We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always very accommodating and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Save Saved
You added Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11787 Lee Jackson Memorial Highway, Fairfax, VA 22033   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 23 hotels in Fairfax
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Always very accommodating and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We live locally, but decided to stay here for the night after attending an event in the hotel's ballroom. It's the second time we've stayed at this particular property and we really enjoyed ourselves. The front desk is very courteous and friendly. The rooms are very clean and cozy. We were upgraded to the concierge level free of charge and liked the room. There isn't much for views (the mall or the busy roads). You can tell they have nice mattresses, but they were a little soft for my liking. It's convenient. We saw a lot of transient guests, airline stewardesses and one or two business people that must have stayed over the weekend while we were there. The ballroom was typical and the food was good. The foyer where we had hors d'oeurves was very open and pleasant. Parking is free. There are computers in the lobby for you to check your email. There's also a gift shop and restaurant on the lobby level.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    84
    28
    19
    13
See reviews for
59
36
19
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin Park, New Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Let me start by saying that the loaction is great and for the most part is an ok hotel. Not the best full service Marriott but the convenience to everything outweighs it. I am a Platinum Elite Member and ejoy the perks of being one that's why I make it a point to stay at a Marriott property where I go. However, since we got the room at a discount, we have not been treated as a platinum member at all and it has been very a disappointing experience. First example, I was put in one of the rooms facing the indoor atrium so sun at all. When asked to be moved to the 6th floor, I was told no beacuse my rate was discounted and they wanted to reserve those rooms for higher paying customers. First of all, price does not determine treatment of a guess. I have stayed in numerous properties raging from special rates to free and have never been been treated as non Elite. Additionally, when asked for a breakfast coupon, I was given a Silver elite one (few dollars discount). When I specifically asked for a Platinum one, was told that none existed. However, I saw different color coded coupons at breakfast and even some that were FREE! So basically I was blatantly lied to and when I mentioned it, the response was because my rate is low. Now just to point out, the weekend rates at this hotel are much lower than what i had paid and on most weekdays my rate was ~ $30 or less!

I would like to add that most of the staff is wonderful and shouldn't be judged by a few people that lack the hospitality training!

Had this been my first Marriott experience, I would never stay at another Marriott property. Very Sad but the Fair Oaks Courtyard was much better. So disappointing!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for an outside room at checking. Else you will be in total darkness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel is about 30 minutes straight west of downtown D.C. via I-66. We like to stay outside of D.C. as the value (we stay on the weekend) and traffic are much better. We used to stay at the Tyson's Corner Marriott but the traffic has gotten really bad there and they now have a parking charge. So the Fair Oaks Marriott is our new go-hotel.

When we were last there in January, we had a bg spacious corner room with king bed. The bathroom is very spacious with lots of space to put toiletries. There is also a small alcove next to the bathroom with a counter, mirror, and coffee maker. This makes it quicker for 2+ people to get dressed in the morning.

The front desk staff is super friendly and helpful. They provided info on nearby shopping centers and restaurants. They also loaned us a tape dispenser which was very nice.

The breakfast buffet has a good variety of food including smoked salmon. There are eggs cooked to order as well. A great example of how service-oriented this hotel was our breakfast server Elosia. Well, she didn't start out as our server. When our server got tied up talking to a table of guests, she brought us coffee and juice which was greatly appreciated! Elosia did what it took to make us happy even though we weren't her table. We'll definitely come back to the Fair Oaks Marriott whenever we're in the D.C. area.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savage, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Signed up for two races to bring in the New Year with Pacers in Old Town Fairfax, Va. I checked in New Years eve to do the Twighlight 4 miler. The receptionist was exceptionally friendly. I told her I would be up the next morning to do another race in the area. She said she knew I would need good rest and wanted to make sure my room would be away from the New Years Party that will take place throughout the night. I slept well and was very pleased. Very nice Mall near by.

Room Tip: Reserve for floor 6 or rooms that faces outside. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My mother and I have stayed at this hotel one or two other times in the past and have always enjoyed it. We were in the area for Christmas shopping and it is great that the mall is right across the road. We stayed for two nights, check in was easy, and everyone was very nice. The room was big and just what we needed. The parking lot in the front gets full sometimes especially if the hotel is hosting a party/convention. I recommend if you need more space then there is more parking in the back. There is a lot of different places to eat and things to do around the area with just a little drive away.
My only complaint was that the heat did not seem to work in our room. It was a little cold outside the weekend we went up there. My mom would turn the thermostat on the wall to 78 and it would never feel like that. It was bearable two nights; it was just cold every morning.We are use to the cold and once you got into the bed it was not too bad.
Overall though the place is nice and especially for the price and location. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is the 3rd year my speech and debate team has stayed at this hotel for the George Mason Tournament. It was another great stay. The rates are good, even if you do not have a special deal as we did because of the tournament. The staff is efficient and caring. There was confusion about room location when I went to check in this time, and the gentleman at the desk worked the computer until he could accomodate my request. You cannot beat the location if you have teenagers. The Fair Oaks Mall is just next door...complete with Cheesecake Factory, H and M, and other stores and food sure to please those under 20. One good stay is great; two good stays mean the first good stay was not an accident; the third good stay- not staying anywhere else unless I have to while I am in the area.

Room Tip: Breakfast was not stellar, but at the room price we had, I can take the kids by Panera.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calvert City, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I was here on business and utilized their meeting rooms. The sleeping rooms are very nice, with comfortable beds. Plenty of room and decor is pleasant. The location was wonderful, not far from Dulles and just across the parking lot from the mall. Easy walk to the mall for shopping and eating. The meeting rooms were nice and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful with every request.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Also Known As:
Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Mall Hotel Fairfax
Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Mall Hotel
Marriott Fairfax
Fairfax Marriott
Address: 11787 Lee Jackson Memorial Highway, Fairfax, VA 22033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Fairfax
#10 Family Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks is in an ideal Northern Virginia location, just 20 minutes from Dulles International Airport, and is perfect for business trips, group meetings, wedding receptions, and weekend getaways to Washington DC. Guests love being adjacent to the Fair Oaks Mall, where there are over 190 specialty store and restaurants within walking distance, and also the close proximity to Government offices, business parks, GMU, and the Udvar-Hazy center. This luxurious hotel features 11 meeting rooms with almost 9,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, a full-service business center, an indoor pool, fitness center, as well as an onsite restaurant and bar serving a delicious American menu with a variety of signature cocktails. Guest Rooms feature chic décor with modern amenities including free WiFi access and a 32” LCD HDTVs with premium cable. Meanwhile the Marriott Luxury Bedding featuring offering plush mattresses, crisp linens, and fluffy pillows is sure to give guest the perfect night’s sleep in this Fairfax, VA hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.