We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian Restaurant/Cafe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sfizi Cafe

Sfizi Cafe
800 W Broad St, Falls Church, VA 22046-3142
703-533-1191
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 311 Restaurants in Falls Church
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Northern Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Italian Restaurant/Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Since we live in Falls Church and have sampled most of the local restaurants, my wife and I have been a couple of times now and felt we needed to write a review. We enjoyed both visits, starting with the joint "chef's choice" pasta dish. The quality of pasta is excellent. We even enjoyed the Italian tradition of not pressuring you to leave at the end of the meal by bringing the check before asking for it. Having recently returned from Italy, it bought back good memories from our trip. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Quirky & inconsistent Italian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Quirky restaurant...menu varied with nice selection of daily specials. Ossobucco nicely prepared but seafood overcooked. Pasta over cooked and over-sauced. Wait staff accommodating but service disorganized and inconsistent. Espresso the best I've had in N. Virginia.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good but won't be returning”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I have been to Sfizi about 4 times but will not be returning. The food is very good but the owner was downright rude. I had ordered a drink and it tasted very odd to me. I let my friend taste it before saying anything to her and she said that it tasted strange. When I told the owner he acted very beligerent and said he personally poured this drink and that if I had an issue to take it up with the vodka company. Then asked me what I wanted and I told him another type of drink. He asked if I wanted the first drink back. Is he kidding? Nothing mentioned like...I'm sorry....what can I do to correct this.... Where is the customer service? He was rude and disrespectful towards me, a paying customer,…the very people who will support and develop strong local community connections through word of mouth advertisement and create a loyal clientele.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good espresso”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Been here a couple times since it opened. Mostly for espresso and macchiato. It's hard to find a real macchiato around here, but they have it. Prices are good and the few things on the menu I have tried are pretty good.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A true taste of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We have been eating at Sfizi since they opened in Fairfax and have continued coming here since they moved to Falls Church. The food here is authentic Italian and reasonably priced. At lot of the recipes are from the owner's mother whom you may see from time to time in the kitchen. They make you feel like family here and we always have a great time whenever we go. The wine selection is also excellent; you can find a wine at any price point you are comfortable with.
When you enter Sfizi Cafe, you are as close to Italy as you can get without getting on a plane. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sfizi Cafe also viewed

Falls Church, VA
Falls Church, VA
 

Been to Sfizi Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sfizi Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.