We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Business Hotel (or for Visiting Friends/Relatives in Area)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Save Saved
You added Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11787 Lee Jackson Memorial Highway, Fairfax, VA 22033   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #6 of 22 hotels in Fairfax
Wiehle, VA
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Business Hotel (or for Visiting Friends/Relatives in Area)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I was here as part of a very long business meeting. Being in the D.C. area, it is understandable that Marriott would only have there very best here. And, they do. Having stayed at Marriott's all over the U.S., this was only my second in the local region. The staff is beyond first rate. For a luncheon following our meeting, even the executive chef came out to make sure everything was just right. The only gripe I could have is the the lack of a Hot Shoppes restaurant on-site. If they did, it would be packed most nights, even more so on weekends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    90
    28
    20
    13
See reviews for
60
38
19
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I travel. We all do. Let's just say I am on the road more than I am at home. Oh yes, I am writing this from my Fairfax Marriott room tonight...

That being said, while I live in the DC area, I stay at the Fair Oaks property on occassion...it is easier than the trek home to Old Town. The property is nice. Nothing exceptional from a room furnishings perspective, but the staff is what counts. From the moment you walk in, and Michelle greets you by name (and always takes care of anything you need) to when you leave for your first meeting, I am always reminded of one simple fact: This is what a hotel should be: Welcoming, helpful, and most of all, a friendly place to call home for a few days.

My compliments to Michelle, Ajay and all their associates at this property. They are why I keep coming back!

Room Tip: Just ask the front desk, they always do their best to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celebration, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I am not usually one to review hotels. I felt it necessary to give a shout out to this wonderful hotel. In order to know why you should understand the circumstance of the visit. Our son was staying with his school at the hotel, as were seemingly hundreds of other kids, for a speech tournament at GMU. This was not my first rodeo and I have seen how other hotels handle crowds, including other Marriots. Now the review. The staff was well prepared for the kids!!!. Exclamation points barely suffice to show the appreciation. There was a special buffet to serve the kids to later hours with food they liked. The restaurant food was great too. Extremely important. Also the staff was present, helpful and as cheerful as family greeting us for a holiday stay. This was a 4 day stay and the staff was great. A remarkable hotel stay which will serve as a benchmark for the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Best steak I have had in a while. Steak was cooked perfect. Great job Chef!

The restaurant staff was very nice and helpful. Wanted spinach salad and they put together a great salad.

Will stay here again. If I had to say anything negative it would be the carpets need a good cleaning in the rooms. For the most part it's a clean hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This property is in a good spot, very clean/nice and the price was incredible for a quick overnight. The staff is friendly and helpful. There was a lot going on with events, and they seemed to manage it very well.

I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms are a little outdated, but still very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had a room at the Fairfax Marriott during the wedding of my daughter. We hotel was conveniently located near St. Timothy Church and close to the reception venue which was the Waterford of Fair Oaks. The only down side was that they charge $1.00 for local calls that were written off when I checked out of the hotel. A “mini” Starbucks is located in the lobby of the hotel. They offer a breakfast buffet but we did not use the service. I am sure they had other facilities that we did not see due to the hustle and bustle of the wedding.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Nice place, the staff was exceptional. The mall is next too the hotel. I was here for a week it was worth the money. I booked thru priceline and got it for $62 a night. The food at the bar was okay prices were okay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Address: 11787 Lee Jackson Memorial Highway, Fairfax, VA 22033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fairfax
#6 Business Hotel in Fairfax
#10 Family Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks is in an ideal Northern Virginia location, just 20 minutes from Dulles International Airport, and is perfect for business trips, group meetings, wedding receptions, and weekend getaways to Washington DC. Guests love being adjacent to the Fair Oaks Mall, where there are over 190 specialty store and restaurants within walking distance, and also the close proximity to Government offices, business parks, GMU, and the Udvar-Hazy center. This luxurious hotel features 11 meeting rooms with almost 9,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, a full-service business center, an indoor pool, fitness center, as well as an onsite restaurant and bar serving a delicious American menu with a variety of signature cocktails. Guest Rooms feature chic décor with modern amenities including free WiFi access and a 32” LCD HDTVs with premium cable. Meanwhile the Marriott Luxury Bedding featuring offering plush mattresses, crisp linens, and fluffy pillows is sure to give guest the perfect night’s sleep in this Fairfax, VA hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Mall Hotel Fairfax
Fairfax Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.