We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food not cooked enough” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Applebee's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Applebee's
127 E Broad St, Falls Church, VA 22046
703-532-5380
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #209 of 301 Restaurants in Falls Church
Restaurant details
Toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Food not cooked enough”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

After a long day touring DC, I ordered take out from this restaurant. I chose the New Orleans steak special and ordered it "medium".
Upon opening the dinner at my hotel, I found the steak to be "rare". Not even medium rare, but so rare that I had no desire to eat it. The onions were not sauteed enough, and were crunchy and it was far too much like eating raw onions. Which they really were.
Had I eaten "in" I would have sent the entire meal back and ordered something different.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    3
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Menu for Weight Watchers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We go to Appleby's at least once a week. It is a friendly restaurant to those who are weight conscious. In that category you may order a steak, chicken, seafood, salad or other choices. We have found the food to be well-prepared and the service has been good for the five years we have been a customer. We also appreciate the 10% discount for the Golden Club members.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great lunch place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

There is a great varity of item on the menu and the price is average but nothing that really stands out. The service was excellent.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Just not good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Chain. Low quality. I have never had a good meal there so I just stopped going.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Watch what you order!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Went with friends to the Falls Church VA Applebees a couple of weeks ago. I have eaten there before and it is not bad. However, my recent experience left me with a bad taste. Like a fool, I ordered a steak (I should know better than to order a steak in any place other than a steak house.) I ordered the 12oz rib eye. My friend ordered a 7oz sirloin. When the steak arrived I swear it was not any bigger than the sirloin. Besides that it was razor thin, and cooked well done (I ordered medium.) I asked the waiter if he thought my steak was bigger...he hummmed and called the manager. The manager came over shortly after... I explained my concern. He said that was the standard 12 oz rib eye.... and was pretty adamant about it...not a very friendly guy at all. I shrugged my shoulders, ate what I could, paid the bill and left. The morale of the story.... don't order a steak at Applebees, especially the 12oz rib eye, and expect to get much more than a thin slice of beef. And don't ask the manager there for anything---he is a customer unfriendly guy.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Applebee's also viewed

 

Been to Applebee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Applebee's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.