We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Inn in Northern Virginia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Governor House Inn

Best prices from these 6 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Governor House Inn to your Saves list
Governor House Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6650 Arlington Blvd., Falls Church, VA 22042 (Formerly Quality Inn Governor)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Metro Shuttle Stay 3
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Falls Church
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Inn in Northern Virginia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is the best INN in Northern Virginia. Dave is the best host and makes you feel like a family member instead of a guest. The staff was very friendly and attentive to our needs. For added safety there is a lifeguard on duty at the pool, something you don't find at many hotels . Rooms were comfy with microwave, refrigerator and large tv. Next door is Bently's restaurant with great food and friendly staff. The Inn and restaurant are owned by the same Inn keeper and makes everyone feel at home. Bently's has that northern Virginia decor and makes you feel very comfortable while eating breakfast ; which is great. Overall loved my experience here. Good job Dave!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post and share your experiences!
We especially appreciate your referring to us as not just an Inn but the Best Inn!
We are striving to reestablish the Local Inn concept here in side the Beltway and comments such as yours go along way in assisting us, we only have our guests to support us not some corporate office faraway in some other city or country marketing the property.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share -

Regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    28
    8
    8
    4
See reviews for
39
14
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alamo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I have never written a review of a hotel/ motel/ inn before but felt especially compelled to do so after our stay at the Governor House Inn. The owner/ manager Dave was like no other, almost making us feel as though we were the only people staying at the hotel (which we weren't). From the minute we checked in, he went above and beyond what I would expect from any owner. I traveled with my parents (senior citizens) and my kids and he made sure to address even the smallest issues with my parents and helped everything on the DC portion of our vacation click. He helped map out our itinerary, drove us to the metro in the morning AND gave us his cell in order to pick us up if necessary. We actually did call him as we had a hard time finding a taxi and he was there to pick us up within minutes....again- he went way above and beyond. I was absolutely blown away by his dedication and professionalism. It is obvious that he puts 110% effort into this property and the staff reflects that as well. I was very, very impressed and felt strongly that this property receive the review it deserved based on our experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post and share such nice compliments!!!!
The entire team trys their best - were tweaking the shuttle service now and it was an excellent opportunity with several guests to utilize it last week. (thanks to all our live training aids!)

I can't say enough in the way of thanks to you and all our guests posting reviews through out the web! Everyone has been so kind and appreciative of our efforts and that means so much.
I almost worry with the rankings that folks will loose sight of the fact that we are and remain a little owner operator Inn.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay for a reasonable price. New owner, Dave , is making many upgrades, including new tvs, refrigerators and microwaves in rooms and a small business center off the lobby. Staff is always pleasant and helpful and I feel welcome every time I stay. Even though I live in the area, when I want to take a break and watch cable, I check in here for a fe days to relax. It's convenient to attractions in DC and for those who stiil smoke, the bonus is, they still have smoking rooms available. There's a good restaurant next door but there is lso free breakfast every day and free wifi. AAA discount and an outdoor pool (open in season) make this all a great deal. Highly recommend.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Caroline,
Thank you for taking the time to share. We sincerely appreciate it along with your giving us the opportunity to enjoy your company on a regular basis it sounds!

We are excited about the TV's and Refrigerators along with the other improvements - I haven't mentioned them in marketing yet as were installing a building a quarter - but think I'll have to maybe set up different room types with so many mentioning the changes.

It is sincerely good to have people like you and the others stay with us and take the time to notice and compliment on all our efforts!
Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A friend and I left one area motel out of disappointment to fall into the welcoming arms of those involved with the Governor House Inn.
The owner/operator and staff were exceptional.
The rooms are clean and comfortable.
Proximity to area attractions: The Mall, MLB, etc is quite manageable.
We were guests for four nights and never disappointed.
Make no mistake, this is not the Hyatt but the value is more than the dollar charged.
Great breakfast and service next door.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
JG,
""Make no mistake, this is not the Hyatt but the value is more than the dollar charged.""

THANK YOU for this post and for taking the time to share!
You hit it on the nose with our hotel and I think the most honest rating overall. I worry with the ratings here and actually everywhere that people will mistake us for some big brand box with all the glitz vs. a little Inn at a great value with a focus on service. Reviews such as this help considerably and mean a lot to us all.

I appreciate you choosing our property this visit and hope to meet you on your next trip down south.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Absolutely a wonderful stay with no worries. I was well taken care of by all of the staff and did not want for anything during my stay. Great food and service at Bently's (especially the breakfast) as well. The staff was very helpful with recommendations on food, the surrounding area (yay kinkos!) and transportation.

Dave, you were wonderful and I will be staying with you each and every time I'm in DC. The plans you have for the property and your commitment to each guest will make you a success for years to come! Thank you for all of your help as I was in need of it on numerous occasions. Your staff is diligent and professional and you should be proud.

The local bus service leaves a bit to be desired, however, two local cab companies were expedient in getting me to and from either Falls Church Metro stations and the rides were always $8 or less. If Dave is able to accomplish his local transportation goals, this will no longer be any issue for his guests.

Thank you all again and keep up the great work!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Rodney,
Thank you for the absolutely great review!
We look forward to seeing you next trip out. I appreciate your mentioning all the staff as our team truly gives it their best each and everyday. We don't always get things right, but we go out of our way for everyone to insure we satisfy our guests. I'm truly nothing with out my team and share each of these reviews with them prior to posting responses - It is great for them to be appreciated.

Thank you again sir!
I think we might have the transportation solved we did get the shuttle service launched July fourth evening 11 days ahead of plan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stopped here after a long stressful day and the staff were extremely courteous and hospitable . The room was very clean and comfortable and we will stay again if we are ever down that way. We also had breakfast at Bently's and the service there too was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Nikolas -
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience, we are still getting much together having just taken over the property in April and I cant begin to thank you and everyone enough for taking the time to comment on our staff here.
It means a lot to us after a long day to see these reviews, we've really focused on a staff that genuinely likes people and the opportunity to help and serve guests, were still getting a lot of training done on technical aspects and thankfully the work on catching up the INN is almost complete -but these comments make all of it so rewarding!
We look for ward to seeing you the next time you head down our way!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Nice and Clean hotel. For the price we paid was reasonable. It is cheaper than most in the area. Great location. Easy to get access to metro bus. Staffs were very friendly. Lobby was very nice. Breakfast was impressive. Parking was ample.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, as an independent inn we depend on word of mouth and our guests for success. We sincerely appreciate your taking the time to post and the kind words regarding the Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Governor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor House Inn

Address: 6650 Arlington Blvd., Falls Church, VA 22042 (Formerly Quality Inn Governor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Falls Church
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Falls Church
#3 Family Hotel in Falls Church
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Governor House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Traditional Style 1959 American Inn located in the shadow of Our Nation’s Capital located just minutes from D.C. in Falls Church, Va. inside the Capital Beltway. Full Service Inn with three buildings and exterior corridors featuring Seasonal pool, Free Wi-Fi, Complimentary Breakfast, in addition to Bentley's Falls Church Diner - a 30 year old local tradition! Our property offers a great location and value with the service you can expect from a locally owned and independently operated business. We wish to stress, we aren't Fancy, justa simple little Inn where our amenities are Value, Location, Service and a smile.Shuttle Service to East Falls Church Metro now available - Mon-Fri 7am to 11am, Sat/Sun 8am to noon. Evenings 5pm to 9pm -we run by on the hour in the evenings but please call upon arrival, Mornings are first come first serve. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Governor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor House Hotel Falls Church
Quality Inn Falls Church

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governor House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.