We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coastal Flats

Coastal Flats
11901 Grand Commons Avenue, Fairfax, VA 20878
(571) 522 - 6300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 331 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good food great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

While enjoying very tasty grouper fingers we noticed the appetizer ordered never came. We brought it to the waiters attention and the manager as well as the waiter immediately apologized and offered to comp the dish as well as dessert. Good food and great customer service.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    171
    47
    17
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a chain in the Virginia area, but not like what you might think of when you think chain restaurant food or service. First, call ahead. No reservations but you can call 25-30 minutes prior to when you show up and you are moved ahead of those just walking in the door. The service is amazingly good. The servers treat you as a valued customer and not someone who is taking time away from them talking on their iPhone. Food is wonderful. Hot when supposed to be hot and cold when cold and seasoned perfectly. The lobster bisque is a family favorite and served everyday at Coastal Flats, where it is a "special" at some of the other restaurants in the group. Attention to detail and the customer is a plus when enjoying an evening out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Busy, but worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Visited at lunch on a weekday, busy with a short wait. Had the Hong Kong Style Sea Bass and it was very good. Service was also very good. Trendy and popular place, it's busy because it's good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental, North Carolina
Level Contributor
182 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Great food, attentive service, reasonable price. The only drawback is the noise level. If you are out with the family This would not be a problem but not he best place to conduct business. The Tyson's corner location same food much lower noise level.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Crabcake in DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I absolutely love this place!

They do NOT accept reservations which sucks, but you can call ahead and get put on the waitlist. I HIGHLY recommend you do this because if you don't, it will be quite the wait on the weekends. Usually I will call about 25-30 minutes before I plan to arrive, and when I do arrive its usually no more than an additional 10 minute wait. Sometimes we will just have a drink at the bar area to kill some time. They have excellent mojitos, one of my favorite around.

Once seated, the waitress/waiter will always go over the specials and the current updated prices of the seafood. The bread here is amazing. There are 3 different kinds, and they will usually bring you a sample of all 3. And the butter that comes with them is delicious too (its some type of sweet butter).

For an appetizer we always get the calamari. Its fried and then tossed with green beans in a sweet chili sauce. My bf and I cannot get over how great this dish is. It is the best calamari we have ever had. (We always get calamari at other restaurants to compare it to Costal's).

I always get the crabcake. You can substitute any of the 2 sides you want with it. The sweet potato fries are good, and so are the sautéed mushrooms. If you are there during the right season, the corn/greenbean mix is delicious and so fresh. The crabcake is very large with huge pieces of crab. My only slight complaint might be that it is a slight bit salty. However, it is still amazing and better than any other crabcake I have had in the DC area. (Although Ebbitt Grill has good crabcakes too). Its also baked (I think), so its not too unhealthy! Its usually $21-24 depending on the season.

My boyfriend usually gets the grouper fingers and fries. He love them, although to me they look a little greasy. I had a steak here before and like everything else here, it was great.

All of the servers work together so the service is usually very good. We have never had a problem with anything being incorrect with our order.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Flats also viewed

 

Been to Coastal Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastal Flats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.