We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Marriott for the Price of a Courtyard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Save Saved
You added Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11787 Lee Jackson Memorial Highway, Fairfax, VA 22033   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Fairfax
Atlanta
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A Marriott for the Price of a Courtyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Warning: if you are using iPhone navigation and heading down Route 50 take the mall entrance. Pleasant check-in greated by my name by the bellhop who offered me a paper, Public areas and halls are spotless. Very clean, cheery and well-maintained IMO. Received upgrade to a junior suite.Has a large seating area, walk in closet, but tiny bathroom. The bathroom however was well appointed (patterned wallpaper!). Besides the usual shampoo, cond., body lotion, also received body wash and shoe buff. Room also contained mini fridge and microwave. Shower had good water pressure, although the hot/cold handle is confusing. Didin't stay long enough for dining on premise.Need a place to eat with goodcraft beer? Try the Dogfishhead Ale Houe 2 miles away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    92
    34
    24
    13
See reviews for
61
41
19
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southern California, U.S.A.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I am, like many of you, a member of the Marriott Rewards program. If you need a Marriott in Northern Virginia then my opinion is you pass on this property. Why....

I made a reservation on the concerige floor and was willing to pay the extra to stay on that floor as it meets my travel requirements. When I checked in I was told that the concerige floor was sold out. How could it be sold out when I made a reservation for that floor. Oh, I know - because you gave my room away! Instead they just lowered the rate. Unhappy I checked in to my hotel room which was very dated and had a loose window which broght in highway noise. Check-in: Fail.

At check-out I noticed a charge on my bill that was not mine. At check-out I was shown the bar receipt for this questioned charge. In my opinion, he got my room right and a perfect match of my signature (my signature is very unique). Unfortunatley he misspelled my last name. The only thing I signed at that hotel was a room service charge. I believe this given the series of events and signature. Sorry pal if you are going to copy my info off a room service charge then remember how to spell my last name, Hope you enjoyed the beers - loser! Check-out: Fail

Safe travels!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The staff is very friendly - but there are serious strikes that are simply unacceptable in a hotel in the greater DC area.

-Charging for internet access. Seriously? In 2012? I have been to 2-star holes in other parts of the country and have had free wi-fi. Charging for internet in this day is simply a foul.

-Hotel advertisements on the television that ruin viewing. You read that correctly. Every ten of fifteen minutes one-fourth of my tv screen was filled with an advertisement (part of the hotel system) that bragged about a 'surround sound' system. It interrupts tv viewing. Really - ads on top of ads already on the tv? When I want to watch tv, I don't want it eclipsed by ads - haven't I already paid for the room?

-Needed a second set of room key cards. . .and they barely worked. . .

Nice people, decent location . . what on earth is going on here?

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed here while visiting my daughters during Thanksgiving week. Just across the parking lot from the mall and reasonably close to many restaurants. Typical older Marriott. Great rooms and the bed was very comfortable. Hotel food was overpriced for what you received. Average value for this type of hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Walked in to a warm Hello from the bellboy and while I was standing in line to check in, he asked if I would need a news paper & if I need help with the heavy luggage which I don't because I was staying for only 1 night on the weekend. Booked a room with buffet breakfast for an additional $10/ person, so worth it! Food are plentiful, good quality, egg station & great service. I didn't see any fridge in the room but I overheard at the lobby that you can request one if available. The gym is great, 3 treadmills, 3 ellipticals and 2 bikes, with a little weight station and benches. We also used the pool, which comes with a lifeguard. It is a little bit intimidating to have someone stare at you in a little indoor pool and I don't think it's that deep either, probably about 4ft-ish.
Oh and the hot tub, is everyone's favorites.

The hotel has lots of meeting/function room and there was some sort of class reunion that took place during our stay but we didn't encounter any noise problem.

Short walk to the Mall for shopping and dinner option.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Second time staying at this property and will not be staying anywhere else in Fairfax but this property. Walk to the Fair Oaks Mall and have your pick of restaurants, or eat in at the hotel restaurant. Good breakfast buffet, plenty of employees in the hotel, and a warm hello upon entering. The bar is cozy, and the fitness center is well-equipped. Internet service is not free unless you are a Marriott member.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the non-highway side, as it tends to be busy all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
370 reviews 370 reviews
240 hotel reviews
Reviews in 251 cities Reviews in 251 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is a great weekend hotel. The prices are fantastic for what you get. Yes - it is older and the rooms are a little rough around some of the edges but who cares. My Marriott status is always recognized and I always receive a wonderful, complimentary breakfast buffet (with the best coffee anywhere) on the weekends. Staff of this hotel work hard to please their guests and they are very attentive. The beds are typical Marriott so they are very comfortable and the sheets are lovely and soft. One small issue - some of the rooms have windows that face inside the building. Noise can leak into the rooms if there is a party of any kind and this can make it difficult to sleep if you want to do so before the party ends. I suggest you always request a window to the outside to avoid this problem. Again, this is a great place if you can get a lower, weekend rate.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view of the street if there is a special event happening.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Address: 11787 Lee Jackson Memorial Highway, Fairfax, VA 22033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fairfax
#8 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#12 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks is in an ideal Northern Virginia location, just 20 minutes from Dulles International Airport, and is perfect for business trips, group meetings, wedding receptions, and weekend getaways to Washington DC. Guests love being adjacent to the Fair Oaks Mall, where there are over 190 specialty store and restaurants within walking distance, and also the close proximity to Government offices, business parks, GMU, and the Udvar-Hazy center. This luxurious hotel features 11 meeting rooms with almost 9,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, a full-service business center, an indoor pool, fitness center, as well as an onsite restaurant and bar serving a delicious American menu with a variety of signature cocktails. Guest Rooms feature chic décor with modern amenities including free WiFi access and a 32” LCD HDTVs with premium cable. Meanwhile the Marriott Luxury Bedding featuring offering plush mattresses, crisp linens, and fluffy pillows is sure to give guest the perfect night’s sleep in this Fairfax, VA hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Mall Hotel Fairfax
Fairfax Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.