We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for visiting family or when our HVAC leaks...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield to your Saves list
Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8125 Gatehouse Road, Falls Church, VA 22042   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Falls Church
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good for visiting family or when our HVAC leaks...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We live in the general area of this hotel so it's a nice location when family comes to visit from out of town. They are always happy with the service, comfort level, and breakfast. Other reviewers have mentioned that the location is good - near 495 and 50, a few minutes from 66. Also near Inova Fairfax hospital. We had to stay about 2 months ago when we were having a home repair done and were very happy. Comfortable bed for us. Pull out sofa was fine for the kids. If anything goes wrong, the front desk is always quick to help. Did not experience any internet problems when surfing, checking email, etc.

Room Tip: It can be a walk to some of the rooms and the elevators are located at two ends. If mobility is an i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt J, General Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you Beth for your feedback on your recent stay at the Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield. I am glad you found our hotel to be your "home away from home", while conducting repairs to your own home. Please keep us in mind for any other future hotel needs you may have in the Falls Church area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    66
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
82
22
4
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for almost a week with the family. Generally had a good stay with no problem to report. We interacted with various service staff and they all seem to be top of what they do. The happy hour/management reception is pretty good too, nothing fancy though. Breakfast is average.

Room is well maintained in working order albeit a bit out dated comparing with some other RI hotels we have stayed. Ground parking space is limited, but there is ample space at gated underground lot that is directly accessible from the hotel elevator. Internet is a bit slow; watching online video can be problematic. We were not there to watch tv or video in the room so we are not as concerned.

Walking distance to a shopping plaza which seems to be generally safe at night. The location is pretty conveniently connected to highways and traffic is affordable most of the time. About 1/2 hr drive to DC downtown. Overall an acceptable choice for family/extended stay for the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt J, General Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. We are glad you found our staff to be friendly and the location of the hotel convenient to restaurants and local highways. We apologize for the slower internet service you experienced. We are in the process of updating our internet and currently we have a project team onsite installing the fiber optic cabling. The new internet will be fully installed by Thanksgiving. Our new service provider will be offering much faster options and connections for our guests. Please come back and see us when you visit the area!


Best regards,

Matt James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davison, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I've been spending my work week here since the middle of the summer and I recommend this hotel to any staying in the area. The staff is friendly and professional, and the accommodations are very clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt J, General Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield. I am glad you have been enjoying your extended stay experience and we appreciate your recommendation for others to come and stay with us. We look forward to your next visit and please feel free to let myself or any of the staff know how we can further make your stay enjoyable!

Best regards,

Matt James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathey's Valley, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights, had to move to 3 different rooms because of problems. Weekend front desk clerk couldn't solve problem to my satisfaction, so that employee and her attitude caused this rating, and there was no manager available on weekends. The manager eventually solved this problem to my satisfaction via the phone when I returned home, but this one employee ruined my stay and since the rooms had problems, I can't rate this property any higher.

Room Tip: Be very vary of inefficient front desk clerks on the weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt J, General Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Residence Inn by Marriott Fairfax Merrifield. We truly value reviews from our guests and use your feedback to improve our services and hospitality. Please accept my sincere apologies for what looked like a lack of caring from one of my employees. I have addressed the issues you experienced with your suite and I have personally spoken with the employee in question. Please feel free to contact me directly to arrange a more impressive second visit.

Best regards,

Matt James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

After staying here quite a bit over the past few years, I'm generally a fan of this hotel. (Except for the slow internet.)

The hotel is modern, clean, with nice rooms and a friendly staff. (But the internet is so slow that even low-bandwidth tasks such as checking email and reading the news threatens to give me an aneurysm.)

Residence Inn has a pretty good complimentary breakfast plus free dinner (nothing extravagant) on the weeknights. They recently renovated the lobby: I like reading in the lobby sometimes because there are ample chairs, couches, and semi-private tables with flatscreen TVs. (But the lobby internet is still AOL dial-up slow.)

The location is also good. Within walking distance there is a Target, very nice movie theater, and plenty of restaurants. (There is also a Starbuck's next door where you can enjoy dignified internet speeds.)

