We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with extraordinary weekend prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Save Saved
You added Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11787 Lee Jackson Memorial Highway, Fairfax, VA 22033   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #6 of 22 hotels in Fairfax
Fort Myers, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great hotel with extraordinary weekend prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel over the past 5 years and have been there 2 or 3 times a year to visit family. It is located right at the mall which is has restaurants and shopping. We enjoy eating in the Oak Grill Bar. We eat both in the restaurant and bar. Everyone is pleasant and goes out of their way to be accommodating. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. Great Choice of hotel!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    90
    28
    20
    13
See reviews for
60
38
19
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southeasten Virginia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is the 2nd time we have stayed here and were pleased with our room. It was on an upper floor and the air conditioning didn't keep the room cool enough for us even with it turned down to 62 degrees. The room was a little stuffy. The only thing that bothered us was that there was make-up and lipstick on one of the pillow cases. It was the first thing I saw when I laid my purse down on the bed.

We used the exercise room. The equipment is suitable, but the room is just too hot and the temperature should be kept in the mid 60 degrees range. I told mentioned this to the life guard the first time we stayed there and yet again on this trip. Obviously either it wasn't reported to the appropriate staff person or the temperature is kept at that level. As a health care professional, this is very dangerous to the guest who is working out and should be corrected.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask that the temperature is turned down in the exercise room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, Manager at Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your detailed response. While I am glad you enjoyed your time here, you have provided some great information on areas of opportunity for the hotel. If possible, I would love to get more information from you so we can look into the temperature issues from the room you stayed in. If you could email me at kelly.klocke@whitelodging.com, I would enjoy following up with you further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this Marriott last weekend for my stepson's GMU graduation; we totally loved it. The front desk personnel was welcoming and very efficient, room service was fast and delicious, the market was very convenient, and the room was very comfortable. Beside of being convenient for graduation we also enjoy the room to relax.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, Manager at Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thanks for your feedback! We enjoyed having lots of GMU graduates and family in the hotel for graduation weekend. It was nice seeing everyone reuniting with loved ones and it seemed like everyone had a great time. I am so glad your experiences with the front desk and room service exceeded your expectations. Best of luck to your new graduate and thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The staff tried to help wherever they could. They go out of their way to make the stay as pleasant as possible. The restaurant is great with a huge selection for breakfast. Again the staff was always asking if we needed anything. There is an atrium in the center of the hotel and many of the rooms face this area. This reminds me of a smaller version of the Marriott Marquis in Times Square. Whenever I head back to the Wash DC area I look forward to staying there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, Manager at Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are always working on developing great options on our breakfast buffet, so I am glad you enjoyed it. Please join us again next time you are in the DC area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The staff at this hotel is exceptional.The bar staff ( Walter) and dining room staff were extremely good.The food in the Dining room was excellent. The Tuna starter was one of the best I have eaten in any hotel world wide.The Bell Captain ( Mohammed ) was very helpful and was prepared to go the extra mile to satisfy the guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, Manager at Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It is so nice to get great name-specific feedback about our associates and we have shared your comments with Walter and Mohammed as well as the rest of the team. Thank you for staying with us in Fairfax and we hope you are able to join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

All of the personel at the Marriott at Fair Oaks always go out of thier way to make you feel welcome. Great place to stay, nice working areas and a good retaurant on site.
Located a great area as well being safe. The mall within walking distance and restaurants are very close by..
It is about 30 min to Washington DC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stay at this hotel whenever I'm in the DC area. The lobby has been remodeled. Very fresh. The rooms are spacious. The best is the staff! They go out of their way to make you feel at home. I perfer the rooms that face the outside for the light. Having shopping at 200 stores so close is a bonus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Address: 11787 Lee Jackson Memorial Highway, Fairfax, VA 22033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fairfax
#6 Business Hotel in Fairfax
#10 Family Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks is in an ideal Northern Virginia location, just 20 minutes from Dulles International Airport, and is perfect for business trips, group meetings, wedding receptions, and weekend getaways to Washington DC. Guests love being adjacent to the Fair Oaks Mall, where there are over 190 specialty store and restaurants within walking distance, and also the close proximity to Government offices, business parks, GMU, and the Udvar-Hazy center. This luxurious hotel features 11 meeting rooms with almost 9,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, a full-service business center, an indoor pool, fitness center, as well as an onsite restaurant and bar serving a delicious American menu with a variety of signature cocktails. Guest Rooms feature chic décor with modern amenities including free WiFi access and a 32” LCD HDTVs with premium cable. Meanwhile the Marriott Luxury Bedding featuring offering plush mattresses, crisp linens, and fluffy pillows is sure to give guest the perfect night’s sleep in this Fairfax, VA hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Mall Hotel Fairfax
Fairfax Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.