We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a consistent delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coastal Flats

Coastal Flats
135 Crown Park Avenue, Fairfax, VA 20878
(301) 869-8800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 349 Restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“a consistent delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Coastal Flats and her sister restaurant, Carlyle (in Shirlington), are a consistent and delightful provider of both comfort foods and high-end gourmet master pieces worthy of much higher price tags.

Coastal Flats' offerings routinely trump more expensive locales. Their Drunken Ribeye rivals any steak by Ruth's Chris or Morton's.

Service is thoughtful and efficient, and the atmosphere is usually lively. Prices aren't unreasonable either.

Always worthy of a stop while in northern VA.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    147
    39
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“noisy but good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We enjoyed this restaurant during our son's college graduation weekend. It's a popular place that doesn't take reservations; although, we never had to wait long to be seated even with a large party. I went there twice on the same day, once for lunch with my son and later that night with our whole group. It's a little pricey but worth it when you're celebrating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Cut above.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Deviled eggs are just like the ones the girl next store makes for a picnic. What's not to like?

Drinks and apps were fine, and artistically presented. Main course was even more so.

Restaurant has done well on multiple visits. Not specific to this restaurant, but a suggestion about Fairfax Corners. It is jammed on weekends, so weekdays are a best bet for top service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

One of the best Seafood restaurants in NOVA. Must try the shrimp and grits if you go! ... This is a location that my organization tends to use for candidate interviews when we are hiring for a new position.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“what a surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I brought my family to coastal Flats by chance - could not find a more convenient place - but what a surprise: impeccable service, superb food, great ambiance and reasonable prices. I'll definitely be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Flats also viewed

 

Been to Coastal Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastal Flats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.