We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Express Hotel w/ Dine-In or Carryout Cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2722 Gallows Rd, Falls Church, VA 22180   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Falls Church
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Business Express Hotel w/ Dine-In or Carryout Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I ended up here on a last-minute business trip to Tysons Corner, where the TC Courtyard was already sold out. It's only about 5 miles away from Tysons Corner, so with a car I wasn't too inconvenienced. I was surprised - this is the first Courtyard Marriott stay where there was actually a restaurant. I arrived at 9:30 p.m., and not having eaten since breakfast, was really happy to learn that their cafe was still open (until 10:00 p.m.). They don't have room service, but you can call in your order then pick up to take to your room. The accommodations were comfortable - nicely updated contemporary decor with a large flat-screen tv. The only negative is that there was an adjoining room door which made for paper-thin walls. Could hear the guy next door snoring and coughing throughout the night. I would definitely recommend you ask for a room that does not have an adjoining room to avoid this problem. Otherwise, place was really clean, staff were all very nice, and the food at the cafe was actually excellent! Certainly a place that welcomes business travelers.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room without an adjoining room - avoid the sleep-disturbing noise from your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
It's great to hear you enjoyed the Bistro while you were here. I am surprised to hear you have not seen this at other Courtyards, almost all Courtyards have rolled out this new dining concept. I'm sorry to hear that you could hear your neighbor. We will check to doors to make sure they are closing properly so you won't hear the neighbors. Thank you again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    124
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
118
80
26
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Ga
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a week on business. King Room was spacious. Bed was not horrible but not wire as comfy As I like. Whole hotel was clean and modern. Bistro was prompt, food was good even the burger. They even had Starbucks coffee and several booths with tvs. Nice area outside of your room to relax. Duncan donuts and a couple if restaurants are right next door. Plus free parking garage under the hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I could not find anything negative to say about this Hotel. The easy walk to the metro was the selling point for us but there is so much more. The room was clean and comfortable, The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. We were extremely pleased by the price. The surrounding area was so nice to walk around and we found some very nice restaurants to enjoy a meal. Thank you to the management and staff, you will be seeing us again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for the outstanding review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The location was perfect for our travel plan, because we visited Monticello for one day and Washington DC (National Zoo and Smithsonian) for two days. The subway station Dunn Loring-Merrifield (orange line) is only one block away from the hotel. Unfortunately when we stayed, the subway was closed on weekends for construction and we had to use the free shuttle bus to Ballston-MU station. So usually it takes 20-25 minutes to Metro Center in Washington DC, but it took almost one hour.
The hotel room was clean, spacious and modern, nice interior design. We can park in the basement garage for parking with hotel key card. The bed was comfortable. Wi-Fi worked well and there is a small refrigerator (no freezer). There is a coffee maker, but no tea bags. It was very quiet except for the bathroom fixtures. The bed was very comfortable.
We didn’t eat at the hotel, instead we brought in food from the nearby Asian Super Market “H-Mart”.
We booked through Hotels.com, and the rate was very reasonable for this type of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Right next to the metro, you can't beat this location. It's always clean, the staff are friendly and parking is ample. The price of less than $100 a night for this hotel is the cherry on top for a great stay.

Clean rooms are always a plus. Fitness center could be better.

Located next to the Halstead Square shopping area, there are places to eat within walking distance as is a Dunkin Donuts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompton Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
196 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed at this Mariott while visiting some friends in Vienna, VA. It was in a nice location, very close to the up-and-coming Vienna area. Vienna was very nice, lots of cute restaurants and shops, and everything was in walking distance of the Mariott.

The Mariott was definitely a business set up. The room was nice and clean, a comfortable bed, the typical business set up. The lobby was nice, loved the touch screen they had there, to look up news, find restaurants, etc. It was a great addition. The restaurant there had very infrequent hours, and often was totally shut down. If you weren’t down very early, you couldn’t get breakfast there. I would have preferred if they had normal restaurant hours.

The advertised a pool and hot tub, but it was indoors, and was very small, dark, and I think they’d be better off to just not have a pool. The hot tub was filled with cement. We didn’t go to swim, but we did go for the afternoon for a break, and didn’t stay very long.

Overall, it was the type of Mariott business style I am used to, although I didn’t go for business, I knew what to expect, and I wasn’t disappointed. The only negatives were the restaurant hours and the pool, but I’d definitely stay again, my next time in the Vienna area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I picked this place because it is located right across the street from a DC metro station. The hotel was clean and pleasant. The staff were helpful. I was not able to take advantage of the pool and exercise room. My room was very quiet. No free breakfast, not even coffee in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falls Church
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Falls Church
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Falls Church
Hilton Garden Inn Falls Church
#3 of 17 in Falls Church
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt House Falls Church
Hyatt House Falls Church
#1 of 17 in Falls Church
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Falls Church Inn
BEST WESTERN Falls Church Inn
#9 of 17 in Falls Church
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax

Address: 2722 Gallows Rd, Falls Church, VA 22180
Location: United States > Virginia > Falls Church
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Falls Church
#3 Family Hotel in Falls Church
#4 Business Hotel in Falls Church
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax Hotel Vienna
Courtyard Dunn Loring Fairfax
Courtyard Hotel Vienna
Courtyard Vienna
Vienna Marriott
Vienna Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.