We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Save Saved
You added Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11787 Lee Jackson Memorial Highway, Fairfax, VA 22033   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 22 hotels in Fairfax
Millerton, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“wedding treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I was attending my daughter's wedding in Fairfax and treated members of my family to two nights at this hotel. I was taking 10 rooms. I was concerned that people would be disappointed as the price was so reasonable. The hotel was great. The rooms were great, the restaurant was great and all the other amenities were also great. Everyone was very pleased.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    89
    30
    22
    13
See reviews for
60
38
19
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
columbia, MD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

While hotel lobby looks nice, the rest of experience is quite different. My key did not work so I had to come back and get a new one that also did not work for 3 times. I asked the maintenance guy to help that he basically said that you need to try 3-4 times and sometimes it works sometime it does not. The rooms were reasonably clean but the noise level was quite high. When I stayed (previously) in the interior room and open a window you could hear all conversations from the inside yard, if you have outside room and open a window you hear the highway noise. Frontdesk guys were very pollute but the manager was very short and rude. Swimming pool is suitable only for kids and have very limited operating hours. When I took the stairs I could smell cigarette smoke near the 1st floor in the corner next to the swimming pool.
Keep in mind that it is hard to talk to people in the center yard of the hotel because noise gets reflected from all walls and if someone else is talking the noise level is quite high. When I stepped outside near the gazebo at the backside of the hotel to talk on my cell phone the highway noise was quite high, which made talking difficult.
The bottom line is : if you want a noisy outdated hotel with a nice lobby near the mall this is the place for you I will stay elsewhere for less in a better place because there are plenty of options around such as renovated Spring Hill Suites.

Room Tip: plenty of hotels around. If you like Marriott, stay in the Spring Hill Suites or Residence Inn nearb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

This is the best hotel in Fairfax. Great prices during the busy week and super pricing for the weekend. The most comfortable beds you will find anywhere. Easy to get on and off the freeway.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011 via mobile

Stopped here in a rain storm on our way further south and received a great $89 rate, including a bountiful breakfast buffet (hot and cold).

Our king bed room was just fine, and had everything we needed for a restful sleep before hitting the road the next morning.

Proximity to mall would be a great attribute if you needed to go shopping.

Hotel bar was nice and fitness center was bright and clean. Featured 3 treadmills, 3 ellipticals and 2 bikes as well as free weights. Pool is guarded by lifeguard (not common at small hotels). Hot tub a plus!

Staff at check in a great plus, esp. Omar from Italy.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We booked a room at this immaculate hotel and are so glad we did. I was a little wary because the room was so inexpensive and I was figuring one gets what one pays for. That was definitely not true in this case!

We flew into Dulles and had about a 20 minute trip (during rush hour) to this property. We flew out of Ronald Reagan Internation and had a 30 minute trip from this property (on a Sunday morning). Saturday we drove into downtown D.C. and it took approximately 40 minutes, but it was a straight shot. This hotel is so conveniently located! We were 5 minutes from a Wegmann's store and within walking distance to a Cheesecake Factory and Chick-fil-A (in the mall).

The hotel is 6 stories and there is an atrium with balconies overlooking the interior (not unlike an Embassy Suites). Our room overlooked the parking lot, but it was quiet. In fact, we were near the elevator and never heard a sound from the hallway.

We had a king-sized room which had a comfy sofa, a digital HD television, and a granite counter in the clean bathroom (no obligatory hair). We ordered chips and a soda from room service and it was only $8 and delivered quickly. We had the breakfast buffet and it was delicious...eggs, bacon, bagels, fruit, French toast sticks, home fries, milk, juice... At a very affordable price.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Marriott Fair Oaks had reasonable rates, good facilities and very friendly staff. Check in was efficient and we were treated nicely even though we had very low discount internet rates.
The gym was good but there were not enough weights or weight machines - reasonable selection of CV machines. The pool and jacuzzi were nice but the hours are limited.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis MO
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

First off, this hotel is in a great location, basically in the parking lot to the Fair Oaks Mall. Within walking distance there is the mall, a sports Bar, Texas de Brazil and Cheese Cake Factory.
The hotel has a lounge, with a light breakfast. I have never made it back at a decent time to see what, if anything they offer in the evenings other than a continual fruit basket.
The hotel resturant is decent, nothing great or bad about it. When i was there the menu had the basic Marriott fare. My favorites were the home-made chips and the Marriott Burger.
I would not recommend this hotel if you are in the area purely for sightseeing in DC, unless you get a great rate. It is a 30-40 minute drive into DC without traffic.
The rooms are decent size and the beds are comfortable.
Parking is free, which is the norm in this area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Address: 11787 Lee Jackson Memorial Highway, Fairfax, VA 22033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fairfax
#11 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#11 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks is in an ideal Northern Virginia location, just 20 minutes from Dulles International Airport, and is perfect for business trips, group meetings, wedding receptions, and weekend getaways to Washington DC. Guests love being adjacent to the Fair Oaks Mall, where there are over 190 specialty store and restaurants within walking distance, and also the close proximity to Government offices, business parks, GMU, and the Udvar-Hazy center. This luxurious hotel features 11 meeting rooms with almost 9,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, a full-service business center, an indoor pool, fitness center, as well as an onsite restaurant and bar serving a delicious American menu with a variety of signature cocktails. Guest Rooms feature chic décor with modern amenities including free WiFi access and a 32” LCD HDTVs with premium cable. Meanwhile the Marriott Luxury Bedding featuring offering plush mattresses, crisp linens, and fluffy pillows is sure to give guest the perfect night’s sleep in this Fairfax, VA hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Mall Hotel Fairfax
Fairfax Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.