We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, what a surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Diner

Silver Diner
8150 Porter Rd, Falls Church, VA 22042
(703) 204-0812
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 311 Restaurants in Falls Church
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: At Silver Diner, we're much more than a diner. Whether you choose a classic dish or a vegetarian, vegan, or gluten-free option, Executive Chef Ype Von Hengst has created a menu of customizable, healthier choices that all share one thing: the highest quality, all-natural ingredients available.Silver Diner is proud to be a key part of the local community, nurturing it's growth, providing food for healthier lifestyles, and supporting local schools and non-profits. With a menu that features more than 15 local farms that support sustainable agriculture, Chef Ype creates seasonal dishes using the freshest ingredients available within our local region.
Wilkesboro, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wow, what a surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Interesting menu of all local (within a couple hundred miles) foods. Never would have thought that we'd find Farm to Table in a diner knock-off. We had breakfast a couple days and wish we'd had more time in the area to try some of the dinner items on the menu.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    38
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Good food, bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This restaurant is a good place to eat and stays pretty busy. Good range of menu items from breakfast items to full dinners. The reason I am giving it only two stars is the service. Service was average through the meal and then we made the mistake of ordering dessert. We asked for menus and literally our waitress forgot about us. I saw her chatting with another waiter about 10 minutes and then she disappeared. Then she comes back and asks if we still want dessert with a quick apology and wait 10 more minutes and then the dessert arrives a TOTAL of 30 minutes of waiting. I filled out the evaluation card but I really think she should have offered the dessert free. I hope their manager reads this and responds. Other than that the place was fine the food was good and prices were good although the dessert prices were high..

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“YUMMY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Loved the idea of the organic, local food and the prices were not horrible, considering the quality and presentation. It says diner but the food says 4 star.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvard, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Clean, good food, not too expensive. Pancakes were a little too "cakey" for my tastes, but everything else was first-rate.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Suprisingly healthy menu for casual, family dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Surprisingly good, healthy food. Not a typical diner! They pride themselves on buying locally whenever possible, and put together some very delicious and creative dishes. At the same time, the atmosphere is of a 50's diner, including working jukeboxes at the tables. Fun and worthwhile!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Diner also viewed

 

Been to Silver Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.