We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clare and Don's Beach Shack

Clare and Don's Beach Shack
130 N Washington St, Falls Church, VA 22046-4514
703-532-9283
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 311 Restaurants in Falls Church
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Sudbury, MA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Food was very good. You don't have to eat fried stuff if you don't want. Funky atmosphere. Good music the night we went . Service was amazing with lots of people taking care of us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    42
    19
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tiki Patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

One of the only outside Tiki bars in the area. Great atmosphere, local entertainment often. Always a pleasant time. Food is not the highlight, but if you end up eating their its fine.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Family oriented, dog oriented, casual, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Clare and Don's Beach Shack is one of my favorite places. It is casual, so we never have to worry about what we are wearing. It is friendly - I don't know how David and Rebecca manage to find them but the people (mostly pretty young) are friendly and hard-working. There is a wide variety of food and a good selection of beers (both on tap and in cans). Dogs are welcome on the outdoor patio and there are almost always lots of families with kids. David (the owner) can often be seen carrying someone's child around to give the parents a break to eat. When the weather is nice, the patio is a great place to hang out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quirky and Steadfast Mainstay in Falls Church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Have visited infrequently last few years after grown son suggested it. Next door to State Theater so benefits from crowds before and after concerts. Very, very laid back, imitative beach "dive" atmosphere inside and out. Nothing "high society" at all, intentional. Large indoor seating area; but during all but worst summer weather and cold months, shaded outdoor seating enjoyable except for occasional loud traffic on Lee Highway. Food very reasonably priced and satisfactory, again nothing superb, just beach fare, heavy on seafood. Fried pickles, crabcake sandwich, fish tacos, and burgers are great value for money, in my humble opinion. Always return just for funky atmosphere and bit of the beach.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I like it but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I like this place. It's great if you want to get some drinks (I recomend ordering a Painkiller, the best tasting drink this side of the Mississippi). The food also is pretty good, I ordered their fish tacos and enjoyed it. The place itself is a bit old and dirty. There's only one bathroom (per sex) so there's always a wait. Also, one time, as we sat outside in their patio, we saw some huge roaches running around the place. I've only seen roaches outside, so I'll chalk it up to the elements. It may not be everyone's cup of tea, but I enjoy coming out and will continue to do so. The roaches knocked my ratings down from a 4 to a 3.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clare and Don's Beach Shack also viewed

 

Been to Clare and Don's Beach Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clare and Don's Beach Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.