We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Fairfax

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Fairfax to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Fairfax
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3535 Chain Bridge Road, Fairfax, VA 22030-2703   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #10 of 22 hotels in Fairfax
Lexington, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Me and my family stayed here on a long weekend trip to Virgina and Washington DC. The rooms were quaint and the restaurant on site had a nice selection for breakfast. The staff was not only friendly but very helpful. Being our first time there anytime we asked for directions somewhere, they made sure we had directions. All in all we had a wonderful trip and plan to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    57
    33
    14
    5
See reviews for
62
27
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hopatcong, New Jersey
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

More like an old fashioned motel than a hotel. The rooms have the old fashioned big window looking out on the walkway so there is no privacy with curtains open and no light with them closed. The staff are nice, breakfast is good, internet is free, location is good! Just don't expect new or modern...

Room Tip: no elevator so if you don't want stairs choose room you can walk into...but upstairs is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Heights, Virginia, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Nice hotel. Room could have been a little cleaner but not bad. Bathroom was small. Breakfast was very good as was the location. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would recommend this hotel for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at this motel during our Washington, DC spring break vacation. It is close to the Vienna metro station, located just off I-66, has a free breakfast, and was very reasonably priced. It is true there are no elevators for guests, but they did have someone take our bags to our room for us, so that was not a problem. They also had cookies for the kids when we arrived. We had a room with 2 queen beds on the 3rd floor. The way this motel is set up, you only had to walk up 1 flight of stairs to reach the 3rd floor from the parking lot, so no big deal. Our room overlooked the shamrock-shaped pool with a fountain running, even though it snowed while we were there. The rooms are dated, but clean for the most part. There was a small amount of mold in the grout in the shower, but that was the only thing I noticed. The linens were clean and in good shape and the queen beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was great! There is an actual restaurant off the main lobby that they use for the breakfast area. Each morning, there were at least 6 hot items to choose from, including real scrambled eggs, pancakes or french toast, 2 different sausages, grits, oatmeal and more. There are also waffles, which were quite good, too. I also used the laundry room, which was clean and inexpensive. I have payed triple for laundry in other hotels... Overall, I would recommend this hotel to budget-conscious travelers. For the price, we felt we got our money's worth.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This establishment should be listed as a 2-star motel. Access to the rooms (3 floors) is down a set of stairs then up another set of stairs to outside rooms..Thats right... NO ELEVATORS!!! If yoiu prefer 2 beds the rooms are outside first floor, single beds are on 2nd/3rd floors. Not sure where the stairs are located. The bedding was clean but wrinkled.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephenmay, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Fairfax, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Gwen,

I do apologize that at check-in, our staff neglected to explain to you the best way to access your guest room. Since the property is built on the side of a hill, we have two first floors that can be accessed from there own parking lots. We have rooms with one king on one parking level and rooms with two queens on the other parking level. On our second floor, which is accessed by a flight of stairs, we have both single and 2 bedded rooms. At no time should a guest need to climb more that one flight of stairs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights while in town for a wedding. It's an older property and the room looked it - the bathroom fixtures were dated - but it was clean and functional, with a space to hang up clothing, a sink outside the bathroom and a decent shower. The biggest issue by far was the lack of outlets to plug in our various devices - we had to plug in our cellphones across the room! (Oh, the horrors!) The TV channels were also quirky and didn't quite match the provided list of channels, but that's also a minor issue that we run into at lots of different hotels.

The rooms do open directly to the outside (motel-style), but the area seemed safe and we never felt remotely threatened.

The breakfast, served in the main building, was very good, though it would have been quite a hike if we had walked, since our room was on the back of the property. However, we were heading out both days right after breakfast, so we just drove around the parking lot!

The hotel is far from Washington D.C., but it is fairly close to the Metro station. We drove there, since we were going into the district on a Saturday when parking is free at the station. The front desk clerk told us that there is no shuttle to the Metro station, but a bus comes by frequently and stops in front of the hotel that takes people straight to the Metro station. It's a bit of a long ride to the district, but it's comfortable.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, and we would definitely consider staying here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My hubby & I stayed here for 5 nights when we attended the Inauguration & Inaugural Ball in January 2013. The front desk staff was very pleasant & helpful. In fact one of the things that sold me on this hotel was the conversation I had with Tim when I was trying to locate a place to stay near DC. He gave me "the skinny" on the in's & out's of the Inaugration and made me feel very comfortable.
Their prices were very reasonable considering the historic event taking place during our stay & other hotels were really hiking their prices.
The room was clean & spacious. The bed, bedding & pillows were comfortable. Their breakfast was excellent and the lady who worked in the dining area was really sweet & on top of everything.
If we return to that area, we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: It was good having a room near the entrance to the lobby & dining area. It was very cold when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Fairfax

Address: 3535 Chain Bridge Road, Fairfax, VA 22030-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#11 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Fairfax 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Fairfax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fairfax Hotel Fairfax
Fairfax Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Fairfax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.