We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to visit Washington DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6111 Arlington Boulevard, Falls Church, VA 22044 (Formerly Comfort Inn near Arlington National Cemetery)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Falls Church
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oakville
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A great place to visit Washington DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This is a refurbished hotel so you know when you say refurbished it's not anything to write home about. The room was more than adequate but the air conditioner had a high pitched whistle as well as ear deafening roar, I thought I would go mad. Luckily I had my ear plugs with me. I've read that in other travelers reviews, so I always take them. The elevator was so old and smelly like oil or something that we took the stairs when we could. It's only a 3 story hotel so it's not bad. The pool was beautiful looking and there was a life guard to match LOL but she said it was cold, very cold. It was deep so I guess it doesn't warm up much. The breakfast had the hot eggs and sausage component so one didn't have to make waffles every day. We walked to McDonalds for supper and there were other low end restaurants around. The best part and this is why we went there, is that there is a free shuttle to the Metro. They were just excellent and when we couldn't get in with the space, they returned promptly to pick us up. In the morning they make several trips. The Metro goes to all the monuments and Arlington Cemetery so be sure to get a day pass. It is tricky to buy but once you have it, it's a breeze. Although I must say it was stalled for over an hour once but with the air conditioning we weren't upset. Although there were problems we would go back as we have more Smithsonian's to do and this is the best way to travel shuttle and metro.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs for the A/C noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    64
    15
    12
    11
See reviews for
59
29
11
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This hotel is in an awkward location but is a great place to stay if you have a car. It has free parking and the commute into downtown was 10 to 15 minutes. We returned to the hotel around 5pm on a Tuesday and it was still only 20 minutes.

The hotel itself is very reasonably priced for Washington. The rooms are spacious and generally quiet (depends on how loud the other guests are in the hallway).

Free wi-fi is included but probably a little complicated for some people to setup (connect to the wireless network, then open a web browser, go to google to trigger the landing page and agree to the terms and conditions)

The breakfast isn't amazing but it is more than adequate. (coffee, tea, DIY waffles, cereal, toast, oatmeal, fruit, free newspaper, etc). There's a McDonald's next door if you need an alternative and there's a 7/11 within walking distance. There are restaurants, a grocery store and a department store across the busy highway too.

There is an outdoor pool (didn't use it but it looked clean) and it is manned by a lifeguard.

We were very happy with this hotel and would definitely recommend it to anyone that does not need to rely on public transit (although they may offer a free shuttle to the nearest metro station)

Room Tip: Go to Pistone's for an excellent "old school" italian meal. Look at a map before at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We were going to Visit D C for the first time, and looking for accomodation, found this property, and booked it for two nights, great pool, very good breakfast, staff very helpful, and right on Arlington Blvd. we did not realize how close it is to Arlington Cemetery , Iwo Jima Monument, and many other tourist attractions, also a place where you can get on a Big Bus tour, that connects with other routes on the Big Bus that cover the downtown of D C. This was a very good choice, the room itself, we could find NO fault with, all in all a good spot.

