We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, an average Marriott” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks to your Saves list
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11787 Lee Jackson Memorial Highway, Fairfax, VA 22033   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago Burbs
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Overall, an average Marriott”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

When you think of a suburban Marriott hotel, this is what comes to mind. Nothing spectacular positive or negative, but no surprises. Good sized room and bathroom. Clean and comfortable. In room coffee is convenient. Free parking. Marketplace is good for picking up a muffin or light breakfast at a reasonable cost. Efficient check in and out. Friendly staff. For a business location, it seems wi-fi in the room should not cost extra.

  • Liked — Good sized room and bathroom, did not feel crowded
  • Disliked — Wi-fi in room was an extra cost
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    104
    39
    27
    13
See reviews for
70
46
20
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

I have booked rooms and junior suites at this hotel for over a year, totaling over 25 nights. The direct booking is required to reserve a suite at this hotel. I've had no problems with the reservations. The hotel in general is nice.

I have had frequent and recurring problems with the overall management of this hotel, including checking in and checking out. Due to the unusual hours that the room was needed, I have returned in the morning more than once to find my room re-rented. On another occasion, they had no room available at 8 AM when I called the night before to advise them that I would arrive in the morning - please hold the room. When I have requested things like an extra chair for the room, it has never taken less than 30 minutes and two phone calls - sometimes a walk to the desk.

More than half of the time, the turndown service has not been done.

The couch and chairs in the junior suite are very old and outdated. As another reviewer stated, the "At your service" button on many phones does not work. (Does not appear to matter if it did work).

Finally, during my recent stay, things became so disorganized, that I contacted the hotel's general manager. I respectfully pointed out the laundry list of things that have gone wrong during the past year. I offered to her that her hotel was convenient for me, but that I would change Marriott's if I needed to. Her response was to address one item (in a non-satisfactory manner), and totally ignore the rest of them. When I then sent a response to her stating that she had only addressed one issue, and that I would probably move to a different Marriott, she never responded.

I am a Platinum Elite Marriott card holder and I am gone from the Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks!

  • Liked — The hotel is convenient to Fairfax and to shopping and dining. Despite being a renovated Holiday Inn, the interior lobby and dining area is nicely appointed.
  • Disliked — The lack of response from hotel management.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

Wow! This is a five-star hotel which we booked off of Expedia for the price of a two-star hotel. My family stayed at three hotels during our week-long vacation, and this was by far the best, not to mention the cheapest. The pool was fabulous, business center was great, service was exceptional. Our room was about two times the size we were expecting! Gas and groceries minutes away, Metro about 10 minutes away.... the only quip we had with this hotel was the lack of a continental breakfast. What a find!!!

  • Liked — Everything, but especially the spacious room!
  • Disliked — No continental breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

We got this hotel for a steal on hotels.com!!! WE LOVED IT!! With the helpful cheerful staff, the large rooms, very clean atmosphere, and comfortable beds, you couldn't ask for much more. This hotel was close to DC yet far enough away to not fear for your life!! Very safe hotel

  • Liked — Very Clean
  • Disliked — Charged for internet and breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

Heavy business traveler in town for 5 day conference. Have mixed feelings about this hotel. Location is great, essentially at a major mall with easy access to keys roads. Plenty of convenient free parking. Friendly hotel staff. Rooms are above average in size. While mine did not come with a refrigerator upon request one was cheerfully brought to room (with a microwave).
Hotel design is issue. It is very noisy. They appear to have tried to save a few bucks on the noise suppression design options. You can hear doors slamming well down the hall as well as noise from neighboring rooms. My room faced the atrium, which the front desk clerk assured me is a quieter room. Hotel seems to host many early morning functions where people congregate in lobby area (I’m talking 6:15 AM). Anybody facing atrium would hear here this, even at higher floors (six total). I noticed several buses on more than one morning so presume hotels are catering to groups - which of course tend to be noisy.

  • Disliked — Very noisy
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany ny
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2008

why do hotels overbook and tell you they can give you 2 beds whenn they cant...why do they not tell you they are booked with cheerleaders(who run up and down the halls all night ,occupy the pool ,gym and retsuarants so you cant...why would you wait until midnight to make up the sofa bed with just a sheet because thats all you have left "were full you know" I dont care! I just want two beds in a quiet hotel If they had shared any of this information with me ahead of time I would have stayed at the Courtyard down the street instead -they are much nicer! and why is breakfast for two adults and two children $40 on saturday and $90 on Sunday!! this rates as my most awlful hotel and I never complain

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2008

I lived in Fairfax for thirty years. Now I travel there about once a week. Just recently found the Marriott Fair Oaks. I always stay at Marriotts and this is by far the best! Over one hundred Marriott stays in 2007 and this hotel by far had the best beds. Service and food was good too. Hotel is right in the Fair Oaks shopping mall parking lot. Walk to dining at the mall or drive or taxi to many great places to eat.
I rarely rave about a hotel which I use just for business travel, but I had to about this hotel.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Address: 11787 Lee Jackson Memorial Highway, Fairfax, VA 22033
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fairfax
#5 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#8 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfax Marriott hotel at Fair Oaks is in an ideal Northern Virginia location, just 20 minutes from Dulles International Airport, and offers newly-renovated accommodations that are perfect for business trips, group meetings, wedding receptions, and weekend getaways to Washington DC. Guests love being adjacent to the Fair Oaks Mall, where there are over 190 specialty store and restaurants are within walking distance, and also the close proximity to Government offices, business parks, GMU, and the Udvar-Hazy center. This stylish hotel features 11 meeting rooms with almost 9,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, a full-service business center, an indoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, as well as the onsite 703 Bar + Kitchen serving a delicious American menu paired a variety of signature cocktails and craft beers. The redesigned guest rooms feature chic decor with thoughtful amenities including free WiFi access and 42" LCD HDTVs with premium cable. Guests are also sure to get the perfect night's sleep on Marriott signature Revive(R) bedding offering plush mattresses, crisp linens, and fluffy pillows. Whether you're taking a business trip or a weekend getaway, this Marriott hotel combines modern amenities with newly-renovated accommodations to make it one of the best hotels in Fairfax, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Mall Hotel Fairfax
Fairfax Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.