildings and exterior corridors featuring Seasonal pool, Free Wi-Fi, Complimentary Breakfast, in addition to Bentley's Falls Church Diner - a 30 year old local tradition! Our property offers a great location and value with the service you can expect from a locally owned and independently operated business. We wish to stress, we aren't Fancy, justa simple little Inn where our amenities are Value, Location, Service and a smile.Shuttle Service to East Falls Church Metro now available - Mon-Fri 7am to 11am, Sat/Sun 8am to noon. Evenings 5pm to 9pm -we run by on the hour in the evenings but please call upon arrival, Mornings are first come first serve. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Governor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor House Hotel Falls Church
Quality Inn Falls Church

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governor House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.