Room Tip: all the rooms seemed to be good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage MI
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This place needs refurbishing since it shows its age and worn edges. The staff pretty consistently seemed to have little concept of customer service. It is clean and apparently safe.
The clerk who checked us in told me that travel time via their shuttle and the Metro would be about 30-35 minutes to the Smithsonian Metro station; it took right on an hour both times we did it. She told the next people that they could drive into DC and find a place to park near the White House in about 30-35 minutes, which is laughable.
The shuttle that was to pick us up at 5:15 didn't leave the hotel until about 5:30 in spite of my two phone calls telling them that we were waiting. The driver laughingly told us that he had forgotten what time it was, and, of course, nobody had told him about my two phone calls.
Our room was large enough for four (two adults and two kids) of us. There is no fan in the bathroom, so unless you leave the door open while you're taking a shower everything in the bathroom gets covered with condensation. The room doors do not automatically close and lock, so you have to make sure to pull them closed behind you.
Breakfast was the usual Choice Hotel offerings. However, go early, because things did not get replenished often.
There is a large outdoor swimming pool with a life guard.
The price of our room was high, which can only be justified because of the location and proximity to DC. But the difficulty we had getting to & from DC diminish that value. It's overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My family stayed there for two nights. The rooms are clean and quiet (as I asked for quiet rooms). Check-in and out is flawless. The front desk girl was very nice and thoughtful; she gave us two connected rooms without asking, which made our stay comfortable and convenient. The internet is good. The location is ok - 10min drive to the Ballston Station, where you can get a daily parking for $11 at the National Science Foundation's underground parking lot, which is near a Dunkin Donuts. The East Falls Church station, I heard, is a little difficult to find parking space. Some restaurants (including two Chinese restaurants) and a CVS are cross the street. The breakfast is adequate, but could be better. Perhaps more tables/chairs in the dinner area? It was a little crowded one morning. Overall, it is a clean and nice place to stay with an excellent rate.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Maine
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We spent 5 nights there on a recent family trip to the DC area. We had 4 in a room - 3 adults (including an 18 year old) and a 13 year old. Room was clean and loved the microwave and fridge. Beds were very comfortable, air conditioning worked well and overall it was very quiet. We were on the 1st floor facing the pool. No pool noise and no road noise at all. We did use the hotel's laundry room ($1.50 to wash and $1.50 to dry). Only had the breakfast a couple of days - offered bagels, toast, danishes, sometimes muffins, boiled and scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, waffles (not frozen ones), cold cereals, yogurt, juices and milk. Coffee and tea are available 24/7. Pool was clean (not heated but plenty warm) and towels are provided poolside. The cons of this hotel for us (and not necessarily for everyone) were: in room coffee - we had to ask every day for more coffee packets. They apparently stock once for one day and that is it. We had to ask for a 4th set of towels each day; they do not vacuum every day. . . Shuttle ends at 9:00 a.m. as does breakfast (during the week - it is open until 10 on the weekend). The breakfast manager makes it very clear that it ends at 9:00 as people will just keep coming and eating regardless. Perhaps making both the shuttle and breakfast last until 10:00 every day would be great. When spending the week in DC and area, we were back late (like 11:00 or later) every night and were not early to rise. That extra hour would be nice, however ,McDonald's is next door and you can grab an egg mcmuffin just as easily. We had one front desk person who knew anything about the area and was helpful. The others didn't really know anything and could barely communicate with us. We ended up using a taxi each day for that, though not a big deal. No knowledge of restaurants either. We rated the ones we did find in other ratings. That being said, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 1st floor looking at the pool. We heard nothing the 5 nights there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasburg, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a recent getaway weekend with some friends. We were pleased that the hotel was able to accommodate us with adjoining rooms. Check-in was easy and the rooms were well-appointed, clean and comfortable. We appreciated the free, ample parking and easy driving distance to D.C. as well as the Metro. They also provide shuttle service to the Metro upon request. The complimentary breakfast seemed well-stocked and fresh.
We were especially impressed that there was a lifeguard on duty at the pool. We were not traveling with children, but had we been, this would have been a very big perk!
Staff were all friendly and helpful. Especially the housekeeping crew who kindly cleaned one of our rooms late after we accidentally left the door bolted when we left through the adjoining room. We asked the housekeeper in the hall if she would mind at least freshening the towels, she graciously said yes (with a smile!) and she cleaned the entire room. All in all it was a very good experience and I would recommend this hotel for business, individuals or families.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard

Address: 6111 Arlington Boulevard, Falls Church, VA 22044 (Formerly Comfort Inn near Arlington National Cemetery)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Falls Church
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Falls Church
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated Guest Rooms-Complimentary Morning & Evening Shuttle Service to the Metro,Conveniently located just six miles from the Nation’s Capital, the Comfort Inn Near Arlington Cemetery is an affordable alternative to staying in downtown Washington DC. Located just minutes from the Arlington National Cemetery, the Pentagon, the White House, the National Mall & Memorial Parks, the Washington Monument, the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, George Mason University, and the Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport. The hotel is with-in walking distance to several restaurants and shops: McDonalds,Chick-fil-a Dominos Pizza, Subway, Fortune Chinese Restaurant, Dogfish Head Alehouse,Red Robin, Starbucks, Target, CVS, Home Depot, Sears, Barnes & Noble. We offer the following amenities for your enjoyment and convenience: Free HOT deluxe continental breakfast, free high-speed wireless Internet access, free business & fitness center, free in-room coffee, outdoor swimming pool with sun patio, and ample free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Near Arlington National Cemetery Hotel Falls Church
Comfort Inn Arlington
Comfort Inn Falls Church
Falls Church Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.