We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthy of the Marriott name” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks to your Saves list
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11787 Lee Jackson Memorial Highway, Fairfax, VA 22033   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Crozet, Virginia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Worthy of the Marriott name”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel in a convenient location off I-66 and Route 50. The staff exceeded expectations in the warm and friendly department and having a large mall across the parking lot offers a nice diversion for business travelers. I stayed one night while visiting my children at GMU and will stay there again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    104
    39
    27
    13
See reviews for
70
46
20
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in January 2014 as a MLK-long-weekend getaway. The staff was friendly and welcoming and the room was clean and appropriately appointed. The bed was one of the most comfortable that I've ever had the chance to sleep on at a hotel-- which is fairly high praise. We were placed on the Concierge Floor for our loyalty status, which included access to the concierge lounge for breakfast and hors d'oeuvres. No complaints there. The hors d'oeuvres were particularly tasty.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I have stayed in Marriott Courtyard in Europe and this one doesn't match that well. However, it still is a very good hotel - with large rooms, hospitable staff and good location.
Pros:
a. located opposite the Fair Oaks Mall - so you have ample dining and shopping options at a few steps away.
b. Comfy rooms
c. Liked the lobby grandeur - suits the brand!
d. Starbucks and utility store inside the hotel is helpful

The only negative - I found the breakfast somewhat pricey for a vegetarian.

Room Tip: select rooms that face the mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiehle, VA
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I was here as part of a very long business meeting. Being in the D.C. area, it is understandable that Marriott would only have there very best here. And, they do. Having stayed at Marriott's all over the U.S., this was only my second in the local region. The staff is beyond first rate. For a luncheon following our meeting, even the executive chef came out to make sure everything was just right. The only gripe I could have is the the lack of a Hot Shoppes restaurant on-site. If they did, it would be packed most nights, even more so on weekends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I travel. We all do. Let's just say I am on the road more than I am at home. Oh yes, I am writing this from my Fairfax Marriott room tonight...

That being said, while I live in the DC area, I stay at the Fair Oaks property on occassion...it is easier than the trek home to Old Town. The property is nice. Nothing exceptional from a room furnishings perspective, but the staff is what counts. From the moment you walk in, and Michelle greets you by name (and always takes care of anything you need) to when you leave for your first meeting, I am always reminded of one simple fact: This is what a hotel should be: Welcoming, helpful, and most of all, a friendly place to call home for a few days.

My compliments to Michelle, Ajay and all their associates at this property. They are why I keep coming back!

Room Tip: Just ask the front desk, they always do their best to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celebration, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I am not usually one to review hotels. I felt it necessary to give a shout out to this wonderful hotel. In order to know why you should understand the circumstance of the visit. Our son was staying with his school at the hotel, as were seemingly hundreds of other kids, for a speech tournament at GMU. This was not my first rodeo and I have seen how other hotels handle crowds, including other Marriots. Now the review. The staff was well prepared for the kids!!!. Exclamation points barely suffice to show the appreciation. There was a special buffet to serve the kids to later hours with food they liked. The restaurant food was great too. Extremely important. Also the staff was present, helpful and as cheerful as family greeting us for a holiday stay. This was a 4 day stay and the staff was great. A remarkable hotel stay which will serve as a benchmark for the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Best steak I have had in a while. Steak was cooked perfect. Great job Chef!

The restaurant staff was very nice and helpful. Wanted spinach salad and they put together a great salad.

Will stay here again. If I had to say anything negative it would be the carpets need a good cleaning in the rooms. For the most part it's a clean hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Address: 11787 Lee Jackson Memorial Highway, Fairfax, VA 22033
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fairfax
#5 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#9 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfax Marriott hotel at Fair Oaks is in an ideal Northern Virginia location, just 20 minutes from Dulles International Airport, and offers newly-renovated accommodations that are perfect for business trips, group meetings, wedding receptions, and weekend getaways to Washington DC. Guests love being adjacent to the Fair Oaks Mall, where there are over 190 specialty store and restaurants are within walking distance, and also the close proximity to Government offices, business parks, GMU, and the Udvar-Hazy center. This stylish hotel features 11 meeting rooms with almost 9,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, a full-service business center, an indoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, as well as the onsite 703 Bar + Kitchen serving a delicious American menu paired a variety of signature cocktails and craft beers. The redesigned guest rooms feature chic decor with thoughtful amenities including free WiFi access and 42" LCD HDTVs with premium cable. Guests are also sure to get the perfect night's sleep on Marriott signature Revive(R) bedding offering plush mattresses, crisp linens, and fluffy pillows. Whether you're taking a business trip or a weekend getaway, this Marriott hotel combines modern amenities with newly-renovated accommodations to make it one of the best hotels in Fairfax, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Mall Hotel Fairfax
Fairfax Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.