We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Food - Great Service - Good Prices - Average Soups” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PF Changs

PF Changs
4250 Fairfax Corner Ave, Fairfax, VA 22030
703-266-2414
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #37 of 340 restaurants in Fairfax
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Food - Great Service - Good Prices - Average Soups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

PF Chang is my family's favorite restaurant wherever we go. This location in Fairoak/Fairfax area is very nice. The staff is super caring and the overall impression is great.
PF Chang's food is always good. My favorite is Bang Bang Chicken but almost whatever they cook is above average. I must say they somehow did not learn to make the soups. The sweet & sour soup is full of soya sauce and although edible but definitely not halfways as good what I can make reading an internet recipe. Why can't they not fix the soups?
The ultimate reason to visit PF Chang would be the incredible brown (chocolate) bread that they serve as an appetizer.
Depending on the cook, a number of times I felt that the food had little gravy/substance to it as if you are eating peanuts with dry chicken nuggets instead of kung pao chicken. But before I decide to not go there again, the food comes out so good the next time.
It is their service and the internal atmosphere that makes up for the most of the stuff that they don't have right.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    22
    30
    7
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HappyWanderer023
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Chinese food it's not”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

If you like real Chinese food, this is not the place for you. Westernized versions of Chinese dishes with flavors few Chinese would recognize. Indifferrent front desk greeters and officious wait staff only add to the impression that this is a 'fad' restaurant that is almost scamming the American ignorati. We didn't care for the atmosphere either, just more pretentiousness. Skip this place and find a real Chinese neighborhood restaurant. If you actually like the food here, you may as well just eat at a real American restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good dining experience, good takeout, tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Liked the dining ambiance and the taste of the food. Did not like the wait but its nice to be able to walk around the area. Calling in for takeout is a good idea. There is a takeout entrance and they pack teh food realy well.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bad service both times we went”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Didn't care we had a reservation online, made us wait. Don't like the atmosphere at all. The only good food is the Lettuce Wraps (which are outstanding). All the rest is overpriced and nothing special.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Out of the ordinary Asian cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

PF Changs has never disappointed, regardless of which location I visit. The Fairfax location is convenient to shopping and a large movie theater. Teh food is excellent and is prepared much "lighter" than what is served by many Chinese restaurants. The breadings aren't too thick and the ingredients are of high quality. The availability of several gluten free options is also a plus. Service was prompt and friendly and there were a bunch of delicious specials.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PF Changs also viewed

 

Been to PF Changs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PF Changs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.