We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, and great location too” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt House Falls Church

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt House Falls Church to your Saves list
Hyatt House Falls Church
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8296 Glass Alley, Falls Church, VA 22031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Falls Church
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, and great location too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel was built less than a year ago and everything is new and fresh. We got a one-bedroom suite which is quite nice. Despite the fact that it's only a "Hyatt House" and not a "regular" Hyatt (Hyatt House to Hyatt is like Courtyard to Marriott), it does not feel like a lower-tier hotel at all. It's conveniently located right across the big shopping mall. Breakfast is included, although the breakfast area could be really busy some of the mornings. Easy walk to restaurants with outdoor dining areas in the mall. Pool is a bit small (on the second floor) but there is always a lifeguard on duty. Front desk people are very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    39
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
47
47
10
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have stayed at multiple hotels in the DC/Falls Church area. I have to say, this was our best hotel experience in the area to date. The area it's in is called the "mosaic district" and there are cute little shops you can walk to like, a French bakery next door, a fish store, a sandwich shop and a cute organic grocery -- there's also an Angelika Film Center a block away.

The hotel was designed to fit into the "mosaic district" and, as such, is a unique Hyatt hotel. The hotel is fairly new and opened only a year ago. We stayed here this past weekend on a Saturday night. We arrived a bit early and were accommodated without any issue. TJ at the front desk was so nice and helpful. The hotel staff was friendly and it was a relaxing environment.

We rented a Hospitality Suite and it honestly exceeded our expectations. We paid a fantastic rate (not much more than other area hotels charge for a standard room). The room was a 2 room suite. The living room featured a large leather couch and chairs. The decor was stylish and fresh. There was a very large flat screen TV and a large working station/desk in the corner. There was a small fridge and microwave and the kitchen supplied glasses, plates, bowls, silverware, etc. and there was a sink. The large bedroom boasted a king sized bed and (our favorite part) a very large soaking tub in the corner of the room, surrounded by windows on two sides. The view wasn't the best ever, but it was nice to have all those windows and be able to relax in the tub, while looking outside! The bathroom was also large and had a shower that could probably fit 10 people. The room was clean and the AC was nice and cool on a very hot day.

The outdoor pool is small, but very nice and clean. It's on the 2nd floor, right next to the gym.

Another nice touch that some area hotels lack is that parking is free (in a parking deck across the street) and so is WiFi. As an added bonus, breakfast was included with our room. I'm normally very suspect of free hotel breakfasts, but this was decent. It was a hot breakfast complete with eggs, waffles, sausage, oatmeal, fruit and yogurt, etc. There was even an omelette station where someone made you one to order!

Check out their "borrow program", where you can indicate certain items in a checklist that you would like placed in your room. The list included things like a blender, bigger coffee machine, yoga mat, high chair, crib, various board games and much more.

Overall, we were very satisfied with our experience here and will definitely be returning on our next trip to the DC area.

Room Tip: Splurge and rent one of the suites. The Hospitality Suite has a very large soaking tub surrounded by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coweta, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great area if you have a vehicle to park. Free parking, great breakfast, and only about a mile to hop on the metro ($5 parking/day) to DC. Shopping and dining nearby. Chain restaurants are five to ten minutes away or one can choose pricier meals if wanted. It is within walking distance of a super Target and several healthy cafe style shops. There is a movie theater closely as we'll. The hotel itself is nice. Rooms are nice and lobby has modern decor.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FallsChurch, General Manager at Hyatt House Falls Church, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We appreciate your positive feedback about your recent stay with us. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the amenities and location of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the DC area.

In hospitality,
Mike - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over the 4th of July week. The room was immaculate, staff was great, and the free breakfast was hot and yummy! Hotel is located just a short distance from a metro station so access in and out of D.C. was a piece of cake. Also, the Mosaic District where the hotel is at is cool and convenient! Great shopping! Loved this hotel will definitely be booking Hyatt hotels on our future trips!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FallsChurch, General Manager at Hyatt House Falls Church, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
It is great to read you had an awesome stay at Hyatt house Falls Church! Thank you for choosing us for your holiday get away and we look forward to hosting you again.

