We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Create your own burger and tasty fries” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smashburger

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Smashburger
10160 Fairfax Blvd, Ste 118, Fairfax, VA 22030
(703) 291-1264
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 348 Restaurants in Fairfax
Restaurant details
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Create your own burger and tasty fries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

One of the main draws for me here are the "smash fries", but lets talk about the burgers first.

The burgers are "smashed" hence the name so they are pressed down. What this means is you will usually have normal sized flat burger with some thin crispy edges from the smashing. The burgers are always cooked well but can occasionally be a little greasy. Much like Five Guys, you pick your own toppings. Where I like smashburger more, is in the selection of options you get. Any place that lets me put Goat Cheese, Arugala and Avocado on my burger is ok in my book.

If a burger isn't your thing, you also have the option to make a chicken sandwich ( pick your choices) or a salad. It's got a good variety of options so you can make your own or choose one of their premade sandwich choices.

They have several fry selections from Regular Fries to Sweet Potato Fries. My favorite are the "smash fries" which are coated in their own mixture of flavors and are deliciously adicting.

They have your usual drink choices as well as several flavored tea options. They also sell beer and wine if you are interested.

All in all, its a good burger joint. They can give a group several different options with either a burger, chicken or salad. They bring the food to you which is a nice touch as well. If you want a burger with a little something extra besides tomatoes, this is your place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
545 reviews 545 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
“Average burger, ok fries”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

When you advertise how you "Smash" your burger, don't expect a big, meaty, juicy burger to arrive on your plate. The edges of my burger were crispy, the meat unseasoned and the bread soaked with grease. I think the fries were ok, but had some cold spots in them, but if warm they would have been fine. Nothing really new here and with so many other burger places to go to nearby, I don't see a need to go back to SmashBurger.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Creative tasty burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Yummy angus burgers with creative toppings including avocado,maple smoked bacon, haystack fried onions, and delicious cheeses and breads. I am always happy with my burger! Fries are sometimes a bit salty but I am a fan of the sweet potato smashfries (tossed in olive oil with garlic and rosemary). The issue here is the wait - often it takes ten minutes or more to place an order and often twenty minutes or more to get your order.....Fresh is good but waiting is not. Great burgers but make sure you are not in a rush....it will take awhile....

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our new favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great food - flavorful meat, plenty of options for toppings, delicious sides. All fresh!
Quick and friendly service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good burgers, nice fresh toppings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a good burger, the toppings are nice and fresh, and there is a nice variety, guacamole, fresh veggies, chipotle mayo, etc. The burger is high quality, but was cooked more than I like and a bit dry. I understand that burgers need to be cooked to medium or well, but this was more towards well done. The garlic fries are terrific!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smashburger also viewed

 

Been to Smashburger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smashburger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.