Did I mention the internet is TERRIBLE?!? I knocked off two stars purely due to the internet because it is ridiculous that such a business-oriented hotel has such horrible internet service. Otherwise, this Residence Inn would rate a solid four stars.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt J, General Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We take all feedback seriously, and I sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. I am glad to hear you found the hotel to be modern, clean, with nice rooms and our team to be friendly. We appreciate the accolades. However, it appears we failed to meet your expectations for the stability and speed of the internet and for that, I am truly sorry. We are in the process of updating our internet and currently we have a project team onsite installing the fiber optic cabling. The new internet will be fully installed by Thanksgiving. If in the future you are in the Northern Virginia area , I hope you will allow us to serve you again and that you have a chance to experience our blazing fast internet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We used this hotel as a base for a three day trip to DC and Baltimore and were pleased with its location. It is handy for Dunn Loring Metro Station and is only just off the interstate, which suited us. There are a number of shops and restaurants in the area too, including a huge Target , which appears fairly new.

We use a fair few Residence Inns and would rank this one up there with the quality of its breakfast buffet.

The ladies work hard clearing tables and restocking the buffet which, to me, is always a good sign of a well run place.

We had a one bedroom unit up on the fourth floor of four and, whilst it was a good trek to the breakfast room and reception it was very handy for the lift to the underground car park. The car park is another plus to go with the clean, well maintained suites and the breakfast staff.
The two minus points for me are the abysmally slow internet connection - both on wired and wi-fi, and on every available network. It was so slow, it was almost unusable.

The other minus point was the poor quality of the TV signals of the analogue channels - they had a few HD channels, which were okay (except when the 'no signal' message appeared) but the analogue ones with grainy and unwatchable. We didn't spend to much time in the room, so neither of these issues were major, but they would have been on a longer stay.

All in all, the plus points outweigh the minor niggles and I would have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt J, General Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you Nick for your feedback on your recent stay at the Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield. Our Residence Inn is located one mile from the Dunn Loring DC metro station, adjacent to shopping, dining and entertainment and is easily accessible from both I-495 & Route 50. We will also be updating our internet services this month to a new service provider along with offering much faster options and connections for our guests. Please come back and see us when you visit the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed two nights while on business in Falls Church. Very happy with location close to many restaurants and shopping areas. Room was large with separate bedrooms, full kitchen, large bathroom/closet area. Fitness center contained 2 treadmills, elliptical and free weights. Outdoor pool with hottub and large grill area. Breakfast daily and evening meals Monday through Thursday included. My room faced the very busy Gallows Road, but noise was not an issue at all. Front desk staff very nice, no issues with stay. Loved the underground parking, especially since it was raining hard one night! Will definitely stay again when back in Falls Church!

Room Tip: Not aware of any "bad" rooms. Hallways can be quite long, so if that's a problem you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt J, General Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you Nicole for your feedback on your recent stay at the Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield. I am glad you enjoyed our spacious suites along with our hotel's convenient location to restaurants and local shopping. We look forward to seeing again in the future when you visit Falls Church.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falls Church
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Falls Church
0.6 mi away
Hyatt House Falls Church
Hyatt House Falls Church
#1 of 17 in Falls Church
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Dunn Loring Fairfax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Falls Church
Hilton Garden Inn Falls Church
#3 of 17 in Falls Church
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Falls Church Inn
BEST WESTERN Falls Church Inn
#9 of 17 in Falls Church
4.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield

Address: 8125 Gatehouse Road, Falls Church, VA 22042
Location: United States > Virginia > Falls Church
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Falls Church
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn hotel in Falls Church, Virginia is situated just one mile from the Dunn Loring DC metro rail station, adjacent to shopping, dining and entertainment options and is easily accessible from both I-495 & Route 50. This hotel in Merrifield, VA is convenient to Tysons Corner businesses, Washington DC, the Inova Fairfax Hospital and more. Guests feel at home in our spacious extended stay suites offering separate living, sleeping and dining areas. Each suite at our Falls Church extended stay hotel features fully-equipped kitchens, living rooms with pullout sofa beds, a 42" flat screen TV. Work easily while traveling for business in a large desk with convenient outlets, ergonomic desk chair and complimentary internet-access. In addition, this hotel serves complimentary breakfast daily, offers social hours on select evenings and provides 24-hour access to the hotel’s fitness center. This Falls Church, Virginia hotel also has a meeting room perfect for training sessions or small gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield Hotel Falls Church
Residence Inn Falls Church
Falls Church Residence Inn
Fairfax Merrifield Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Fairfax Merrifield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.