We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be incredible but isn't due to poor decisions by management” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Save Saved
You added Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11787 Lee Jackson Memorial Highway, Fairfax, VA 22033   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Fairfax
Pickerington, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Could be incredible but isn't due to poor decisions by management”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have stayed here several times for a conference. During this past trip, I stayed in one of the inside rooms (the hotel is hollow with rooms on the inside and the outside). Some genius at the hotel decided to permit a VERY LOUD party to go on until 12:30 in one of the large banquet spaces. Again, the hotel is hollow, so any party on the ground floor with blaring music will be heard in every inside room in the hotel. I complained, they comped my room, but I needed rest more than a free room. Exasperating.

Room Tip: Choose an outside room to be safe. Oh and their breakfast buffet is not good at all. When getting br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    92
    34
    24
    13
See reviews for
61
41
19
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have stayed at the Fairfax Marriott a number of times and have been satisfied each time. The hotel is clean and conveniently located. On our last visit we enjoyed a wonderful Sunday brunch at a discounted rate. Our 9 year old daughter enjoyed the pool which was well-maintained. Our only complaint was that the cleaning staff did not arrive until later in the day. The beds were very comfortable...wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
of many places
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I did not choose to stay at this hotel or pay for the room myself so I cannot comment on the price/quality but I stayed on the concierge floor with access to the concierge lounge. When I arrived at 3:15pm, my room was not ready so I to wait 45 minutes in the lobby. I was offered a bottle of water while I waited and I did some work on my laptop so this was ok with me.

The room was spacious as I had a junior suite but the furnishings and decor badly need to be renovated as they must be from about 30 years ago. They were quite simply hideous. The fluorescent overhead lights did not help either, as they cast an unpleasant hue to the room.

The bathroom was severely cramped - there was not enough room between the toilet and the door. It would be difficult for your clothing not to touch the toilet if you stand in front of the sink. And to all hotels considering a redo- please do not place the towel racks close to the toilet. It is unsanitary! In the case of my room, the towels were placed in a cubby space under the sink, which is about 10 inches away from the toilet. I am certain that the clean towels came in contact with the toilet bowel and seat when being replaced by housekeeping.

My room had windows that faced the inner courtyard/atrium and they were constantly using that open space on the ground level for gatherings. During much of the day through about 10pm, my room was very noisy - I could hear speeches being made over PA and droning sounds of conventioneers, with or without the windows open. I pity those who had rooms on a lower floor - the noise must be unbearable. If you work in your room during the day as i do or go to bed early, this could be very problematic.

I ordered room service and despite my painstakingly repeating what I wanted for a side dish, they still got it wrong.

The concierge lounge has limited service hours and is closed between 9 am and 5pm. I can understand that they may have food service during specific hours but it would have been nice if the lounge was open for coffee, tea and soft drinks during the afternoon as well. I am used to the Hilton exec lounges that are open all day so I was surprised and disappointed that this was not the case at this Marriott.

The hotel does get 2 stars from me because the bedding was comfortable and they did not have those nasty bedspreads that are never laundered.

If I were to choose a hotel in the area, I would not return here unless the above problems are addressed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I was surprised this was a Marriott. The building was more like a Holiday Inn. The hotel was right on route 50 and we heard the noise. The staff was very helpful and worked with us whether serving at the bar or helping with dinner reservation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off Route 50
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

I stay at the Marriott Fair Oaks frequently, and enjoy it every time. From the front desk staff to the rooms to the workout facility, everything is top notch. Plus, unlike most hotels, I sleep like a rock!!! The hotel is near everything you need but also in a quiet area, especially at night. Recommend!

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I've been stayed at Marriott for many years, the quality and service are very consistent. But I must say "Hatton" at front desk was the best; he's so helpful and efficient; I asked for frig and microwave also a roll bed, he gets it done/requested in less than a minute. A lady gave me a bottle of water and extra shampoo conditioner even she's not a cleaning lady but I asked her for when I saw her at the hallway.
The value for weekend is great and includes delicious breakfast since I am gold member.
I love the jacuzzi tub and the location is right cross street from the Fair Oaks mall. We have wonderful stay and will be back for sure.

Room Tip: I always prefer a higher floor in case upper level has nosie
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Got this 3-1/2-Star Marriott on PriceLine for, get this... 70 simoleons. Listed on Marriott website for 279. Go figure. I do not normally use Marriott because my budget does not accomodate the rates they normally charge. But, "Voila!!!" I get a government contractor's room on a salesman's budget. Way cool.

Parking is free. Restaurant prices are reasonable. Fitness room is much nicer than those to which I am accustomed. The place does earn it's star rating. Very pleased with everything except these folks charge for WiFi in the room. I have never figured that out. Even Disney World now provides Internet access for free. But.... what do I know, right? Just go down to the lobby where it is free, or do stuff on your smart phone.

I would recommend this hotel only at the PriceLine rate, or are on an expense account with a company that has deep pockets.

Room Tip: Looks like any room is likely to be fine, since this hotel is away from any traffic noise in a park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Address: 11787 Lee Jackson Memorial Highway, Fairfax, VA 22033
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fairfax
#8 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#12 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks is in an ideal Northern Virginia location, just 20 minutes from Dulles International Airport, and is perfect for business trips, group meetings, wedding receptions, and weekend getaways to Washington DC. Guests love being adjacent to the Fair Oaks Mall, where there are over 190 specialty store and restaurants within walking distance, and also the close proximity to Government offices, business parks, GMU, and the Udvar-Hazy center. This luxurious hotel features 11 meeting rooms with almost 9,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, a full-service business center, an indoor pool, fitness center, as well as an onsite restaurant and bar serving a delicious American menu with a variety of signature cocktails. Guest Rooms feature chic décor with modern amenities including free WiFi access and a 32” LCD HDTVs with premium cable. Meanwhile the Marriott Luxury Bedding featuring offering plush mattresses, crisp linens, and fluffy pillows is sure to give guest the perfect night’s sleep in this Fairfax, VA hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Mall Hotel Fairfax
Fairfax Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.