We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oakwood Falls Church

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Oakwood Falls Church to your Saves list
Oakwood Falls Church
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Roosevelt Boulevard, Falls Church, VA 22044   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Falls Church
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Short Stays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Oakwood Apartments rents rooms for as little as 3-night stays. These rooms are like those found at a Residence Inn, or a resort. Ours was very nice, clean, and roomy. If you are looking into staying in the Arlington area for a few nights you should consider this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakwood2014, Social Media Marketing Team at Oakwood Falls Church, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found it to be a nice alternative to other hotels. Thank you for taking the time to write this review; we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
6
2
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I can only recommend Oakwood Falls Church to all who are visiting DC for an extended period of time. Its clean and nice, comfortable and relatively near the city. The Shuttle is not always punctual back and from the metro station but if you don't mind walking, it is really only a few minutes from each other. Service is is friendly and as expected. You dont get luxury here but if you are not looking for 5 start hotel its the place to stay. The 1 bed apartment was enough for two people with all the equipment that one would need. I would recommend to allow drying on the balcony so one can save on energy.

Room Tip: go for 1 bed if you want to have washer and dryer inside the room; apple tv needs IT support to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakwood2014, Social Media Marketing Team at Oakwood Falls Church, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thanks for the great review, and we’re glad your stay was comfortable! We also appreciate your feedback on how we can allow our guests to save energy. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Cheat Sheet:

- Great Rates
- Convenient Location to NOVA/DCA
- Communal Feel (for the wayward traveler)
- Well-furnished room and kitchen

I go to the DC / NOVA area a lot. If you come to visit family, lovers, or have part-time work in DC, I highly recommend you think about Oakwood Falls Church.

The constant hotel hopping can be a drag and can leave you feeling like a travel-worn drifter. Oakwood offers a place you can sink your feet into for a few days. The fully furnished rooms are nice and spacious. The kitchens are fully equipped. I like to cook, and so does the girl I like to see there. I think I booked it for 89.00 a night. This, along with saving money with cooking, allows us to go to one of the really tasty places in DC for a treat. (see my review on Rose's Luxury).

They have a gym, wi-fi, and an outdoor pool. It feels more like apartments than a hotel. And, if you aren't familiar to the area, Falls Church is really convenient to both Fairfax and the DC proper area. You can hop on the metro and get anywhere you need to go.

Give it a try.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakwood2014, Social Media Marketing Team at Oakwood Falls Church, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review; we appreciate it! We're glad that you have found our apartments to be a place you can really sink your feet into, and a place that you can get a sense of community. Hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My son had two short-term internships, one in Arlington and the other in DC. The short duration made it very difficult to find an affordable & clean apartment that was close to public transportation. Oakwood, although expensive, was the perfect solution. The staff made move-in super easy, the apartment was perfect was my son's needs and the free shuttle bus to the metro and shopping was wonderful. I highly recommend Oakwood.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Oakwood Suites is a great concept. Oakwood Falls Church offers convenience for the Foreign Service community. But Oakwood Arlington is also convenient, newer, and near more restaurant choices. Our room at Falls Church had mold on the ceiling, pealing fake wood furniture, and a broken sofa. There are a couple of Vietnamese restaurants near by, but no other choices. The closest grocery store is a mile a way. There is no mall or movie theaters in the area. The people were nice and helpful, but the stay was not enjoyable.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Oakwood Falls Church is not a hotel as such, rather it is short-term corporate housing with a minimum three-day stay. Although it mostly caters to government employees on per diem, it also houses corporate customers and even some individual customers. Oakwood is extremely popular with families and accepts pets as well.

Others have complained about the laundry room, but as some reviewers have noted, many rooms have a stacked washer and dryer included. There are limited on-site facilities such as a small dry cleaners and grocery store, but there are several large shopping centers within a 20 minute walking distance, including a Safeway grocery store, a CVS drug store, as well as over 20 restaurants. The Oakwood complex is located next to Eden Center, the largest Vietnamese shopping complex in Virginia but many non-Vietnamese restaurants are available at other shopping centers nearby. The outdoor pool is heated and is open well past Labor Day. There is a small playground for tots. The tennis court and barbeque grills adjacent to the pool are very popular.

My room was spacious and clean with an enormous walk-in closet and ample storage space. The kitchenette was stocked with basic kitchenware, small detergent and cleaning supplies, ironing equipment, vacuum cleaner and some bottled water in the fridge. Wi Fi and ethernet are included in the basic rate as well as digital tv with over 100 channels. Each room has a walk-out balcony. Maid service is typically once per week.

Cons:

The front desk is not available 24/7.

The trash chute area fills up past capacity very quickly each morning, necessitating a lengthy hike to the dumpters.

If you are not familiar with the Seven Corners area, the neighborhood can be difficult to navigate without a GPS and rush hour traffic patterns can be scary for out-of-towners.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter rooom ask for one away from the stairs and elevator and on an upper floor. Thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I travel extensively all over the world with my job and this accommodation has been a real hilight. The staff were very friendly and helpful but did not invade privacy too much like a regular hotel which was a real benefit. My room was C109 and it was beautiful and clean with granite worktops, huge bed and walk-in closet.
The pool and facilities were second-to-none and there always a real community atmosphere.
The only disappointment was the location in that there were not many decent restaurants in close proximity.

I will definitely be staying here again... 5*

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falls Church
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Falls Church Inn
BEST WESTERN Falls Church Inn
#8 of 17 in Falls Church
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
0.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites Falls Church
TownePlace Suites Falls Church
#5 of 17 in Falls Church
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Falls Church
Hilton Garden Inn Falls Church
#3 of 17 in Falls Church
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Governor House Inn
Governor House Inn
#11 of 17 in Falls Church
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard
Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard
#9 of 17 in Falls Church
4.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
3.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Falls Church
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Falls Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Falls Church

Address: 501 Roosevelt Boulevard, Falls Church, VA 22044
Location: United States > Virginia > Falls Church
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Falls Church
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakwood Falls Church 3.5*
Number of rooms: 576
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakwood Falls Church offers peaceful suburban living just 6 miles from Washington, D.C. Our complimentary shuttle to the East Falls Church Metro Station and our proximity to I-66 and I-495 make it easy to go anywhere you need to be. Tyson's Corner shopping is just a short trip away off metros new Silver Line. Additionally, Reagan National and Dulles International Airports are just minutes away. Being located within the highly recognized City of Falls Church School District, as well as providing an extensive activities program, make Oakwood Falls Church an excellent choice for families as well. Oakwood Falls Church is also pleased to offer our ExecuStay at Oakwood Falls Church brand which allows Marriott Reward members to receive Marriott Reward points for stays of 30+ days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Oakwood Falls Church reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakwood Falls Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.