We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location for Metro user” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2722 Gallows Rd, Falls Church, VA 22180   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Falls Church
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Location for Metro user”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The location was perfect for our travel plan, because we visited Monticello for one day and Washington DC (National Zoo and Smithsonian) for two days. The subway station Dunn Loring-Merrifield (orange line) is only one block away from the hotel. Unfortunately when we stayed, the subway was closed on weekends for construction and we had to use the free shuttle bus to Ballston-MU station. So usually it takes 20-25 minutes to Metro Center in Washington DC, but it took almost one hour.
The hotel room was clean, spacious and modern, nice interior design. We can park in the basement garage for parking with hotel key card. The bed was comfortable. Wi-Fi worked well and there is a small refrigerator (no freezer). There is a coffee maker, but no tea bags. It was very quiet except for the bathroom fixtures. The bed was very comfortable.
We didn’t eat at the hotel, instead we brought in food from the nearby Asian Super Market “H-Mart”.
We booked through Hotels.com, and the rate was very reasonable for this type of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    123
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
116
79
26
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Right next to the metro, you can't beat this location. It's always clean, the staff are friendly and parking is ample. The price of less than $100 a night for this hotel is the cherry on top for a great stay.

Clean rooms are always a plus. Fitness center could be better.

Located next to the Halstead Square shopping area, there are places to eat within walking distance as is a Dunkin Donuts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompton Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
183 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed at this Mariott while visiting some friends in Vienna, VA. It was in a nice location, very close to the up-and-coming Vienna area. Vienna was very nice, lots of cute restaurants and shops, and everything was in walking distance of the Mariott.

The Mariott was definitely a business set up. The room was nice and clean, a comfortable bed, the typical business set up. The lobby was nice, loved the touch screen they had there, to look up news, find restaurants, etc. It was a great addition. The restaurant there had very infrequent hours, and often was totally shut down. If you weren’t down very early, you couldn’t get breakfast there. I would have preferred if they had normal restaurant hours.

The advertised a pool and hot tub, but it was indoors, and was very small, dark, and I think they’d be better off to just not have a pool. The hot tub was filled with cement. We didn’t go to swim, but we did go for the afternoon for a break, and didn’t stay very long.

Overall, it was the type of Mariott business style I am used to, although I didn’t go for business, I knew what to expect, and I wasn’t disappointed. The only negatives were the restaurant hours and the pool, but I’d definitely stay again, my next time in the Vienna area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I picked this place because it is located right across the street from a DC metro station. The hotel was clean and pleasant. The staff were helpful. I was not able to take advantage of the pool and exercise room. My room was very quiet. No free breakfast, not even coffee in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
211 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Before we booked this hotel, we did the necessary research to determine what hotels were near the DC Metro stations. We used trip advisor to review the various hotels and opted for this hotel.
It did not disappoint. The location was one block from the Metro station, plenty of free parking,
clean, comfortable, and quiet rooms. The weekend prices were very reasonable--a great value. Would definitely stay here again if in the DC area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for the great review. It is nice to see you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again. Hopefully you were able to try out our Bistro just off the lobby for breakfast or a light dinner and drinks in the evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel is a great option for people visiting DC, the metro station is only a five minute walk away. We stayed here for 3 nights and the rooms were lovely and clean. The lobby was nice and the free underground parking was great. The staff did their job well but I didn't feel very welcomed as they felt like just going through their routines.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments about the hotel and staff. I appreciate the good and the bad and we will certainly address the staff issues you experienced. We hope to see you again when you come back to Fairfax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was our second stay at the Courtyard Dunn Loring. We were happy that the service and accomodations were even better than our first visit about a year ago. The hotel is about 1 block from a Metro station and 2 blocks from stores and restaurants.
The hotel is clean, employees are helpful and friendly and the Bistro serves an excellent breakfast. The room is not huge, but certainly big enough for two people to comfortably dress and sleep in. The furnishings appear new and tasteful.
I think that this may be one of my favorite hotels for either business or pleasure. Really happy to recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the Metro side. There is lots of construction going on over there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falls Church
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Falls Church
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Falls Church
Hilton Garden Inn Falls Church
#3 of 17 in Falls Church
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt House Falls Church
Hyatt House Falls Church
#1 of 17 in Falls Church
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Falls Church Inn
BEST WESTERN Falls Church Inn
#10 of 17 in Falls Church
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax

Address: 2722 Gallows Rd, Falls Church, VA 22180
Location: United States > Virginia > Falls Church
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Falls Church
#3 Business Hotel in Falls Church
#3 Family Hotel in Falls Church
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax Hotel Vienna
Courtyard Dunn Loring Fairfax
Courtyard Hotel Vienna
Courtyard Vienna
Vienna Marriott
Vienna Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.