We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coastal Flats

Coastal Flats
11901 Grand Commons Avenue, Fairfax, VA 22030
+1 571-522-6300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 348 Restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: GAR's favorite beach house serving coastal and classic food making every day a vacation. Flip Flops, optional.
Knoxville
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This place was great. The food,drinks and service were all great. U had the filet and crab cake and it was delicious. My only complaint was that I sat outside and 2 girls pulled there stools in front of us and proceeded to smoke while we ate but that isn't the restaurants fault.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    147
    38
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Spot for Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stopped here for dinner while passing through Virginia. We made reservations for four and we were seated promptly by enthusiastic greeters. Had a great chopped salad and a rib eye steak. I even asked for corn on the cob and was given a great ear of corn. The wife had the trout and said it was really good. Quite an entertaining place. Every time you look around, you see something different. The food was great, the service was great and the atmosphere was outstanding. The restaurant is a little hard to find but it is well worth looking for. A great place for dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“We ate here twice in two days!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This establishment, along with its sister establishments, was a hit for us. From the wine and beer selections, to the fresh seafood and interesting side dishes - all worked for us!

Local brews we found to be very good...

We had a dinner here after trying one of their sister restaurants, and it was suggested by our friends to try Coastal Flats. They suggested the "call ahead seating" which is something like a reservation - but not really. You get "shortlisted" so when you show up, you sort of go to the head of the line for your group size. Something like that...

We found the selection on the menu, plus the evening specials to give us more choices than we could possibly imagine! I love halibut, and do not get it where we live very often - mine was excellent - well prepared - NOT dry (as I have had elsewhere when not cooked well) - this at Coastal Flats was succulent. Their sides were marvelous and plentiful.

The "short-smoked" salmon is really amazing - my husband had this and I tasted it! Imagine smoked salmon that is not cooked to death!

Everything is fresh - not something from a "food service vendor, cooked from frozen" - the breads are prepared within their family of food establishments, even! The rolls were interesting yeasty bits of heaven! Oink Oink!

The lunch time visit, my husband had a soft-shell crab sandwich and I had the tuna salad - both were amazing!

We shared dessert - key lime something pie - and it was rich and just right to share...

We recommend this place - along with its sister-establishments as a good quality, well run, great value in this area!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Had a great Valentine's dinner with Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

On a very busy day for eating out, Valentine's Day, we had great food and a nice atomsphere. I had great fish and the other 3 adults loved their dinner also.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“a consistent delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Coastal Flats and her sister restaurant, Carlyle (in Shirlington), are a consistent and delightful provider of both comfort foods and high-end gourmet master pieces worthy of much higher price tags.

Coastal Flats' offerings routinely trump more expensive locales. Their Drunken Ribeye rivals any steak by Ruth's Chris or Morton's.

Service is thoughtful and efficient, and the atmosphere is usually lively. Prices aren't unreasonable either.

Always worthy of a stop while in northern VA.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Flats also viewed

 

Been to Coastal Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastal Flats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.