We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel & great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Best prices from these 8 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks to your Saves list
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11787 Lee Jackson Memorial Highway, Fairfax, VA 22033   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Fairfax
Houston, Tx
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Very good hotel & great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

This was the 4th time I have stayed in this hotel over a 3 year period and as usual it was a very good experience.

* OVERALL QUALITY: Very good
** The rooms are very clean & well laid out.......desk, couch & coffee table, beds very comfortable. Bathrooms a little small.
** Ancilliary areas: good work out room, pool very good, conference rooms are excellent.
** Restaurant & bar: bar and restaurant good (sometimes service can be a little slow). Continental breakfast is good with good selections & waffles and pancakes are included - order from the waiters. Staff are very friendly. Bar has very good drinks.

* PRICE: not sure about the regular prices but Priceline is in the $80 to $90 range.

* LOCATION: Excellent. If you are going to stay in the Fairfax area then it is a great location. It is very close to the main highways so it is easy to get around. Also if you want to shop or have a place to eat (multiple places -- including a Cheesecake Factory & Starbucks....what else do you need) it is a very short walk (4-5 minutes) to the Fair Oaks mall. It is a very nice mall if you want to shop or just have something to do.
NOT GOOD....If you intend to go into DC very often then you should stay closer in. The subway is not very close to Farifax and the rush hour traffic is extremely heavy.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    94
    34
    25
    13
See reviews for
63
41
19
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The price this hotel usually offers is too high compared to what the worth is. The SpringHill Suites down the street is a much better bet for a lower price. The best plus is that the hotel is located in the shopping circle of the mall, but the rooms/decor are kind of out-dated, and the bathroom was so-so in cleanliness. We had a room that faced the interior atrium of the hotel and when loud noises were going on down in the atrium, we could hear them in our room. The hotel itself is very pretty, but the rooms need work to be at the same level.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

My family and I found our accommodations to be comfortable for our 1-night stay here. The room was a comfortable temperature, the beds were soft and comfy, the pillows were good, and the bathroom was nice and clean. The only thing that was missing from our room was a microwave. The other family we came with had a microwave in their room. That was the only thing that was a little weird. My two kids used the pool and they said it was nice--the chlorine in there would rival Great Wolf Lodge's chlorine (my eyes were BURNING and so were theirs).

The continental breakfast was great--one of the best we've ever had actually. The servers were very accommodating and super friendly! We were all happy with our quick overnight stay. Would definitely stay here again, no second thoughts. :-)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millerton, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I was attending my daughter's wedding in Fairfax and treated members of my family to two nights at this hotel. I was taking 10 rooms. I was concerned that people would be disappointed as the price was so reasonable. The hotel was great. The rooms were great, the restaurant was great and all the other amenities were also great. Everyone was very pleased.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia, MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

While hotel lobby looks nice, the rest of experience is quite different. My key did not work so I had to come back and get a new one that also did not work for 3 times. I asked the maintenance guy to help that he basically said that you need to try 3-4 times and sometimes it works sometime it does not. The rooms were reasonably clean but the noise level was quite high. When I stayed (previously) in the interior room and open a window you could hear all conversations from the inside yard, if you have outside room and open a window you hear the highway noise. Frontdesk guys were very pollute but the manager was very short and rude. Swimming pool is suitable only for kids and have very limited operating hours. When I took the stairs I could smell cigarette smoke near the 1st floor in the corner next to the swimming pool.
Keep in mind that it is hard to talk to people in the center yard of the hotel because noise gets reflected from all walls and if someone else is talking the noise level is quite high. When I stepped outside near the gazebo at the backside of the hotel to talk on my cell phone the highway noise was quite high, which made talking difficult.
The bottom line is : if you want a noisy outdated hotel with a nice lobby near the mall this is the place for you I will stay elsewhere for less in a better place because there are plenty of options around such as renovated Spring Hill Suites.

Room Tip: plenty of hotels around. If you like Marriott, stay in the Spring Hill Suites or Residence Inn nearb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

This is the best hotel in Fairfax. Great prices during the busy week and super pricing for the weekend. The most comfortable beds you will find anywhere. Easy to get on and off the freeway.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011 via mobile

Stopped here in a rain storm on our way further south and received a great $89 rate, including a bountiful breakfast buffet (hot and cold).

Our king bed room was just fine, and had everything we needed for a restful sleep before hitting the road the next morning.

Proximity to mall would be a great attribute if you needed to go shopping.

Hotel bar was nice and fitness center was bright and clean. Featured 3 treadmills, 3 ellipticals and 2 bikes as well as free weights. Pool is guarded by lifeguard (not common at small hotels). Hot tub a plus!

Staff at check in a great plus, esp. Omar from Italy.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Address: 11787 Lee Jackson Memorial Highway, Fairfax, VA 22033
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fairfax
#9 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#12 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks is in an ideal Northern Virginia location, just 20 minutes from Dulles International Airport, and is perfect for business trips, group meetings, wedding receptions, and weekend getaways to Washington DC. Guests love being adjacent to the Fair Oaks Mall, where there are over 190 specialty store and restaurants within walking distance, and also the close proximity to Government offices, business parks, GMU, and the Udvar-Hazy center. This luxurious hotel features 11 meeting rooms with almost 9,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, a full-service business center, an indoor pool, fitness center, as well as an onsite restaurant and bar serving a delicious American menu with a variety of signature cocktails. Guest Rooms feature chic décor with modern amenities including free WiFi access and a 32” LCD HDTVs with premium cable. Meanwhile the Marriott Luxury Bedding featuring offering plush mattresses, crisp linens, and fluffy pillows is sure to give guest the perfect night’s sleep in this Fairfax, VA hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Mall Hotel Fairfax
Fairfax Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.