We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Save Saved
You added Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11787 Lee Jackson Memorial Highway, Fairfax, VA 22033   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #10 of 22 hotels in Fairfax
Houston TX
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

For my aunt funeral at Fairoaks Funeral Home, I had chosen to stay at this Fairfax Marriott and I was really happy with my stay - even though it was just one nite. Hotel is right on Lee Jackson Memorial Freeway, next to Fair Oaks Malls where guests can find lots of place to eat, and shop. I arrived late but everything was ready. Check-in agent was so nice to give me a brief talk about everything at the hotel. She even asked if I need to find smething to eat... Bedroom is clean, neat and spacious. Just one cons thing the hotel needs to improve: I tried to get some sleep, be ready for my family funeral next day but I heard people talking clearly from the oposit room (through the window and balcony). ope the hotel comes with some solutions for this.
On the next morning, I went downstair and had buffet breakfast . reasonable price, nice atmostphere, good services....
Check out is a piece of cake. Fast, efficiency.
Generally, I will stay again here on my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    92
    32
    24
    13
See reviews for
60
40
19
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Rooms clean & comfy, staff polite & attentive. Even the bellhop shared a few ideas on how to enjoy DC. A bit of a drive (30 min) from the downtown DC. Food is wonderful. Perfect for a short stay. Grab hotel card before you leave as there are other Marriotts in the area.

We stayed for 2 nights with our toddler & he simply loved running around the Atrium courtyard. Lobby is tastefully done. Rooms are spacious.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianola, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I was there in April 2013 for three nights. It is the staff that makes this hotel one of the friendliest ones. The front desk staff were exceptional, as was the morning restuarant staff. They remembered guests names when they returned.

Room Tip: A lrge shopping mall and fabulous restuarants are across the parking lot. Quiet hotel. Lots of busin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I liked this hotel. The front desk was friendly and seemed to be interested in us having a good stay.
The room was functional rather than fussy. It was clean and tidy, not as luxurious, maybe, as other Marriott's we have stayed at, but very spacious and we were very comfortable here.
We had access to the concierge lounge for breakfast, which was perfectly fine, though not spectacular. There were eggs, but no bacon or sausage, which struck me as funny.
We ordered room service one night and the food was really good, and reasonably priced.

We had a few little issues, but nothing major.My husband was slightly irritated at check-in when the bell-hop asked him to move his car half way through checking in. We were parked in the 15 minute parking in front of the hotel, and my husband had to return to the car to get his passport, when he was asked to move because a hotel bus full of airline staff was due to arrive. It was annoying, sort of insinuating that we were not as important. They may well be regular guests, but still. It was only an irritation, but you do tend to remember such things.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel had a relaxed vibe, and the rooms were comfortable and quiet. It was actually in the mall car park, which was very convenient for my teenage daughters, and the drive into DC was not too onerous, either. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stay here most every time I am in the area -- which is 3-4 times a year. It's always consistent and very comfortable. The staff has familiar faces which says that they have little turnaround. The Oak Bar and Grille is just nice -- I have eaten there many times. Maybe because of my frequency I would suggest a little change in the menu items. The pool is awesome -- I have tried many in the area staying at other hotels, and this one is great. Lifeguard on duty, nice hot tub, great fitness center area. Super convenient next to the mall, and terrific value for the price. I have not had one bad experience yet and have stayed here over 10 times maybe? Thanks Marriott Fair Oaks for being consistently good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Here's the good: Service and just general friendliness of everyone who works there is outstanding. From the front desk to the restaurant employees to housekeeping everyone was friendly and genuinely wanted to take good care of any issues. The restaurant food was also terrific...hotels rarely have good food, and I can say that is not the case with the Oak Grill...really really good food.

Not as good: The rooms are a bit tired...they definitely need to be refurbished..they are not terrible, but they are just not as nice as the lobby would you lead you to believe.

Overall, this is a great place to stay and Fairfax VA is a terrific little town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickerington, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have stayed here several times for a conference. During this past trip, I stayed in one of the inside rooms (the hotel is hollow with rooms on the inside and the outside). Some genius at the hotel decided to permit a VERY LOUD party to go on until 12:30 in one of the large banquet spaces. Again, the hotel is hollow, so any party on the ground floor with blaring music will be heard in every inside room in the hotel. I complained, they comped my room, but I needed rest more than a free room. Exasperating.

Room Tip: Choose an outside room to be safe. Oh and their breakfast buffet is not good at all. When getting br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Address: 11787 Lee Jackson Memorial Highway, Fairfax, VA 22033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fairfax
#10 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#12 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks is in an ideal Northern Virginia location, just 20 minutes from Dulles International Airport, and is perfect for business trips, group meetings, wedding receptions, and weekend getaways to Washington DC. Guests love being adjacent to the Fair Oaks Mall, where there are over 190 specialty store and restaurants within walking distance, and also the close proximity to Government offices, business parks, GMU, and the Udvar-Hazy center. This luxurious hotel features 11 meeting rooms with almost 9,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, a full-service business center, an indoor pool, fitness center, as well as an onsite restaurant and bar serving a delicious American menu with a variety of signature cocktails. Guest Rooms feature chic décor with modern amenities including free WiFi access and a 32” LCD HDTVs with premium cable. Meanwhile the Marriott Luxury Bedding featuring offering plush mattresses, crisp linens, and fluffy pillows is sure to give guest the perfect night’s sleep in this Fairfax, VA hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Mall Hotel Fairfax
Fairfax Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.