We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2722 Gallows Rd, Falls Church, VA 22180   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Falls Church
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
211 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great Location & Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Before we booked this hotel, we did the necessary research to determine what hotels were near the DC Metro stations. We used trip advisor to review the various hotels and opted for this hotel.
It did not disappoint. The location was one block from the Metro station, plenty of free parking,
clean, comfortable, and quiet rooms. The weekend prices were very reasonable--a great value. Would definitely stay here again if in the DC area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for the great review. It is nice to see you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again. Hopefully you were able to try out our Bistro just off the lobby for breakfast or a light dinner and drinks in the evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    123
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
116
79
26
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel is a great option for people visiting DC, the metro station is only a five minute walk away. We stayed here for 3 nights and the rooms were lovely and clean. The lobby was nice and the free underground parking was great. The staff did their job well but I didn't feel very welcomed as they felt like just going through their routines.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments about the hotel and staff. I appreciate the good and the bad and we will certainly address the staff issues you experienced. We hope to see you again when you come back to Fairfax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was our second stay at the Courtyard Dunn Loring. We were happy that the service and accomodations were even better than our first visit about a year ago. The hotel is about 1 block from a Metro station and 2 blocks from stores and restaurants.
The hotel is clean, employees are helpful and friendly and the Bistro serves an excellent breakfast. The room is not huge, but certainly big enough for two people to comfortably dress and sleep in. The furnishings appear new and tasteful.
I think that this may be one of my favorite hotels for either business or pleasure. Really happy to recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the Metro side. There is lots of construction going on over there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My fiancee took a long weekend to the DC area since we had never been. If we are ever traveling to a big city, we prefer to stay a little bit outside of the town to avoid paying the high city prices for parking, food, lodging, etc. Of course since we are staying outside of town we look to find somewhere that is close to public transportation to make it easy for us to get in and out of the city. As others have said this hotel is right next door to the Dunn Loring metro station that takes you right into DC.

As for the hotel itself, we were in a King suite on the top floor and it was everything that we could have asked for. VERY well updated room and a comfortable bed as well. WiFi was very fast.

The only thing I could have asked for to make the trip better would have been a free breakfast included in the rate. They have a bistro on site that you can either pay extra per night to use, or you can use it as a buffet and pay for what you purchase.

All in all, if we make it back to DC we will absolutely stay here again. We booked about two months out and got the amazing rate of $71 a night. Make sure if you know you're going to be making a trip to book this place early!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here for a quick overnight after a Nats game. The hotel is one block from the Metro. We avoided some DC traffic by staying at this hotel, which is at the next-to last stop on the orange line of the Metro. Hotel is a couple of miles off I-495 coming up from VA. Getting to the ballpark is about a 35 minute ride with a change to the green line at L'Enfant. Parking is free. The weekend rate was $78.

This is a very nice Courtyard, well designed. I particularly liked the design of the bathroom, which had a seat built into the back of the shower, and a wide sink counter that had room to accommodate both a cosmetics bag and a shaving kit. Bed was comfy. Room would work well for a business stay.

Staff was uniformly very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast does NOT come with room, but the onsite bistro offered a good reasonably priced breakfast (~$10). Also, there is a small canteen in the lobby. We split a pint of Eddy's ice cream ($6).

Negatives: fan in room made a LOT of noise, No magnifying mirror in bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville,TN
Level Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed for one night on a return trip from NJ/NYC to Knoxville, TN visiting my son in Falls Church. Nice place. Close to Metro station. New restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. We usually stay at Courtyard Fair Oaks but wanted to try this location. Much newer and up to date. NOTE: I used a "free" night certificate so the cost was not an issue. Has a gated parking garage with an elevator direct to floors.

Room Tip: Walk over to the Lost Dog Cafe for a cold one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
It's great to hear you were able to try out some of the great new restaurants surrounding the hotel. Next time you are visiting try out Blackfinn Ameripub right next to the hotel as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, North Carolina
Level Contributor
251 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you are going to No. Va. to see the sights in Washington DC, this is your hotel. It is a one block walking distance to the metro.
Restaurants are an easy drive away. There is an Asian market nearby if you need to pick up snacks, beer, wine etc.
The rooms are nice. Housekeeping does a fine job..There is free parking for your car. They have a nice outside sitting area.
The only draw back was that there is no hot tub. There used to be one, but it has been removed. There is a lifeguard.

Room Tip: We usually ask for the top floor, just to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falls Church
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Falls Church
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Falls Church
Hilton Garden Inn Falls Church
#3 of 17 in Falls Church
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt House Falls Church
Hyatt House Falls Church
#1 of 17 in Falls Church
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Falls Church Inn
BEST WESTERN Falls Church Inn
#10 of 17 in Falls Church
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax

Address: 2722 Gallows Rd, Falls Church, VA 22180
Location: United States > Virginia > Falls Church
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Falls Church
#3 Business Hotel in Falls Church
#3 Family Hotel in Falls Church
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax Hotel Vienna
Courtyard Dunn Loring Fairfax
Courtyard Hotel Vienna
Courtyard Vienna
Vienna Marriott
Vienna Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.