We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a consistent delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coastal Flats

Coastal Flats
11901 Grand Commons Ave, Fairfax Corner, Fairfax, VA 22030-8603
571-522-6300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 347 restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a consistent delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Coastal Flats and her sister restaurant, Carlyle (in Shirlington), are a consistent and delightful provider of both comfort foods and high-end gourmet master pieces worthy of much higher price tags.

Coastal Flats' offerings routinely trump more expensive locales. Their Drunken Ribeye rivals any steak by Ruth's Chris or Morton's.

Service is thoughtful and efficient, and the atmosphere is usually lively. Prices aren't unreasonable either.

Always worthy of a stop while in northern VA.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    152
    115
    34
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“noisy but good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We enjoyed this restaurant during our son's college graduation weekend. It's a popular place that doesn't take reservations; although, we never had to wait long to be seated even with a large party. I went there twice on the same day, once for lunch with my son and later that night with our whole group. It's a little pricey but worth it when you're celebrating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Cut above.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Deviled eggs are just like the ones the girl next store makes for a picnic. What's not to like?

Drinks and apps were fine, and artistically presented. Main course was even more so.

Restaurant has done well on multiple visits. Not specific to this restaurant, but a suggestion about Fairfax Corners. It is jammed on weekends, so weekdays are a best bet for top service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

One of the best Seafood restaurants in NOVA. Must try the shrimp and grits if you go! ... This is a location that my organization tends to use for candidate interviews when we are hiring for a new position.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“what a surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I brought my family to coastal Flats by chance - could not find a more convenient place - but what a surprise: impeccable service, superb food, great ambiance and reasonable prices. I'll definitely be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Flats also viewed

 

Been to Coastal Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastal Flats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.