In hospitality,
Mike - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the hotel while visiting DC. The hotel and the surrounding Mosaic District are all very new and provided some interesting dining and shopping options. This Hyatt House differed from others at which I have stayed. The room was much smaller than the typical HH, which generally are furnished as small efficiency apartments. The layout here was the standard hotel floor plan with a small microwave and refrigerator. Although very new and nicely decorated, I was a little disappointed at the size of the room.

If you are planning on using the Metro, you should be aware of the following: 1) The "short walk to the Metro" described in the web page is a huge overstatement. It's a 20 minute walk and requires crossing a major intersection. Unlike other HH's, they do not provide a shuttle service, which would have been ideal, especially given the summer heat and afternoon storms. 2). The garage at the Dunn-Loring station is under construction resulting in very limited parking should you decide the drive to the station. The staff at the hotel recommended we drive to the Vienna Station, which is a short 10 minute drive, and turned out to be an excellent suggestion. Better yet, if Metro access is a key to your stay, there is a Courtyard Marriott that is truly a short walk to the station..

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room facing away from the Lee Highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FallsChurch, General Manager at Hyatt House Falls Church, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry to hear your disappointment with the room. It sounds like you were in a guestroom as opposed to one of our studio suites that have the kitchen. I also apologize that the walk to the Metro was not what you thought it would be. Please contact the hotel directly so we make can sure you are in the correct room type with the kitchen for your next stay.

In hospitality,
Mike - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here off and on while our house was being reovated and it is a very nice new hotel. If you are lucky you can get deeply discounted rates on weekends and around holidays. Lots of restaurants and shops to walk to in the area as well as a movie theater.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This hotel is a new, modern design for Hyatt House. We enjoyed the location as you could walk to many restaurants, and shops. The parking was in a garage across from the hotel and it was very convenient - best of all, complimentary. We are platinum Hyatt members, and were not even welcomed as such when we checked in. No upgrade was offered as it usually is for our level. The front desk agent was not professional and should not be up front. He took my husband's credit card, but he did not put it on the reservation. I had used mine to make the reservation and was assured that whatever credit card we used at check in would be charged. I caught this the morning we checked out and thanks to Judy, she corrected the mistake. Now, the one bedroom, two room suite we had was very nice, if only the keys we were given would let us in. So down to the lobby we went and got new keys. This went on for four days! We would leave for sightseeing, and upon returning, could not get back into our room.
We were glad when we finally checked out!

Breakfast was lacking any fresh cut fruit. I could not believe this. Hyatt Places have fresh cut fruit and muffins. All this Hyatt House had were bananas and apples and stale doughnuts. The waffles they had were cold and they served them with cold syrup! And we were there when they opened up at 7:00 a.m. The same thing happened the next morning with the pancakes. The ladies offered to "microwave" them for me, but that would have made them soggy. The eggs made to order were the best thing at this breakfast. Oh, and the hot water for tea had coffee grinds in it. It was a holiday weekend, so maybe during the week, it would be better.

Would I stay here again? Probably not, due to the problems we had. The manager contacted me through e-mail after reading my Hyatt survey. He assured me that my experience was not the normal, but it definitely was my experience.

As for the amenities at this hotel, the outdoor pool was very nice. The fitness room also was very nice with Life Fitness and personal TV's. The location is close to the Dunn Loring metro station and parking at the station is free on weekends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt House Falls Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt House Falls Church

Address: 8296 Glass Alley, Falls Church, VA 22031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Falls Church
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Falls Church
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt House Falls Church 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HYATT house Falls Church is conveniently located in the Mosaic District. An outdoor mixture of unique gathering places with ample space, including areas for outdoor events, parks for performances and festivals, as well as a unique movie house. You’ll also find an eclectic mix of sophisticated retail and restaurants. HYATT house Falls Church offers a variety of rooms; standard rooms and suites with kitchens. All guests will enjoy our breakfast buffet daily, with made-to-order omelets, freshly brewed Starbucks coffee as well as a variety of fresh breakfast accompaniments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt House Falls Church reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt House Falls Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.