We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury from the good old days!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Governor House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Governor House Inn to your Saves list
Governor House Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6650 Arlington Blvd., Falls Church, VA 22042 (Formerly Quality Inn Governor)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Home 4 the Holidays Rate
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Falls Church
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nebo, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Luxury from the good old days!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We only stayed one night, but the experience could not have been better. The king size bed was wonderful, the room was very clean, the staff was very friendly and efficient, and Dave, the owner, could not have been more gracious. Would definitely stay there any time we're in the area. Thank you so much!! John and Suzette

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
John and Suzette,
Thank you for staying with us and sincerely appreciate your taking the time to share your experience!!!! I'm glad you found us and look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    31
    11
    10
    4
See reviews for
40
17
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Maine, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I can't say enough about how great the staff was at this hotel. They were very friendly and paid attention to our every need. We even met the owner, who went out of his way to accommodate us. He even invited us to a meal with him at a great restaurant which is on the premises. The location from DC is great and the rooms were great even at the low rate. The next time in DC I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Conrad,
Thank you for staying with us and especially for taking the time to share your experience. I truly wish I could find time to invite every guest to join me for a meal - when here everyone is family to us and it gets challenging when we are as busy as we've become. I sometimes wish the Inn was smaller as I worry often about insuring everyone is treated well and leaves happy, which become difficult on the busier days. Lots of long hours involved in this for my entire team and review like this make it all so worthwhile - Thank you again for sharing and we look forward to seeing you next time out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights recently. Okay, the hotel is old, however the rooms are good sized and clean. They have a shuttle service to take you to the metro. Dave, the new owner is great! He was on site daily and taking care of any problems that arose. The rest of the staff was also pleasant and helpful. The price is very reasonable. We had breakfast at Bentley's which is on the property. Also, they offer a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for such a spot on and honest review! My apologies on delayed responses but the number of folks taking the time to comment has simply overwhelmed me and I can't thank each and everyone enough! Each of these reviews truly helps the next guest in determining their destination and hopefully allows those that want a great value in a friendly setting find us with out mistaking us for something other than a 2 star Family Inn From the 50's. Reviews such as these are great assist ........no robes or fancy atriums or waterfalls here, but everything one needs with the family feel you deserve when visiting (And we don't have to charge you extra for an atrium or a cookie to send it back to some franchise headquarters in tim buk to). Thank you So Much for this review!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuarts Draft, Virginia, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

On a recent business trip to Falls Church I had a unpleasant experience at another motel and went looking for another place to stay. By luck I was traveling west on route 50 and the Governors House Inn was on the right so I stopped to inquire. The GHI is locally owned and Dave, the owner, was in the lobby and hearing my story he took me on a tour of the facilities. Upon seeing the rooms I did not have to visit any other motels. I was treated with exceptional service from all of the staff. The room I stayed in was very spacious and clean and the TV/Cable were excellent. I slept very well in the comfortable bed and had an excellent breakfast at Bentley's Restaurant which is a part of the complex. I cannot wait to return and spend more time at the Governor's House Inn. I highly recommend this to anyone who is visiting the area looking for an excellent place to stay without paying the high cost of name brand motels. Thanks Dave and staff for making the remainder of my stay enjoyable.
Harvey

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Harvey,
Thank you for the kind words and taking the time to share!
I'm glad we were able to turn the trip around for you and that you found us....I have to figure a way to get the folks heading East over our way but everyone of these posts helps.
Look forward to seeing you again next trip and again thank you for sharing the experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at the Governor House Inn whilst visiting Washington DC. We found the room clean, spacious and comfortable with everything one would need. There was a shuttle to and from the metro which was great. The thing that made the hotel was its exceptional customer service and the fact that the staff would go out of their way to help you in any way. The one thing that let this hotel down though was the breakfast. It was served in a shabby room and was very minimal. There was nothing healthy on offer and even the yoghurts were brightly coloured and artificial. I would recommend this hotel on its great customer service but if you are after a good breakfast try elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Ellie,
Thank you for taking the time to provide such a nice and honest review. I'm always pleased to see the feedback for the team and share each of these with all of them. The breakfast room still pains me also, I'm about four weeks away on the carpeting which is the last step now that vinyl is complete. She has been a tad bit of project restoring her, but the reviews such as these and the folks we meet have made bringing an older country Inn now surrounded by the city so much fun.

Thank you for staying with us and sharing!
Hopefully we'll see you next time your our side of the oceans again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We recieved personal attention from the moment we arrived. All our needs were met. It is clear that a lot of attention and effort has gone into making this an inn you would be very glad to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
THANKYOU!!!!!!!!!!!!
Our goal with everyone is not to impress them with fancy exteriors, atriums, and gadgets etc -but to simply make everyone feel like they are guests in our home. With all the team it's constantly "Treat everyone as if they are a distant cousin or Aunt/Uncle and think like its your family visiting". This review makes our day - thank you so much for taking the time to post.

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed at the Governor House Inn with my sister in June of this year. Due to tour company changing dates of our planned tour we needed to stay an additional night. The Owner Dave Crance could not have been more helpful, he booked the additional night in same room for the same cost of original booking price. Then to our surprise whilst eating in a restaurant next to the hotel he came in unbeknown to us & paid our check. When we asked for the check we were told it was already paid by the hotel owner. We thanked him the following day, he said that as our tour plans had caused us some difficulties he thought it would be a nice surprise. I have travelled extensively & normally when i have had to book an additional night at short notice i have been charged the full rate. So not only did he not take advantage of our situation his generosity lifted our spirits. The room we stayed in was clean & comfortable & was serviced daily. Staff on reception were friendly & helpful each time we had a query regarding access to the internet, places of interest & bus timetables they had if covered. If your seeking a clean comfortable quiet hotel with great customer service & value for money you would do well to give this one ago. if in the future I get back to this area i will definitely be staying at Governor House Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Kathy,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, more importantly I'm glad we were able lift your spirits. I spend a lot of time on restoring the Inn and the back end work of managing an independent, but at least instead of spending my days responding to franchises, brands, banks I get to stroll about and met so many nice people and try to insure they have a great experience. I often go home worried about who I haven't met who is staying with us.

I say it time and again -but for the entire team (and it is my team more than me) these posts make every minute so worth while.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Governor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor House Inn

Address: 6650 Arlington Blvd., Falls Church, VA 22042 (Formerly Quality Inn Governor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Falls Church
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Falls Church
#1 Best Value Hotel in Falls Church
#4 Family Hotel in Falls Church
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Governor House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Traditional Style 1959 American Inn located in the shadow of Our Nation’s Capital located just minutes from D.C. in Falls Church, Va. inside the Capital Beltway. Full Service Inn with three buildings and exterior corridors featuring Seasonal pool, Free Wi-Fi, Complimentary Breakfast, in addition to Bentley's Falls Church Diner - a 30 year old local tradition! Our property offers a great location and value with the service you can expect from a locally owned and independently operated business. We wish to stress, we aren't Fancy, justa simple little Inn where our amenities are Value, Location, Service and a smile.Shuttle Service to East Falls Church Metro now available - Mon-Fri 7am to 11am, Sat/Sun 8am to noon. Evenings 5pm to 9pm -we run by on the hour in the evenings but please call upon arrival, Mornings are first come first serve. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Governor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor House Hotel Falls Church
Quality Inn Falls Church

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governor House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.