We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate family place to stay for a Washington visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oakwood Falls Church

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Oakwood Falls Church to your Saves list
Oakwood Falls Church
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Roosevelt Boulevard, Falls Church, VA 22044   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Falls Church
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Adequate family place to stay for a Washington visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We visited Washington during the July 4 week and hence had a limited choice of accommodation. This property was roomy but required better maintenance and care. The 1BR are equipped with a fully stocked kitchen and a dishwasher to ease the cleaning. The drive to the Washington museums and sights takes 20 mins and there is ample parking on site. We never got to use the on-site facilities though the pool did look extremely over crowded during most days. Unfortunately, there are no groceries within a walking distance thus making driving a necessity. We stayed for a week which was ample time to watch the fireworks, visit all the museums and monuments and wave at the White House from a distance. Housekeeping is undertaken on a weekly basis. The tariffs are moderate though I would not be surprised if you could obtain a fully serviced unit at the same price at most other times. All in all an average accommodation with no frills or with serious issues.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakwood2014, Social Media Management Team at Oakwood Falls Church, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review; we appreciate it. We hope that you found the fourth of July fireworks and all of the DC attractions to be quite wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
2
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I have stayed at Oakwood Falls Church three times over the last 4 years -- once for about a week; the second time for 6 months, and most recently for one month. These have been for stays in between work assignments, or for training assignments. For the longest stay, I had a roomy one bedroom; for the other two times, fairly spacious studios. While not luxurious, the rooms are very comfortable and well appointed, and include fully stocked kitchens. The studios do not have washer/dryers, but it is easy enough to use those on every other floor. Parking, wi-fi, gym, tv are included in the price. East Falls Church metro is about 10 minutes by foot, or you can take the free shuttle. There are also weekend shuttles to nearby grocery stores. On site are a pool, tennis court, convenience store, and dry cleaners. The 7 Corners area is not the most beautiful, and Rt 7 can be
a bit of a nightmare, but if you don't need to be that close to Washington DC, or closer in to the city, this place is just about perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakwood2014, Social Media Marketing Team at Oakwood Falls Church, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
We’re delighted to hear that you have enjoyed all three of your stays and that we are your first choice! Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review; we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Having stayed at a host of temporary housing locations over the years, Oakwood Falls Church is best avoided. Poor customer service combined with maintenance issues due to the property's age and subpar repairs should place this property at the bottom of anyone's list. Do yourself a favor a stay at their other properties in Ballston, Rosslyn, or Crystal City or somewhere else entirely before considering this one.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakwood2014, Social Media Marketing Team at Oakwood Falls Church, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review; we appreciate the feedback and will look into your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Oakwood Apartments rents rooms for as little as 3-night stays. These rooms are like those found at a Residence Inn, or a resort. Ours was very nice, clean, and roomy. If you are looking into staying in the Arlington area for a few nights you should consider this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakwood2014, Social Media Marketing Team at Oakwood Falls Church, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found it to be a nice alternative to other hotels. Thank you for taking the time to write this review; we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I can only recommend Oakwood Falls Church to all who are visiting DC for an extended period of time. Its clean and nice, comfortable and relatively near the city. The Shuttle is not always punctual back and from the metro station but if you don't mind walking, it is really only a few minutes from each other. Service is is friendly and as expected. You dont get luxury here but if you are not looking for 5 start hotel its the place to stay. The 1 bed apartment was enough for two people with all the equipment that one would need. I would recommend to allow drying on the balcony so one can save on energy.

Room Tip: go for 1 bed if you want to have washer and dryer inside the room; apple tv needs IT support to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakwood2014, Social Media Marketing Team at Oakwood Falls Church, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thanks for the great review, and we’re glad your stay was comfortable! We also appreciate your feedback on how we can allow our guests to save energy. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Cheat Sheet:

- Great Rates
- Convenient Location to NOVA/DCA
- Communal Feel (for the wayward traveler)
- Well-furnished room and kitchen

I go to the DC / NOVA area a lot. If you come to visit family, lovers, or have part-time work in DC, I highly recommend you think about Oakwood Falls Church.

The constant hotel hopping can be a drag and can leave you feeling like a travel-worn drifter. Oakwood offers a place you can sink your feet into for a few days. The fully furnished rooms are nice and spacious. The kitchens are fully equipped. I like to cook, and so does the girl I like to see there. I think I booked it for 89.00 a night. This, along with saving money with cooking, allows us to go to one of the really tasty places in DC for a treat. (see my review on Rose's Luxury).

They have a gym, wi-fi, and an outdoor pool. It feels more like apartments than a hotel. And, if you aren't familiar to the area, Falls Church is really convenient to both Fairfax and the DC proper area. You can hop on the metro and get anywhere you need to go.

Give it a try.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakwood2014, Social Media Marketing Team at Oakwood Falls Church, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review; we appreciate it! We're glad that you have found our apartments to be a place you can really sink your feet into, and a place that you can get a sense of community. Hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My son had two short-term internships, one in Arlington and the other in DC. The short duration made it very difficult to find an affordable & clean apartment that was close to public transportation. Oakwood, although expensive, was the perfect solution. The staff made move-in super easy, the apartment was perfect was my son's needs and the free shuttle bus to the metro and shopping was wonderful. I highly recommend Oakwood.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Oakwood Falls Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Falls Church

Address: 501 Roosevelt Boulevard, Falls Church, VA 22044
Location: United States > Virginia > Falls Church
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Falls Church
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakwood Falls Church 3.5*
Number of rooms: 576
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakwood Falls Church offers peaceful suburban living just 6 miles from Washington, D.C. Our complimentary shuttle to the East Falls Church Metro Station and our proximity to I-66 and I-495 make it easy to go anywhere you need to be. Tyson's Corner shopping is just a short trip away off metros new Silver Line. Additionally, Reagan National and Dulles International Airports are just minutes away. Being located within the highly recognized City of Falls Church School District, as well as providing an extensive activities program, make Oakwood Falls Church an excellent choice for families as well. Oakwood Falls Church is also pleased to offer our ExecuStay at Oakwood Falls Church brand which allows Marriott Reward members to receive Marriott Reward points for stays of 30+ days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Oakwood Falls Church reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakwood Falls Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.