We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service and value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks to your Saves list
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11787 Lee Jackson Memorial Highway, Fairfax, VA 22033   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Fairfax
Oceanside, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great customer service and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I've been stayed at Marriott for many years, the quality and service are very consistent. But I must say "Hatton" at front desk was the best; he's so helpful and efficient; I asked for frig and microwave also a roll bed, he gets it done/requested in less than a minute. A lady gave me a bottle of water and extra shampoo conditioner even she's not a cleaning lady but I asked her for when I saw her at the hallway.
The value for weekend is great and includes delicious breakfast since I am gold member.
I love the jacuzzi tub and the location is right cross street from the Fair Oaks mall. We have wonderful stay and will be back for sure.

Room Tip: I always prefer a higher floor in case upper level has nosie
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    102
    39
    27
    13
See reviews for
68
43
20
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Got this 3-1/2-Star Marriott on PriceLine for, get this... 70 simoleons. Listed on Marriott website for 279. Go figure. I do not normally use Marriott because my budget does not accomodate the rates they normally charge. But, "Voila!!!" I get a government contractor's room on a salesman's budget. Way cool.

Parking is free. Restaurant prices are reasonable. Fitness room is much nicer than those to which I am accustomed. The place does earn it's star rating. Very pleased with everything except these folks charge for WiFi in the room. I have never figured that out. Even Disney World now provides Internet access for free. But.... what do I know, right? Just go down to the lobby where it is free, or do stuff on your smart phone.

I would recommend this hotel only at the PriceLine rate, or are on an expense account with a company that has deep pockets.

Room Tip: Looks like any room is likely to be fine, since this hotel is away from any traffic noise in a park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The front desk was extremely nice and very helpful! I checked into my room and it was very clean, spacious and invariably sweet smelling. I used the workout room which had actually decent machines that worked very well. I forgot my headphones but the front desk provided a pair. The hotel is shaped like a cube with rooms facing outside (I think) and rooms facing the atrium across from other rooms. I had an atrium view. Honestly, for $70 (it was a Saturday), you really couldn't beat it. Free WiFi for Marriott rewards members. Starbucks coffee in the market.

I didn't eat there but there is a breakfast buffet for about $15 that my friends have partaken in and have enjoyed. Ample parking (however, it is located outside the Fair Oaks Mall Circle of Death) so if you need to take a left turn....be careful!

They also got me extra pillows and put me on a high floor as requested. They definitely acknowledge if you're a Rewards member. Plus, the young front desk attendant is cute so that got them the 5th star. LMAO!!!

Room Tip: I believe the rooms with even numbers face the atrium where the odds would face the outside. (I thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeasten Virginia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was our first stay at the Marriott Fair Oaks. A full-service hotel in a great location. Since we are members of the Marriott Gold Elite, we could use the concierge room on the 6th floor. Our reservation was for a king room, but we were given a room with two queen beds which was fine. The room was spacious, quiet and very clean. The workout room was very clean, but one of the ellipticals was not working. This is an excellent business hotel that is reasonably priced.

Room Tip: For a quiet room, ask for a room that does not overlook the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, PA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is a classic Marriott and has good location for shoppers but needs to update it's beds, furnishings, bathroom and electrical outlets. Our room had flickering lights and the clock radio went out after resetting it 3 times. The rooms had double beds, not queens and queens were not available for reservations at this hotel. I'm guessing they haven't switched over because of the room size issue of being an older Marriott. Also, the shower is nice but the bathroom had no fan so it steamed up all the time. The beds are "Soft" not much firmness to the mattresses. If you like a soft bed this is the place. This hotel has a beautiful atrium and a Starbucks/Market in the lobby and the service is solid all around. Their is a pool and they had a lifeguard on duty--but the "hot" tub was a "cold" tub they just cleaned it on Friday evening? (maybe should've been cleaned earlier in the day for a weekend? You will need a car to stay here the nearest Metro stop is in Vienna if you want to venture to DC for the day. Overall if you need a place to plop your head I would give an okay rating. It has potential to be a true Marriott with updating of their rooms.

Room Tip: If you are not with your family and are a couple get a King size bed room. The doubles are soft and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stay in hotels every week so I know what amenities meet my needs. This Marriott offers them. Rooms are clean, staff is extremely polite and helpful, and they even offer Starbucks in their cafe. The availability of a Concierge is an added plus for meetings and evening coffee. Excellent business hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, md
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Clean but very dated. They have flatscreen tvs in the rooms but that's about it. The location is excellent if you like the Fair Oaks mall and all the restaurants there. Fair Oaks mall is a super mall. The concierge lounge in this hotel is decent but not the best.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Address: 11787 Lee Jackson Memorial Highway, Fairfax, VA 22033
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fairfax
#8 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#10 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfax Marriott hotel at Fair Oaks is in an ideal Northern Virginia location, just 20 minutes from Dulles International Airport, and offers newly-renovated accommodations that are perfect for business trips, group meetings, wedding receptions, and weekend getaways to Washington DC. Guests love being adjacent to the Fair Oaks Mall, where there are over 190 specialty store and restaurants are within walking distance, and also the close proximity to Government offices, business parks, GMU, and the Udvar-Hazy center. This stylish hotel features 11 meeting rooms with almost 9,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, a full-service business center, an indoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, as well as the onsite 703 Bar + Kitchen serving a delicious American menu paired a variety of signature cocktails and craft beers. The redesigned guest rooms feature chic decor with thoughtful amenities including free WiFi access and 42" LCD HDTVs with premium cable. Guests are also sure to get the perfect night's sleep on Marriott signature Revive(R) bedding offering plush mattresses, crisp linens, and fluffy pillows. Whether you're taking a business trip or a weekend getaway, this Marriott hotel combines modern amenities with newly-renovated accommodations to make it one of the best hotels in Fairfax, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Mall Hotel Fairfax
Fairfax Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.