We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sweetwater Tavern

Sweetwater Tavern
3066 Gatehouse Plaza, Falls Church, VA 22042-1028
703 645 8100
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 309 restaurants in Falls Church
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Falls Church, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Consistent good quality and great service. I've been many times and the food is always terrific. They have a good range of american entrees and good selection of beer and wine.

I can personally recommend all of the following...Salmon, crab cakes, salads, pasta and steaks. For steak lovers this is the place to go, the steak is up there with they really expensive steakhouses but at a reasonable price.

Good size portions on their side dishes. The mashed potatoes are perfect comfort food or the if you want to be healthy they make great asparagus, or mushrooms. Last their bread and aussie rolls are warm and yummy.

Only downside is sometimes there a long wait.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    120
    90
    33
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Sweetwater Continues to Deliver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My third visit to Sweetwater Tavern in 2012 was just as pleasant as the first two. The food and beverages are excellent. Service is friendly and attentive. The establishment is welcoming.

My favorite entree, currently at the tavern, is their salmon filet.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Asked too often how our food was”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were asked at least 4 times by our waiter and the head waiter if everything was ok. This interrupted our converstauion and was just overkill. The restaurant is noisy. The ribs and steak are excellent, avoid the jambalya, it is too heavy, mostly pasta.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Always a GREAT experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have been to Sweetwater Tavern more times than I can count--- and it is ALWAYS a great experience. Staff is always very helpful. Food is always excellent.

On our last trip, it was 4 adults, and 1 infant.
3 of us got steaks, and 1 got the Jambalaya.
We all got the lobster bisque (highly recommend).
The waiter/restaurant were willing to "make things" that were not on the menu for the baby.
We asked for plain, pasta--- which they provided with no problem.

Beer selection is always good.

We went early for dinner, around 5-530.
By the time we left at 630-7pm; the place was packed, and lots of people waiting.
They do not take reservations, but you can do call ahead seating.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can I give a 6????”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

This is my new favorite place ever!! The beers are top notch and bountiful. The food, delicious. The service unrivaled. I can't have imagined a better meal and time than I had here with a couple friends and out waiter Turbo. Will definitely return every time I'm back home!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetwater Tavern also viewed

 
Falls Church, VA

Been to Sweetwater Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweetwater Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.