We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice amenities but getting a bit stale with age.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Save Saved
You added Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11787 Lee Jackson Memorial Highway, Fairfax, VA 22033   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Fairfax
Ashland, Oregon
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location and nice amenities but getting a bit stale with age.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed here while visiting my daughters during Thanksgiving week. Just across the parking lot from the mall and reasonably close to many restaurants. Typical older Marriott. Great rooms and the bed was very comfortable. Hotel food was overpriced for what you received. Average value for this type of hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    92
    34
    24
    13
See reviews for
61
41
19
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Walked in to a warm Hello from the bellboy and while I was standing in line to check in, he asked if I would need a news paper & if I need help with the heavy luggage which I don't because I was staying for only 1 night on the weekend. Booked a room with buffet breakfast for an additional $10/ person, so worth it! Food are plentiful, good quality, egg station & great service. I didn't see any fridge in the room but I overheard at the lobby that you can request one if available. The gym is great, 3 treadmills, 3 ellipticals and 2 bikes, with a little weight station and benches. We also used the pool, which comes with a lifeguard. It is a little bit intimidating to have someone stare at you in a little indoor pool and I don't think it's that deep either, probably about 4ft-ish.
Oh and the hot tub, is everyone's favorites.

The hotel has lots of meeting/function room and there was some sort of class reunion that took place during our stay but we didn't encounter any noise problem.

Short walk to the Mall for shopping and dinner option.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Second time staying at this property and will not be staying anywhere else in Fairfax but this property. Walk to the Fair Oaks Mall and have your pick of restaurants, or eat in at the hotel restaurant. Good breakfast buffet, plenty of employees in the hotel, and a warm hello upon entering. The bar is cozy, and the fitness center is well-equipped. Internet service is not free unless you are a Marriott member.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the non-highway side, as it tends to be busy all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
375 reviews 375 reviews
244 hotel reviews
Reviews in 254 cities Reviews in 254 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is a great weekend hotel. The prices are fantastic for what you get. Yes - it is older and the rooms are a little rough around some of the edges but who cares. My Marriott status is always recognized and I always receive a wonderful, complimentary breakfast buffet (with the best coffee anywhere) on the weekends. Staff of this hotel work hard to please their guests and they are very attentive. The beds are typical Marriott so they are very comfortable and the sheets are lovely and soft. One small issue - some of the rooms have windows that face inside the building. Noise can leak into the rooms if there is a party of any kind and this can make it difficult to sleep if you want to do so before the party ends. I suggest you always request a window to the outside to avoid this problem. Again, this is a great place if you can get a lower, weekend rate.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view of the street if there is a special event happening.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Whenever I'm in the area, this is my hotel of choice. This specific Marriott recognizes my Platinum Rewards Member status and always remembers my requests. Hotel is a bit older but is well up kept. Amenities are very nice - i.e. pool, gym, small cafe, restaurant, Concierge Lounge. All of the staff are welcoming, friendly, and professional. Beds are very comfortable - definitely a good night's rest! For those that are able to partake, the Concierge lounge food was filling and delicious. Would highly recommend, as I always try to stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a nice older hotel where the Doorman greets you at the door when you arrived ready and willing to help in any way. Quite a surprise to be greeted by the doorman considering the low nightly rate. The hotel is older but still is elegant and truly a gem. The hotel was fully staffed and all the staff were in uniform attire (like the 5 star hotels). All the staff we encounter during our stay were both friendly and professional.

Our room was clean and welcoming.

We decided to eat at the onsite restaurant and were really impressed with our meal and the cost of dinner was reasonable with tip for two adults we gave up a Grant. We returned to our room and I could hear some foot traffic inside our room but when bedtime arrived the halls were quiet and we crawled into our cozy bed and off to sleep.

In the morning we returned to the restaurant for a breakfast buffet (for ten dollars more on our nightly rate we chose the stay and breakfast deal). The buffet was nice with fresh fruits, cereals (hot and cold) eggs, meat, pastries, muffins and breads and to top that a chef was ready and willing to make an omelet of your choice.

The mall was within walking distance. The hotel is just a short drive from Dulles airport, the air and space museum and D.C.

We will definitely will stay here again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The hotel staff was wonderful and friendly. Vanessa, one of the managers, greeted us and made us feel welcomed! There is a mall across the street from the hotel which made it very convenient for us to shop! Our hotel room was very clean and comfortable! We will definitely return for another visit in the future!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Address: 11787 Lee Jackson Memorial Highway, Fairfax, VA 22033
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fairfax
#8 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#12 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks is in an ideal Northern Virginia location, just 20 minutes from Dulles International Airport, and is perfect for business trips, group meetings, wedding receptions, and weekend getaways to Washington DC. Guests love being adjacent to the Fair Oaks Mall, where there are over 190 specialty store and restaurants within walking distance, and also the close proximity to Government offices, business parks, GMU, and the Udvar-Hazy center. This luxurious hotel features 11 meeting rooms with almost 9,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, a full-service business center, an indoor pool, fitness center, as well as an onsite restaurant and bar serving a delicious American menu with a variety of signature cocktails. Guest Rooms feature chic décor with modern amenities including free WiFi access and a 32” LCD HDTVs with premium cable. Meanwhile the Marriott Luxury Bedding featuring offering plush mattresses, crisp linens, and fluffy pillows is sure to give guest the perfect night’s sleep in this Fairfax, VA hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Mall Hotel Fairfax
Fairfax Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.