We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We ate here twice in two days!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coastal Flats

Coastal Flats
11901 Grand Commons Ave, Fairfax Corner, Fairfax, VA 22030-8603
571-522-6300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 346 restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“We ate here twice in two days!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This establishment, along with its sister establishments, was a hit for us. From the wine and beer selections, to the fresh seafood and interesting side dishes - all worked for us!

Local brews we found to be very good...

We had a dinner here after trying one of their sister restaurants, and it was suggested by our friends to try Coastal Flats. They suggested the "call ahead seating" which is something like a reservation - but not really. You get "shortlisted" so when you show up, you sort of go to the head of the line for your group size. Something like that...

We found the selection on the menu, plus the evening specials to give us more choices than we could possibly imagine! I love halibut, and do not get it where we live very often - mine was excellent - well prepared - NOT dry (as I have had elsewhere when not cooked well) - this at Coastal Flats was succulent. Their sides were marvelous and plentiful.

The "short-smoked" salmon is really amazing - my husband had this and I tasted it! Imagine smoked salmon that is not cooked to death!

Everything is fresh - not something from a "food service vendor, cooked from frozen" - the breads are prepared within their family of food establishments, even! The rolls were interesting yeasty bits of heaven! Oink Oink!

The lunch time visit, my husband had a soft-shell crab sandwich and I had the tuna salad - both were amazing!

We shared dessert - key lime something pie - and it was rich and just right to share...

We recommend this place - along with its sister-establishments as a good quality, well run, great value in this area!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    153
    116
    34
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Had a great Valentine's dinner with Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

On a very busy day for eating out, Valentine's Day, we had great food and a nice atomsphere. I had great fish and the other 3 adults loved their dinner also.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a consistent delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Coastal Flats and her sister restaurant, Carlyle (in Shirlington), are a consistent and delightful provider of both comfort foods and high-end gourmet master pieces worthy of much higher price tags.

Coastal Flats' offerings routinely trump more expensive locales. Their Drunken Ribeye rivals any steak by Ruth's Chris or Morton's.

Service is thoughtful and efficient, and the atmosphere is usually lively. Prices aren't unreasonable either.

Always worthy of a stop while in northern VA.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“noisy but good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We enjoyed this restaurant during our son's college graduation weekend. It's a popular place that doesn't take reservations; although, we never had to wait long to be seated even with a large party. I went there twice on the same day, once for lunch with my son and later that night with our whole group. It's a little pricey but worth it when you're celebrating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Cut above.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Deviled eggs are just like the ones the girl next store makes for a picnic. What's not to like?

Drinks and apps were fine, and artistically presented. Main course was even more so.

Restaurant has done well on multiple visits. Not specific to this restaurant, but a suggestion about Fairfax Corners. It is jammed on weekends, so weekdays are a best bet for top service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Flats also viewed

 

Been to Coastal Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastal Flats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.